X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3385 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Really good location, right next to the museum area. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Some of the members of staff were pleasant whilst others were slightly on the rude side. But overall good stay and I would recommend for young groups of travellers.


83%

El recepcionista de origen asiático no fue nada agradable con nosotros

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Todo bien definitivamente volveria

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

수건 매일 갈아주고 도톰해서 좋아요! 매트도 너무 물렁하지 않아서 잘때도 편했습니다. 숙소 내에 있는 개인금고는 아주 유용하게 사용했습니다. 단, 식당에서 냉장고, 전자렌지, 포터기 밖에 사용이 안되서 요리해먹지는 못했네요. 모든 스탭들이 다 친절했으나, 동양인 스탭은 너무 불친절 했습니다. 대답할때 눈도 한번 안마주 치더라구요. 이것만 빼면 다 좋았네요!!

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Dirty room. Broken sink. Unpleasant and gobby staff.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean hostel, well located near bus/metro and major sights nearby. Booked a female only room and there was a guy staying in it. Not happy about that. Staff said they couldn't give me money back (female only room is more expensive)


49%

The location was really good close to a few museums and a good distance away from all the noise. Overall the hostel was average, however, I was quiet disturbed by the Asian/ Dutch man working there. He seemed to be a manager of the hostel and would treat his coworkers horribly, devaluing them with snark remarks. I would try to boycott this hostel only for that very issue. The other stuff seemed extremely helpful.


83%

Not a party hostel but the people are friendly enough. Very clean and comfortable, definitely worth the price. The only thing I missed was a gas stove aha

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostal is really really nice. Really easy to get there, just taking the train number 2 or 5 from the central station. The staff was really helpful and kind. The only thing i would say is the toilet in the room. It was clean but it has this permanent humidity smell. Apart of that everything was perfect.


69%

Staff is rude, not polite at all and not willing to help you. The receptionist had a sarcastic tone when I asked why I had to pay more then it was saying at the hostel world website because i hadn't read the small letters, I didn't mind paying €5 more but for sure I didn't like that guys attitude, you should definitely be more friendly. The hotel is located just across the street from van gogh museum. The rest of the facilities is great

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

fine for passing through, though no real area for people to meet one another


71%

A good selection for breakfast and much cheaper than eating out. No cooker to cook your own food, only one microwave and a very small kettle meant you had to wait a while when its busy. Mats in the bathroom would hbe good as when people shower the floor gets soake


77%

La ubicación si bien no es en el centro es muy buena, pude recorrer todo caminando sin problema. El desayuno es muy completo y la chica que atiende en el es excelente . Cuando llegue la limpieza era óptima. Estuve en una habitación de 6 personas con baño privado, desp de 4 días de uso lógicamente el baño necesitaba una limpieza, fui a pedir a recepción si podían hacerlo y me contestaron amablemente que lo harían. Pero cuando regrese a la noche el baño estaba en las mismas condiciones.


89%

Excellent location ! Would love to stay here again !

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A very chill, clean hostel that is within walking distance to areas of interest. The staff was kind and helpful. I would stay there again.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Não se pode utilizar da área da cozinha e o café da manhã não é incluso; são as únicas criticas ao Hostel.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Poder hacer el check in on line y imprimirlo sin ningún coste,és un punto muy a favor.Personal amable,habitaciones limpias,y el desayuno bueno

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

El personal es súper amable, el desayuno no fue muy variado pero estuvo rico

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Prácticamente te dan todo para una buena estancia, estuvo excelente, recomiendo el desayuno.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Très satisfaits de cet hébergement Rq: n'avons pas pu rejoindre Amsterdam la 1ère nuit (routes bloquées en Belgique par la neige, train tous annulés car arbres sur les voies). L'hébergement a été prévenu. Je comprends les conditions pas d'annulations dans les 48h, mais vu les circonstances exceptionnelles nous avons demandé un petit geste. La réceptionniste a demandé au responsable. Qui a répondu sèchement sans même nous regarder. nous aurions aimé un petit geste ou au min une réponse polie.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(226 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback