X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1936 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The staff members there are very much helpful and pretty nice! The wifi signal in the room we stayed at on the ground floor is so weak that the internet is hardly to be connected to.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This is a hostel/hotel and does not have a common area except for the breakfast kitchen, not sure if guests are allowed to use the kitchen. Staff were helpful but only when requesting information. The location is great, right near the museums. Safes in the rooms were not working.


83%

Staff at check in on 8 April evening was really helpful and gave us recommendations on pub crawl etc.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Este hostel superou as nossas expectativas. Tudo muito organizado.


69%

​ Ein gutes Hostel mit ein paar Mankos. Fürs Frühstück mussten wir 5E zahlen. Lage ist gut, Museumsviertel und SBahn gleich um die Ecke. Internet - gut und kostenlos. Jeder hatte seinen eigenen kleinen Safe(Pech-einer hat nicht funktioniert) und Handtuch. Es gibt keine größeren Schränke, die man abschileßen kann. Allgemein sauber. Das Personal, reserviert und ein wenig unfreundlich, aber haben auf unsere Anfragen schnell reagiert. Alles im einem ist das Hostel für ein paar Tage gut.


94%

Stayed in a superior double room which had excellent secure facilities and would not have been out of place for a boutique hotel. Will certainly be our first choice whenever we return to Amsterdam.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and easy to get to from the airport. I suggest you rent a bike to get around but if not the tram runs just outside the hostel along with many buses. The only negative was the staff at the desk were not the friendliest of people.


69%

The stay was quite nice, I just didn't like the location on relation to city centre. The cleanliness was quite bad, our bathroom wasn't clean for the whole days that I've stayed our towels wasn't changed like they had said it'd be. The staff was really good , just had a front desk asian really rude and not helpful at all. The breakfast was quite expansive and they dont have any facilities just a drink machine.


83%

Amei o Hostel! Parecia quase um hotel, excelente quarto, cama e banheiro! A localização é muito boa, próxima o Van Gogh museu! É um hostel muito tranquilo!


80%

Foi ótimo ficar nesse hostel a estrutura é perfeita! A maioria dos funcionários são bem simpáticos e te ajudam sempre, fora um chinês que estava na recepção que era super arrogante os outros eram uns amores.


80%

Gutes Hostel; tolle Lage (Leidsplein; Museumsplein etc.), , alles fußläufig erreichbar; Zimmer sind völlig ok, ein abschließbarer Schrank für das Gepäck wäre wünschenswert;

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic value for money in comparison with another nearby hostel we stayed in. Very clean and comfortable room.


86%

Directly located in Museumsplein, couldn't be better for seeing some museums and a tram station is nearby. Free lockers in room for valuable objects & the WiFi conncection is good. Some receptionists seemed to be very uninterested. Unfortunately, the sheets and towels had spots and I found hairs in my bed, plus when you turned on the reading lamps you could see dust on the walls and some on the cupboard close to my pillow. Cleanliness could be better, aparat from that I'd stay there again.


51%

If you're looking for a good location near some museums, this is an alright hotel/hostel. I was let down greatly. We got there at 8am, left our bags and walked around the city. When we got back, the asian guy behind the desk without any hesitation said "we don't have any rooms together so you'll have to split up, unless you want to sleep on an extra bed" (which is actually the couch in the rooms and was broken). For a backpacker looking for help seeing the city, the staff was not helpful at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
this is what we have warned people when they book room " we cant promise people will be in same room if they book dorm beds" . We do our best to help people who has issue to sleep not in same room, few rooms we have couch, it was not broken, the couch was quite soft for large weight guy. it is not depends on you arrive early or later, it depends on the room type youu booked, if there is only 1 bed empty in each room, but u were 2. they u will be seperated.

29%

Das Personal an der Rezeption ist sehr unfreundlich und teilweise unverschämt gewesen. Wir hatten ein Bett mit dreckiger Bettwäsche, ekelerregend. Da es 23 Uhr war wollten wir nicht direkt auschecken und haben frische Bettwäsche gewünscht da es kein freies Zimmer gab. 30 Min. dauerte es bis die Bettwäsche gebracht wurde, dann von uns bezogen.Dabei entdeckten wir ebenfalls Flecken von Körperflüssigkeiten an der Matratze. Diese Unterkunft ist Körperverletzung und ein Fall für das Gesundheitsamt.

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Staff at front counter were not friendly at all. It should on their faces even before you start interacting with them. No smiles on their faces upon arrival. Pretty bad impression for a tourist to see.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, what we require our staffs to guests are: polite, helpful service, we are not such backpacker accommodations encourage staffs to interacting with guests , we provide standard hotel service. for some backpackers, it is a down side, but for most of them, it is good service

80%

Location and rooms very good but staff was not that friendly.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

très bon hôtel, très bon rapport qualité prix, propreté irréprochable, belle sdb très bon emplacement

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Quite a walk from the old town/ red light district would not recommend for party goers. Lovely rooms with modern bathrooms, very clean.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

L'hôtel est très sympa, bien situé et facile d'accès. Par contre le personnel pourrait être plus aimable. Le buffet pour le petit-déjeuner est génial!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(100 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback