X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2640 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

My first problem with this place is that it is definitely advertised as a HOSTEL when I booked. Backpackers, don't be fooled - this is a hotel and the sign hanging above the door when you arrive will gladly surprise you. So, I'm to judge this as a hotel and it was mediocre at best. The worst by far, however, was the Asian man at the reception desk. EXTREMELY rude and unhelpful. Other than that, the rooms are nice and cleaned often, but our shower wasn't working and the WIFI in the rooms sucked.


80%

Great clean hostel, however it's quite far from the red light district which is more what I came for... Right next to museums and 5-10 min walk from city center. Good hostel overall...


100%

Had a pleasant stay, clean room with fresh towels everyday. It was a quite environment specially at night. Great Location, close to most of the Museums. Helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend this Hotel!

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Foram duas noites apenas, mas fui muito bem atendida do momento em que entrei até o da saída. A funcionária Desiree foi um amor. Eu esqueci meu óculos de sol no quarto e um amigo brasileiro o pegou para mim somente após muita confirmação de que era meu. Agradeço a todos pela ajuda e ela recuperação do meu óculos querido. Many thanks.


94%

Hostel muito bem localizado, perto dos principais museus. Excelentes acomodações..

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing location..spacious dorms with safes but no good place to keep luggage. You pay 5€for breakfast but worth it. No kitchen or bar or other food facility. 1min walking from tram stop. Place can be more lively and interactive..its a bit expensive but then I liked it and wanted to extend but it was overbooked. Staff are good but can be more friendly and interactive. One of them was good and helpful dont remember her name but shez got short hair and pretty lively so ull notice.


54%

Für einen so hohen Preis für ein 8 Bett Zimmer habe ich eindeutig mehr erwartet. Die Zimmer waren zwar sauber, das Bad ließ aber sehr zu wünschen übrig. Außerdem stand auf der Internetseite es gäbe eine Kochnische. Allerdings handelt es sich hierbei nur um einen Wasserkocher und eine Mikrowelle. Das Personal wirkt, als hätten sie keine Lust dort zu arbeiten. Ich werde es nicht weiterempfehlen und bei meinem nächsten Aufenthalt mich für ein anderes Hostel entscheiden!

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

If you're looking for a quiet place, near some of the major attractions, then this is definitely it. The accomodations are very good, rooms are cleaned every day, the ensuites are also awesome. Neighborhood is really good, both for touristic attractions and for bars and stuff, which are less than 10 minutes walk away from the hostel. The great Vondelpark is also just around the corner, great place to rent a bike! Price is not the best, but I really have nothing to complain.


91%

The hostel is just great!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice staff who even prepares you a hot chocolate when you are sick. Rooms are clean and the bathroom is big. Two things missing: a kitchen and some storing space to put your stuff in. Al you have your own little safe to put your most valuable things in the room.


91%

A estrutura é de um hotel, então se estiver procurando um hostel pra conhecer gente n é o ideal. O hotel é mt bom e fiquei muito confortável durante todos os dias. Cafe da manhã bem farto e o quarto e roupa de cama são arrumados diariamente. Não fica tão próximo da região da dam square, red light que é a parte mais badalada de Amsterdã, mas dá pra ir andando ate a Leidsplein e curtir uns pubs por lá.


89%

J'ai passé 5 nuits dans une chambre partagée avec 5 autres filles, pour moi c'était la première fois d'une expérience pareil! ça c'est super bien passé!! La chambre venait nettoyée chaque matin, et à mon retour c'était bien propre. Le personnel vraiment cordiale, sympa et prêt pour te renseigner et t'indiquer les lieux intéressés! Petite chose négative: ma chambre était au deuxième étage et le matin on sentait l'odeur du bacon dans la chambre, préparé pour le petit déjeuner!

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

wunderbar fussläufig zu allen Museen und Altstadt Amsterdam

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice place to stay and close to museums and short walk to shops and restaurants. Not a very social environment. Staff was very helpful.


71%

Pretty good place to stay, close enough to most things. A good selection of rooms to cater to all kinds of visitors. A great breakfast served every day. The price didn't really reflect on the general quality of the place, but overall my stay at Van Gogh was pleasant and I would suggest it as an option to anyone thinking of stopping by Amsterdam, especially if you like your museums close by!


100%

As pessoas da recepção são muito simpáticas. A localização do hostel e o ambiente são óptimos.


97%

We loved Hostel Van Gogh! Would definitely stay again.


97%

The best hostel I stayed in so far. Very clean bathrooms, they give you soap and a towel. The beds are nice and comfortable. Breakfast is really good and worth the 5€


80%

Personnel à l'accueil détestable.. Pas chaleureux, pas comprêhenssif et pas disponible. Pour le reste très bon hostel il faut juste éviter le personnel..

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The Chinese reception staff is impolite and totallu not helpful at all without any smile!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(196 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback