Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
9.1

My hostel experience at Van Gogh was by far one of the best. The atmosphere, the beds, the showers and especially the host, David made my stay really enjoyable. I could easily tell that David cares a lot about how this place operates and he does a great job at it. The building itself is an awesome piece of history in San Jose itself...old original wood floors and a lot of character. A variety of food options were only a five minute walk away as well as the bus station I needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.1

Great place.. Best Value / Price ratio since month... Good breakfast and nice staff. I got great inside of Costa Rica and had very good conversation with the owner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
10.0

Super knowledgeable staff, very helpful. Facilities clean, good breakfast, overall a great, more quiet place to relax! Very close to Main Street and whatever you need!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel, lovely comfy dorm rooms, perfect location, only criticism is no lockers or locks on door

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.4

Very nice people but felt dirty. Warm showers!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.1

Good hostel good staff nice big space 🙃

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.1

If you're looking a quiet place, you've foud the one. If you want to party, choose another one. This hostel is really clean and well located. I've been perfectly welcomed. The price is very low, for $10 you have access to a dorm, a private hot shower (!) and basic breakfast. Totally recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location, very central and close to everything. Safe area. Hostel owner is awesome. So knowledgeable about Costa Rica; the country, wild life etc. Hostel is clean, there are hot showers and a kitchen. Free breakfast and delicious fresh coffee. Bed was comfortable. Communal areas are good and there are movies if you want. Only criticism is there are no individual lockers in the dorm but there is a safe storage space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Very good and beautiful hostel! I loved it! We spent just 1 night. It was close to Tracopa's terminal. Staff very nice!! You can use the Tv and watch movies with Netflix. Bathroom very clean even if they are share bathroom. Price include a basic breakfast, and its ok I recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
6.9

The hostel itself is very nicely located, very close to two major bus stations and only 5-10 minutes to all relevant museums. However the stay at the hostel was mainly worsened by the horrible beds which make you feel like you're sleeping on wood. Plus, if you're sleeping in the top bunk, good luck on not falling out. The greatest bummer was the community kitchen. We were looking forward to cooking a nice meal, but all pots were occupied with disgusting leftovers that were already turning gree

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.