Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel, lovely comfy dorm rooms, perfect location, only criticism is no lockers or locks on door

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.4

Very nice people but felt dirty. Warm showers!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.1

Good hostel good staff nice big space 🙃

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.1

If you're looking a quiet place, you've foud the one. If you want to party, choose another one. This hostel is really clean and well located. I've been perfectly welcomed. The price is very low, for $10 you have access to a dorm, a private hot shower (!) and basic breakfast. Totally recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location, very central and close to everything. Safe area. Hostel owner is awesome. So knowledgeable about Costa Rica; the country, wild life etc. Hostel is clean, there are hot showers and a kitchen. Free breakfast and delicious fresh coffee. Bed was comfortable. Communal areas are good and there are movies if you want. Only criticism is there are no individual lockers in the dorm but there is a safe storage space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Very good and beautiful hostel! I loved it! We spent just 1 night. It was close to Tracopa's terminal. Staff very nice!! You can use the Tv and watch movies with Netflix. Bathroom very clean even if they are share bathroom. Price include a basic breakfast, and its ok I recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
6.9

The hostel itself is very nicely located, very close to two major bus stations and only 5-10 minutes to all relevant museums. However the stay at the hostel was mainly worsened by the horrible beds which make you feel like you're sleeping on wood. Plus, if you're sleeping in the top bunk, good luck on not falling out. The greatest bummer was the community kitchen. We were looking forward to cooking a nice meal, but all pots were occupied with disgusting leftovers that were already turning gree

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.9

This is a nice hostel with hot water showers, and nice beds. As a one night stopover it was close enough to walk to bus stations and into central to get food. Security seemed ok although there were no lockers available (a larger storage space could be used if you spoke to the staff). My two negatives would be that it's a very quiet hostel, the wifi is slow and the breakfast is a little bit underwhelming (but free so can't complain).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel for a nice quiet sleep or catch up on reading or having time to yourself. Super clean and comfy. Brekky a little dodge but they mean well. Great location for coffee shops and getting around. Would love security lockers in the room but the people staying here were trustworthy. Hot showers finally!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.4

Hostel Van Gogh is located within walking distance of downtown, multiple museums, and several bus terminals, which is extremely convenient. The staff is all friendly and helpful and the facilities are sufficient and clean. I really appreciated the hot showers! I found the atmosphere very comfortable and chill. If I pass through San Jose again in the future, I would definitely stay at Hostel Van Gogh again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.