Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
Hostel Van Gogh Located at 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose.
Hostel Van Gogh
Costa Rica
San Jose San José 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown
80% 304
9.9370851 -84.0748500
Hostel Van Gogh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th May 2016
7.1

The place is really small, but gets the job done. I liked their little TV area, the couch is super comfy. The only thing is that I slept on a top bunk and it shook and creaked so much every time I moved that I couldn't get much sleep at all!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • janepocock6294
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th May 2016
6.3

Good location and facilities with a nice communal area. Unfortunately quite dirty with overflowing bins and dirty communal areas and bathrooms. The owner was a nice guy and ran around, but other we thought were staff just sat around smoking. The rooms were basic, mattresses thin and lack of power points that worked. No lockers or top sheet, but towels provided.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
9.7

This was the very first hostel experience for me, and definitely held up to my expectations. The staff there were really nice, cool. Especially Max at the front desk, he was the best! Plus the room was very nice and clean. And there is a big living room area where you could meet with other people, or if you prefer to be alone, it's also a nice place for you to do that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
10.0

I stayed here for one night. I was passing by on my way to La Fortuna. Great vibe. Very safe and clean. The staff was great, friendly and very helpful. I really liked the location as well. It's a walking distance to a lot of cool things to check out in downtown San Jose. David , who runs the place is awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
6.3

This place has a huge problem with bedbugs. We were put in a room that had just been opened after being closed for a month to be fumigated. It did not work, the room was severely infested. Bed bugs on the mattress, under the pillow all over the walls. It was terrible. The manager is lovely though and promptly gave us a refund and money for a taxi to a new hostel. Check the room and beds this place unfortunately is infested.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Very comfortable hostel with a great location! David is a very knowledgeable person, eager to help you on your travels. Clean, well kept place with multiple bathrooms and showers. Will definitely be back for another visit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
9.4

This is a GREAT hostel! Super friendly staff, who will help you figure out any plans you're making, and a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
4.6

I booked this hostel because it was close to downtown and it had good reviews somehow. The pictures were nothing like the actual hostel and must have been taken 10 years ago. There was no place to relax, and I felt like I needed a shower after sitting on one of the lounge chairs to read a book. I was there maybe 2 hours when I booked another hostel for the night. They had a shared locker and the place was completely dead. Dirty dishes piled high in the sink, with food from months prior.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Mar 2016
10.0

Very Clean and not noisy. Step was very kind. I will stay again here if I have a chance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
4.3

So you can only pay cash (dollars or colones) up front. This is pretty common. What is not common is that the staff flat out refuses to give change. If you arrive after 5, good luck finding somewhere nearby to even get change. Only explanation offered is that they "don't have any," but I watched this happen to one guest MINUTES after another had fully paid in small change. Shower hose was leaking, dorm doors open at all times directly to common area because there's no other ventilation in rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.