Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostel Van Gogh Located at 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose.
Hostel Van Gogh
Costa Rica
San Jose San José 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown
82% 326
9.9370851 -84.0748500
Hostel Van Gogh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Nov 2016
5.7

No space in dorm room due to way too many beds. No lockers either. Kitchen very basic and probably due for renewal. Not ideal for self caterers. Breakfast consisted of packets of cocoa pops or fruit loops with milk. Not really everyone's favourite! I found the environment very stale and lifeless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
7.7

Got false information about bus schedule and had to wait 1.5 hours in the morning that i could have slept. Booked the female dorm but was put in the mixed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Excuseme ladie but is your responsability find the correct bus and the correct schedule, in any case your behavior was terrible so you are not welcome anymore.

6th Nov 2016
8.6

Good place to stay one night on your way in or out of San Jose. Quiet place but suffice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
6.3

The place it can be very noisy as the rooms are not completely separated from the common area, there are kind of grills open all the times so you can heard everything. The place is very clean. The worst, the breakfast. Don't even bother to wait for it if you can go out earlier and get something better instead of bread and butter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel! The main rooms are very open and spacious. The guy that runs it was really nice and accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
8.0

Good hostel in a great location near the markets downtown. Staff was extremely helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.7

This place was pretty cool and the staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
9.4

Awesome! David the owner was a great host. He gave me a rundown of everything I needed to know regarding tours and getting around. The room was clean and comfy. The bathroom was o.k. Thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
9.1

I had a great stay at Van Gogh Hostel! David is really amazing. He knows a lot about the city and the surroundings. He gives excellent advices on the activities to do during the stay. The hostel has a great location and it is pretty calm! I would recommend it, Thank you David!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Interior is gorgeous more like a boutique hotel! Loads of facilities including hairdryer. Very sweet staff happy to help. Near to a nice restaurant called Cafe Rojo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.