Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.9

The owner is normally at the reception. He is a passionate traveler and can give you good tips for what to do in Costa Rica. You cannot lock the room and there are no lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
10.0

The owner, David makes you feel at home with a nice breakfast & excellent guidance in English/Spanish to places to travel everywhere in Costa Rica.Located 2 blocks from Holiday-Inn in a safe area close to restaurants bars & shops. Private shower/bathrooms. Large recreation room, fix own food in clean area. Use only Uber or bus.Taxis overcharge or tell you that he must drive around as riots are occurring and he cannot get near hostel.Great place to relax. Priced right,I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

Vert nice stay there. The staff is very friendly and everything is clean. The place was pretty quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.7

Hostel Van Gogh is a hidden gem! This place has what you need. Breakfast, a safe place to stay, warm showers, WiFi, and good hospitality. This place was great for me and my 2 buddies. David is pure treasure. He was helpful, great, and always present. He is knowledgeable and outgoing. David definitely made us feel welcomed. This place is affordable. NO complaints whatsoever. We will definitely comeback to this place. It is in a great location, minutes away from restaurants and downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 60 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

Nice hostel relatively close to the centre of San Jose, the guy at the hostel is super helpful and really nice. Wifi is pretty average but I think that may be the case for most of Costa Rica. No lockers in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
9.1

My hostel experience at Van Gogh was by far one of the best. The atmosphere, the beds, the showers and especially the host, David made my stay really enjoyable. I could easily tell that David cares a lot about how this place operates and he does a great job at it. The building itself is an awesome piece of history in San Jose itself...old original wood floors and a lot of character. A variety of food options were only a five minute walk away as well as the bus station I needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.1

Great place.. Best Value / Price ratio since month... Good breakfast and nice staff. I got great inside of Costa Rica and had very good conversation with the owner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
10.0

Super knowledgeable staff, very helpful. Facilities clean, good breakfast, overall a great, more quiet place to relax! Very close to Main Street and whatever you need!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel, lovely comfy dorm rooms, perfect location, only criticism is no lockers or locks on door

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.4

Very nice people but felt dirty. Warm showers!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.