Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

  • 7th street, 150 mts North from Parque Morazan, Barrio Amon, San Jose Downtown, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.1

If you're looking a quiet place, you've foud the one. If you want to party, choose another one. This hostel is really clean and well located. I've been perfectly welcomed. The price is very low, for $10 you have access to a dorm, a private hot shower (!) and basic breakfast. Totally recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location, very central and close to everything. Safe area. Hostel owner is awesome. So knowledgeable about Costa Rica; the country, wild life etc. Hostel is clean, there are hot showers and a kitchen. Free breakfast and delicious fresh coffee. Bed was comfortable. Communal areas are good and there are movies if you want. Only criticism is there are no individual lockers in the dorm but there is a safe storage space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Very good and beautiful hostel! I loved it! We spent just 1 night. It was close to Tracopa's terminal. Staff very nice!! You can use the Tv and watch movies with Netflix. Bathroom very clean even if they are share bathroom. Price include a basic breakfast, and its ok I recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
6.9

The hostel itself is very nicely located, very close to two major bus stations and only 5-10 minutes to all relevant museums. However the stay at the hostel was mainly worsened by the horrible beds which make you feel like you're sleeping on wood. Plus, if you're sleeping in the top bunk, good luck on not falling out. The greatest bummer was the community kitchen. We were looking forward to cooking a nice meal, but all pots were occupied with disgusting leftovers that were already turning gree

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.9

This is a nice hostel with hot water showers, and nice beds. As a one night stopover it was close enough to walk to bus stations and into central to get food. Security seemed ok although there were no lockers available (a larger storage space could be used if you spoke to the staff). My two negatives would be that it's a very quiet hostel, the wifi is slow and the breakfast is a little bit underwhelming (but free so can't complain).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel for a nice quiet sleep or catch up on reading or having time to yourself. Super clean and comfy. Brekky a little dodge but they mean well. Great location for coffee shops and getting around. Would love security lockers in the room but the people staying here were trustworthy. Hot showers finally!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.4

Hostel Van Gogh is located within walking distance of downtown, multiple museums, and several bus terminals, which is extremely convenient. The staff is all friendly and helpful and the facilities are sufficient and clean. I really appreciated the hot showers! I found the atmosphere very comfortable and chill. If I pass through San Jose again in the future, I would definitely stay at Hostel Van Gogh again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
8.3

This place is big and spacious with only 3 rooms. I actually found it quite comfortable and slept well. One fellow in our room got sick and the owner had no problem at all with letting us change rooms, which was very appreciated. There is also a little workout spot near the kitchen. That's an added bonus for me. I think the real room for improvement would be just to fix the leaks in the kitchen sink...and bathroom sinks. Other than that I say it's a good secure spot. Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Dec 2016
3.4

This could be a nice place. Recommendation for the host: sell to someone who wants a hostel. We were here one night, the building is beautiful. But there is no atmosphere. The pool table is old and the sticks bad. No sofas etc Kitchen sucked! On our check out day we wanted to wach a movie after check out at 11 cause the bus came at 2. but we got kicked out and threatened with extra charge. Not nice! But suits the hostel! Bad place to meet other travelers I'd recommend to stay elsewhere!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

its very easy to see how people like you tried to damage our image with lies. this a good place to expose how are really you people as a customers. #1. we catch you checking backpacks and things from other people, we call the police and kick out of our place. next time be an smart people and leave your bad behavior and criminal profile in your country. we already report you with hostelworld staff and authorities.

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
10.0

a great experience, david, gave me all the necessary information for knew the city and some of places on the country

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.