Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Villa Carolina

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 102 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 102 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Hostel Villa Carolina Located at Virginia E. Ortea No. 9, , Puerto Plata.
Hostel Villa Carolina
Dominican Republic
Puerto Plata 57000 Virginia E. Ortea No. 9
87% 102
19.7922258 -70.6893396
Hostel Villa Carolina
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th May 2016
9.1

This is a gorgeous little gem in the heart of Puerto Plata. It's not so much a traditional hostel if you will but the old school charm and facilities gives you a throw back to the old school colonial charm. We were the only ones staying there at the time so there wasn't an opportunity to meet and greet other travelers but I felt at home and welcome. Nice and quiet with a beautiful court yard and simple yet delicious breakfast of coffee, fresh fruit, and toast. I recommend for a quiet stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th May 2016
2.0

I went there during the low season and no one was there for me at the reception. I was in the pouring rain alone outside the gate and I had to figure a way in. No one was there to tell me the Wi-Fi password. I kept waiting and waiting until I decided to leave.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
10.0

This is an older building. Full of original details and so much atmosphere and charm. We loved it. We asked for a pick up from the airport (extra charge). The owner and her family are so warm and accommodating. Very clean rooms and common areas. Spotless bed linens and towels. Simple breakfast of fruit and toast. Tea or coffee. Drinking water is available 24/7. Check out is 1 p.m. but we were able to stay until 2 p.m. Quiet location so very easy to sleep. Security gate. Ensuite bedrooms!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thammarberg3594
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

I really had a wonderful stay at this beautiful hostal. The owner, Francisca and her brother Julio are very lovely people. If I go to Puerto Plata again, I would definitly stay here again. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2016
5.1

rooms were really small no refrigertor in the rooms also no tv. Wifi only works outside of tge room. Was not aware that outside guest were not allowed. Not a great experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.0

This is not really a hostel. It is very nice and clean with a double bed in the room but there weren't may people staying there and there are no dorms. The breakfast was great and the room is cheap if you're looking for a good cheap hotel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
10.0

Super cool old colonial building and a wionderfull garden. Very quiet place, and the lady running the place friendly beyond belief. One of the best places I stayed in Dominican Repaublic

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2016
10.0

the owner and her brother are very nice and sincere people who gave great advice for activities in the area. the hostel is well run. it's great if you want a quiet room, a great heaping fresh fruit breakfast and a nice courtyard to relax in. i'd stay there again for sure and i'd recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of puerto plata.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2016
8.3

Helfull staff silent room No tv in the room. week wifi signal in the room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2016
9.1

Hostel is family owned, they all work good together and will go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. I got a lot of help with transportation arrangements and issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.