Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Villa Garden

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th May 2017
9.1

You really can't go wrong with staying in a private room 5 blocks from old town and in front of a bus stop. Really you can't. Old town is EXCESSIVELY BUSY and staying in it is suicidal unless you are a party person so Villa Gardens is your safest bet if you like both. Also DBV is very expensive so VG offers budget accommodations that are very much more than you expect. This place is perfect for groups or more loner travelers. Darko is super kind and friendly and also his father. Do recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
5.4

As it often happens in a hostel , the person that greeted me was rude, delivering the instructions " package" so fast as to be uncomprehensible, you hear next door, on both sides, no side lamps, no shades, bathroom so so, I mean one can manage a stay there, only wished they'd remember they are our hosts,so, fixed up your rooms, and show a little compassion, from time to time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • rebelwithout72
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Apr 2017
6.3

In a five bed dorm my bed was next to another person. No space between. It was like sharing a double bed with a stranger. Apart from that the hostel was sound.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
6.6

Darko, the owner, was great. Super helpful with whatever we needed, including doing our laundry for free. Some language barrier with another owner who tried to make us pay more than we should. More air b&b feel instead of hostel but good stay for the price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

It's a clean quiet place to stay. If you want a party it's not the place. Cooking facilities are adequate. Shower has very hot water and plenty of it. No bunk beds so floor space a bit crowded. Directions are iffy. The bus stop is the one for university but it's written in Croatia so.unless you read Croatian you are going to end up at next stop which is pila gate to Dubrovnik itself. Not a disaster it's easy walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel is about 10 minutes walk from Old Town. For the price you pay I think it is a very good option. I booked a private room, with kitchen and bathroom. Everything was very clean and the room, though a little bit old, was big and comfortable. The owner is a good host and he is always willing to help you a give you any advice regarding tours to take or places to eat. I recommend Villa Garden hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
8.0

This hostel was great for it's money's worth. A little disorganization with registering, but it had great wifi and the beds were comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • swift100347
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
4.9

The single bed room is literally a shed/conservatory at the top of the garden with no blind covering the large glass door. There was no hot water on arrival and the room had not been properly cleaned. I was asked to pay as I walked through the door. Perhaps the dorm rooms would be better but the lack of privacy and hot water meant this was totally not as advertised. I cancelled my second night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice place to stay. Easy to find, great location. Priced well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2017
9.7

Very good, all things considering. The location of this hostel is prime! Beds were good, WiFi worked, people were nice. Definitely worth the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.