X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Villa Skansi Reviews

Domovinskog rata 18, Hvar, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
893 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Slightly overrated hostel. Great place if you want a party atmosphere but our room wasn't very clean and the toilet was broken. I think people look past its shortcomings because of the atmosphere. Generally a good choice if you're coming to Hvar though. Don't come here if you want to stay in every night!


80%

Good if you like to party. Otherwise look somewhere else.


97%

The atmosphere in the hostel was so much fun as the hostel has a variety of communal areas to socialise. The rooms were clean and well facilitated with lockers and a bathroom for each room. Staff were welcoming and helpful right from the start, where they offered you refreshing watermelon/fruit on your arrival. There's a free bar crawl every night, which I would highly recommend even if it's not usually your thing. Overall Skansi Hostel made our stay on Hvar an unforgettable experience.


100%

This was my second time staying here in 2 years! Really nice and fun place to stay in HVar! One of the best hostels expeince ever! The staff is really nice!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

AMAZING hostel - don't stay anywhere else! Great place to meet people. Common areas have amazing views & kitchen is always clean w/ 3 fridges. Staff is amazing & hilarious! They do all they can to make sure you have lots to do during your stay. They educate you about where to go, eat, & what to do. They offer their own boat tours & have a FREE pub-crawl every night. If you want to sleep, quiet time is 10:00pm so best of both worlds. I will be coming back here for sure! I loved Hvar & VillaSkansi


80%

This hostel had a great atmosphere and was a nice place to meet people. There was nice chill out areas to sit in the sun and an outdoor kitchen. The quiet policy was a bit disappointing because everybody ended up getting slit up afterwards and would have enjoyed hanging out at the hostel a bit longer to predrink as Hvar is pretty expensive


97%

Great fun! I loved staying here!


97%

Very nice hostel! Staff are amazing! Would definitely stay here again!


100%

Staff were great, especially bojana! All lovely people and very helpful. Pub crawl every night was fun! Great travellers atmosphere. Most enjoyable place I've stayed at the whole trip, would recommend it to anyone.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very social hostel with good selection of room types and a fun atmosphere. Quiet policy means the hostel runs nightly bar crawls around the city which are a good way to meet other guests, as well as getting you free entry into some of the island's best venues. Well situated for the ports and the main tourist areas, and staff are helpful and welcoming.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel! Nice staff! A place that you can hang out with a lot of people!


69%

Rooms are not very spacious and the beds are tiny for the price. Kitchen facilities are good. Security guard at night which was good. Handles were broken in the girls bathroom therefore unable to locked. Would only recommend this hostel if you want to party party party!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us. The sizes of our rooms are exactly as the hostel regulation office requires and we didn't have any complains until now, and the size of the beds are also normal size 2 meters x 200 centimeters as in all other hostels in the world. The door handler was broken by one of your roommates and it was fixed on the same day. Anyway, thank you one more time for staying with us

74%

Nice, but you should not have to pay a towel renter fee. Also, they said they had WiFi, but it never worked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Our WiFi works perfectly, it could be that it didn't work for the short time, like the couple of minutes due to the stormy weather. Anyway, thank you for staying with us

100%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere. Rooms were very comfortable and well worth the money. Would definitely stay here again

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

When 6 of us arrived at the hostel we received an extremely warm and energetic greeting. We were given a lovely refreshing welcome gift and were immediately made to feel at home. The hostel is in a perfect location and has great facilities- a bar, kitchen, lounging area, nice bathrooms. We became vey good friends with one of the hostel workers Bojana (jane :)) and had some amazing nights with her. All of us agreed it was one of the best hostels we had ever stayed in and would definitely return.


100%

This hostel is amazing, it has the best atmosphere of all the hostels we stayed in around Europe. Really safe and staff are very helpful. Definitely worth the money!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Received the most warm hostel welcome ever by the owner & her staff - starting with being picked up at the bus station. Great kitchen & social balcony area with comfy seats. In addition to the optional nightly organised pub crawl, this made it the most friendly croatian hostel I stayed in. Thanks for all your positivity Julia.


89%

Great Location......Terrace has a magnificient view.


100%

Awesome place! If you are in Hvar this is the place to stay! The stuff is fun and friendly, and the free PubCrawl every evening makes it easy to connect with other guests. One evening I had fever and lovely Bojalia were really nice covering me with blankets! Will definitely stay in this place next time in Hvar :) /Karin


91%

They had a free pub crawl which was awesome but if you didn't go on it you couldn't be outside, you had to stay in your room or go out to town... but the staff was allowed to be outside and talk. It was really clean and had air conditioning. It was a really fun hostel and perfect for hvar because it's a party city!


(684 results)


View all Hvar Hostels

Please give us your feedback