Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Vista Serena

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2017
7.4

BUGSSSS all over outside area , I'm petrified of them so bad news for me and definitely a few in the dorm and bathroom. This whole place looks like an outhouse - def low budget. But the ocean view from the common area is amazing and staff is so knowledgeable and friendly !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.6

GREAT staff, beautiful view & relaxed vibe. You wont be disappointed with this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Rudi85
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 67 reviews
26th Mar 2017
9.7

Incredible hostel. We absolutely loved it. The view over the jungle out to the ocean is unreal. We actually saw more cool animals (toucans, parrots, sloths) from hostel hammocks with beer in hand than we did during a day in the national park! The 4 bed dorm was pretty sweaty (hence

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
8.9

The hostel is nice and the sunset view is amazing 😍😍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
10.0

Amazing view - got great pictures of the sunset. Owner was there and very knowledgeable. There's a place to eat that's on the same road. - 10 second walk. (Right there). Really good location, very upscale. Cons: happened to be a lot of groups, didn't meet as many solo travelers. Good wifi. Hot shower. Nice place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Great hostel ! The view from the kitchen is AMAZING. Friendly staff and a lot of washrooms. A bit far from the beach and could have been cleaner (like the washrooms in the dorms).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
8.9

Great staff! Hernan "Scrappy" was very helpful :) Great place to meet other travelers. The common area deck was a nice place to see the sunset! The free "breakfast" should be called "prebreakfast" as bread, jam and margarine, and coffee is just something to put in your stomach until you can get actual food. Good hiking trails nearby. The bus stop was a couple hundred meters away (about 60 American cents for a local ride) so going to Quepos or Manuel Antonio National Park was convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.1

As the name implies, the view is definitely the best part of the hostel. They have a patio that overlooks the ocean where you can hang out in hammocks. It doesn't really look like it was designed to be a party hostel but the vibe is great and everyone ends up hanging out anyway. The receptionist was really sweet and she booked an awesome snorkeling tour for my friend and I. Breakfast options aren't too great but they have a decent kitchen and multiple fridges so it's easy to make your own food!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.3

Good hostel, has everything you need. Staff are nice. Pretty close to the bus stop that you catch to the beach and stuff. Has amazing sunsets every night. Would go back :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
6.6

I didn't like this hostel. There was no Hot water in my shower!!! Never been before in a hostel with these ratings that didn't had hot water. Also, the hand soap was so diluted that made it difficult to use. And the wi fi reached just a small area, so you could use it on the dorms. And last but not least, the locks on the rooms were difficult to open and made such a loud noise that woke up everybody, even people in other dorms. The only good thing was the staff Would deffinitely not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.