Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Vive la Vida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 201 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 201 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • banedj0116882
  • Serbia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2017
8.0

I was staying 2 nights in this hostel and I was really satisfied. It is few blocks away from the main pedestrian zone but for those who do not mind walking for 10 minutes it is perfect and quiet.. No a/c in room but for me it was ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.0

Cannot complain about the hostel; staff are super friendly and the facilities are what you expect from a budget hostel. Certainly isn't a party hostel; so if that's what you're looking for with a visit to Playa del Carmen then perhaps look elsewhere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.1

Basic hostel with good facilities and location. Mattresses were terrible and our room very cramped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
9.4

We moved here from another hostel. Actually, because we could not stay there any longer. We found this one. It ended up being a very good place. It has a nice atmosphere. Very close from everything you need. It has a small swimming pool and an outside area with chairs and table. The kitchen is big and very completes. You also have a place to wash your clothes. During the night there is a good vibe but, everyone is very respectful with the others. i would def recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • zugayl7070
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2017
8.6

This hostel have a good location, but I dont like the fact of having to pay for a towel, for a bed cover and the air conditioning was open from 11:00 pm to 7:00 am ( and Playa del Carmen is a hot place ! ). My bed didnt have a real matress, it have a kind of sponge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
4.9

Very dirty and unclean facilities. Pool was not as expected was just a small water feature. Dirty kitchen. Lazy staff who did not allow for early check in at 9am when I arrived early, it turns out they were just upstairs sleeping instead.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
8.0

Vive la Vida is in a good location, close to both ADO bus stations, the ferry to Cozumel, and the beach. Ths street is quite busy (local buses "camiones" stop at the very door), but you wont notice once inside. The hostel has a great kitchen, a nice patio with tables, clean bathrooms and a laid back atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 44 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.3

Room was spacious. Toilets and showers were ok and well kept. Common area and kitchen are very good. Location is where you want to be, short walk to the beach, shops, restaurants, and public transport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2017
4.6

If you on a budget is a good spot to stop by for a night or two. Other than that staff is not friendly, the rooms are very small and have way too many beds so there is no much space around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
6.9

Overall the hostel is nice and simple for what you pay for....if you have limited budget and looking for a place to stay " this is the place" Location walking distance from beach and 5th Avenue Shopping Street (10 mins)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.