Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Vive la Vida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
4.9

Very dirty and unclean facilities. Pool was not as expected was just a small water feature. Dirty kitchen. Lazy staff who did not allow for early check in at 9am when I arrived early, it turns out they were just upstairs sleeping instead.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gfornaresio
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.0

Vive la Vida is in a good location, close to both ADO bus stations, the ferry to Cozumel, and the beach. Ths street is quite busy (local buses "camiones" stop at the very door), but you wont notice once inside. The hostel has a great kitchen, a nice patio with tables, clean bathrooms and a laid back atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.3

Room was spacious. Toilets and showers were ok and well kept. Common area and kitchen are very good. Location is where you want to be, short walk to the beach, shops, restaurants, and public transport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2017
4.6

If you on a budget is a good spot to stop by for a night or two. Other than that staff is not friendly, the rooms are very small and have way too many beds so there is no much space around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
6.9

Overall the hostel is nice and simple for what you pay for....if you have limited budget and looking for a place to stay " this is the place" Location walking distance from beach and 5th Avenue Shopping Street (10 mins)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
5.1

Internet is bad. Pricey. No breakfast included.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Kristianeek
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
6.3

We only stayed for one night, but wouldt choose this hostel for more nights than that. The dorm room was way too small for all the beds and it didnt seem very clean..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.0

Overall I enjoyed my stay here, although this hostel could be great if some money was spent to redecorate it! Some shelves and hooks in the dorm rooms and bathrooms would be a good idea. Seemed to be a place where mainly Spanish speakers go to, so may struggle to communicate with others if you don't speak the language and are travelling solo. One huge plus for being able to get a good nights sleep without hearing any thumping music from the nightclubs!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
9.1

Great hostel for the value. What really made our stay were the people - the staff and the other guests were awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
7.4

Beds are fine, toilet cubicles are a bit small and I'm not a big guy. Showers are ok. Atmosphere is a bit dead for my liking and I'm not a party type of person.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.