X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech Reviews

Rue el Ksour, Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
515 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A very colourful, pleasant and centrally located hostel. It's ideal for solo travellers or groups of friends as the atmosphere in the hostel is very social. The host, Hucein, and the ladies helping him are very friendly, welcoming and make you feel like home. They often offer free dinner to all guests and it goes without saying that free tea is poured all day long. I wpuld totally recommend this hostel and look forward to going back there and staying for longer time.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Husain is the best person ever very friendly and helpful! The hostel has great atmosphere and the staff are really nice and go out of their way to help you. Would 100% stay here again!!! :) :) :)


97%

We had an AWESOME stay here - the atmosphere was amazing and so relaxed, the staff were super friendly, and the breakfast and unlimited tea all day were great. Great value for money. Yes there are only three bathrooms and sometimes there's a wait at peak times, but the atmosphere and everything definitely makes up for it. I would recommend this place for travellers and young people. It's so easy to meet new people, everyone is so friendly here.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

hind - very receptive. I recommend

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Relatively good location but the streets leading to the hostel are very quiet and dark at night. Rooms do not have external facing windows and the only ventilation is through the center courtyard in the middle of the hostel, making things *very* warm even at night. You can sleep on the terrace but those spots get taken really quickly. Noise from the communal area also gets amplified upwards towards the rooms making it hard to sleep. WiFi is spotty and slow and often does not connect.


97%

Internet need to improve


77%

The hostel is really nice. Staff is great. Just dont expect a good night of sleep.. they keep the music playing until midnight and there are no doors on the rooms.


94%

Great people, great atmosphere, great place

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

BED BUGS. The staff have no clue how to get rid of them so don’t get your hopes up. The staff reaction was unacceptable - they laughed, called me stupid and argued that it wasn’t bed bugs despite the evidence (other hostellers actually got a photo of one) , one manager was apologetic but told me that there were only bed bugs on the terrace (this is not a new problem). I was bitten in my dorm. Ignoring that, the hostel is kind of boring. Better places to stay in the city for the same price.


77%

Location is great only a 5min walk to the main square (Jemaa El-Fna) even though REALLY HARD TO FIND in the first place!! As you arrived you're welcomed with a green tea and can have some for free for 24hrs! They sell beer in this hostel which is great because its really hard to drink in Marrakesh they also do shisha ! The roof terrace is awesome you can sleep there if you want to because it does get very hot and stuffy in the dorms ! Breakfast is great and the hostel also do tours !!!


97%

This hostel was the first hostel I have ever stayed in and let me say I got spoiled. Truly the most incredible experience.. great people.. the staff does everything they can to make you feel at home. The terrace is incredible and everyone is super social. Free breakfast free tea and shisha!!! Every night everyone hung out in the terrace there are no curfews or silly rukes. I will definitely come back. This is what made Marrakech fun

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing place. Great staff, lots of fun and very helpfull. Love the free tea and breakfast. I meet a lot of people in this hostel, it has a great atmósfera. Bathrooms could use some fixing. I will defently come back!


94%

This is an awesome hostel. Probably my favourite in all my travels. The rooftop was the best part with a great atmosphere. Big breakfast to fill you up in the morning. When sleeping in the beds it gets very hot but you have the choice to sleep on the rooftop. Staff are very helpful when you need to find things. Would highly recommend this!!!


100%

Staff went over and above to help us, very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere was warm. Really good value for money

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

best hostel in marrakesh, the staff are really kindly and hussain is a great menager. the atmosphere is very friendly and the rate is cheap. the best place is the terrace and last but not the least the least u can feel at home in this hostel.


100%

Best customer service I've ever seen. Simply amazing place


94%

OK, this hostel is not to be overlooked, it is great. The community room is huge, there is a terrace that everyone hangs out on at night, including staff and many of the guest slept up there under the stars rather in their bunks. Oh, and the breakfast is free, can't beat that. Overall this is one fun place to stay where yu will get the real feel of Morocco and Marrakech, I plan on staying there again on my next trip.


100%

We loved our stay on Waka Waka, one of the best hostels we ever stayed in. The staff were amazing and fun, and the whole atmosphere was super laid back, relaxed and friendly!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice guesthouse. Clean rooms polite staff and houssin is crazy! Perfect place to stay when ur in Marakech. Also al lot of excursions. So it is a perfect place !!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel! It was very nice, good location, strong wifi, free tea and cookies, nice rooftop patio. The staff was great and hilarious. It's not the cleanest (especially the bathrooms), and while some beds were really comfortable, some were not. There is no AC, so it gets extremely humid in the rooms. There are no lockers or way to secure your valuables (but I never felt unsafe leaving things there). I would not recommend their excursions company, because we felt scammed the whole time.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Marrakech Hostels

Please give us your feedback