X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech Reviews

Rue el Ksour, Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
642 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Beautiful hostel with wonderful friendly staff :)

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing atmosphere at this hostel.


86%

We did not get to stay in waka waka hostel so cannot give a review on it.We had booked four nights for seven people and a taxi transfer.When we arrive we were drop at the square and taken to rainbow hostel.It was only then we were imform that Waka Waka was not available even though we has a confirmed booking from hostelworld and an email from waka waka confirming as well.After that we had enjoyable stay in the rainbow hostel.


94%

Superb located within the Medina, Hostel Waka Waka is a brilliant place to stay while exploring Marrakesh. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Only reason I docked a mark is because the taxi booked through the hostel didn't arrive at the airport, and were stung for the fare.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice bread breakfast. Good and helpful staff, book tours for you and help you out if you have any questions. Playing music and hanging out in lobby until around midnight every night, so if you are looking to have a good time it's a great hostel, but for relaxing and sleeping early you may want to look elsewhere.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's pretty damn difficult to find if you do not have the directions but just the address. Like in most moroccan cities, maps don't really get you anywhere, so follow the directions and don't get somebody to guide you. The hostel in itself sports a great atmosphere, tea is served any time of the day and you get what you expect and way more for the price. Would highly recommend. Only downside: in the winter it gets really really cold at night, but the blankets will work their magic for you.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a verry nice hostel. The staff is great and atmosphere is social and good!

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Waka waka was the best experience related to hostels I had in Marrakesh. Very clean place, very well located and the staffs are fantastic, very helpful.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

While the hostel is in a good location the facilities were less than ideal for someone used to staying in Europe's well kept hostels. There's only two washrooms for the entire hostel and the showers are inside the same little room as the toilet and sink. Since it's a riad style accommodation all of the rooms open up into the main common area - this wasn't great for sleeping as the noise in the main common area went on until 3-4am. The staff were great though, very hospitable!


86%

Not really sure how often the sheets are changed between customers, but this is otherwise a great hostel. The staff goes out of its way to make the guests feel comfortable and relaxed. The location is great and the price is superb!!!!


91%

We greatly enjoyed out stay at Waka Waka. It was great value for money and was a wonderful place to come back to at the end of the day. The staff were lovely and always provided us with free tea which was greatly appreciated. You can hear noise from the common room at night and there was sometimes a shortage of bathrooms so I wouldn't recommend if you're high maintenance, but it's a great place for anyone looking for a relaxed time.


100%

Very Good hostel. The staff is really really amazing. I have never been so welcomed. Karim, Houcine and Anis are very receptive and good professionals. 100%

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Honestly this is the best choice that you can make. I am a returning visitor and without any thinking I went again for Waka Waka. The personnel is nice and helpful, rooms are clean and comfy and you are at the right place regarding the location.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great inexpensive place to stay that feels like a Moroccan home away from home. Everything you need from a hostel and very close to the main square. Enjoy some complimentary tea and cookies while hanging out in the awesome common areas in the amazing hostel.


94%

Waka waka is a nice place with a friendly staff. There's a lot of evening entertainment and a really big breakfast in the morning. The staff is always on hand to talk, and they're always serving popcorn and tea or sharing shisha. It's so important to them that everyone have a good time. Fun place to stay in Marrakech!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel, although very noisy. I found it very difficult to find quite space to make phone calls home etc. Also beds are very hard and uncomfortable. Great location thought and very helpful staff.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Waka Waka was my home away from home in Morocco. I used it as my base and kept coming back after small trips in the north and south. Every time I came back I was welcomed with delicious tea and cookies. The staff were so great and friendly and the overall atmosphere of the place is super chill and awesome. I will definitely be back here again and recommend it to anyone coming to morocco.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I loved staying at this hostel! The location was perfect and they greeted us with sweet tea and cookies. The showers weren't easy to use though and the place was kind of loud at night.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff are great, couldn't do enough for us! The communal areas really allow for people to mix, but it is right outside the bedrooms which don't have doors (just curtains) so if you're looking for a quiet night this is not the place for you! Great for a solo traveller or anyone looking for new people or ideas! there were no lockers. Kind of hard to find so make sure you read the directions given to you, and avoid having locals take you there as they will want a 'little gift'!


100%

My favorite hostel ever! Stayed for 4 nights. Hussein the manager is an incredible host. The staff will bend over backwards to make sure you have a pleasant stay. I highly reccomend waka for your stay in Marrakech.


(77 results)


View all Marrakech Hostels

Please give us your feedback