Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Wien - Brigittenau (HI)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostel Wien - Brigittenau (HI) Located at Adalbert Stifter Str. 73, , Vienna.
Hostel Wien - Brigittenau (HI)
Austria
Vienna 1200 Adalbert Stifter Str. 73
76% 461
48.2445107 16.3788986
Hostel Wien - Brigittenau (HI)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Aug 2016
5.7

The day staff is not friendly, we asked one guy for a place to eat and he said that our only option was a gas station, but he never mentioned that it was a restaurant inside the hostel, we found about it after we bought some crapy food at the gas station. This is more like a hotel, it's far from everything, you need to walk 1km to the metro station. HI is known as a youth hostel, but this one looks more like a kinder garden.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Aug 2016
6.3

This hostel is for schools and larger groups of people. It is fine to stay there for one night, and the breakfast was the best one I've had in a hostel. Clean and secure with lockers but far away from the center which was a big negative. No atmosphere for solo travellers, but that's not really the hostels goal. Overall a fine hostel for a one night stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ambergale91722
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Aug 2016
9.4

This place is great, big and spacious. The staff were friendly and happy to help. I loved my dorm room with only two beds, which made the room more comfortable and the sinks in the rooms are a bonus. The breakfast was fantastic! Main problems was wifi in dorms didnt work only downstairs and the rooms were hot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
6.9

Good if you just want a few relaxed nights in Vienna to unwind and just do what you want at your pace. The breakfast included in the price was very good and filling, I also got upgraded from a 4 all male dorm to a double bedroom. Not the most social hostel however, everything is very clinical - the place looks like it used to be a hospital which is great for cleanliness but the atmosphere kind of takes a toll from it. Would recommend if you aren't looking to socialise that much and just relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Aug 2016
7.7

This is a large hotel rather than a hostel. Atmosphere doesn't really exist, too many kids and bus loads of dopey people. However hostelling international always have a high quality of clean facilities, just expect to pay a little more than the advertised price at reception for membership on arrival. Great for a clean quiet nights sleep, not good if looking for a vibrant and fun atmosphere, make your choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2016
7.7

Hostel is well organised, the room was clean, the staff are lovely and helpful and breakfast is great :-) It's a bit far from the center of Vienna but has good transport links. It has a huge capacity and is popular with big groups or school trips so the common area got busy and loud and the wifi reached capacity. Also it didnt have that convivial atmosphere you get in other smaller hostels. Overall it's good if you're only looking for a place to lay your head.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.9

Staff were a bit emotionless. The rooms were extremely hot and uncomfortable.. in a pool of sweat all night. The window was ridiculous, they have a safety bar preventing it from opening more than 1-2cm. What is seriously going to fit through that?! Pointless. The breakfast was very good, WiFi worked, and the place was very clean. Location not the best, but it was one of cheapest hostels, so that's expected. Overall good, but I wouldn't go back personally.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.4

I am very happy with my stay at Brigittenau (HI) in Vienna, Austria. It was very worth staying there. I loved the breakfast. The staff and my roommate was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
4.6

The hostel is really far away of any point of interest and it seems to be some kind of educational institute. There was no beer and the WiFi was terrible. No beer and no WiFi make Allan a dull boy. I try to jump from the window but they were locked, which adding up with the lack of air conditioning and the all male dorm thing transformed the room in a gas chamber of sweat underwear. The breakfast though was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Aug 2016
6.0

About an hours walk from the centre, but easily reached by tram/metro... No kitchen was a hassle and it had a bit of an airport lounge vibe. Not conducive to meeting other travellers. Poor wifi on 3rd floor. Great breakfast though! Amazing breakfast options!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.