X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Wien - Brigittenau (HI) Reviews

Adalbert Stifter Str. 73, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
335 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The man who owns it or is the manager really has an issue with everything you do, it's like no fun can happen here. It doesn't feel like a hostel at al but like a dodgy hotel, when I went there was a huge school trip so it was crowded with children. The meals are a rip off and the showers didn't work. It's also a million miles away from the centre and it's a nightmare going anywhere


34%

Very rude service and poor food quality.


74%

Could not open windows SO HOT in summer. Bad AC system design. I engineer. No shades on windows Very light at 5 AM in summer. Cleaning staff does clean room. Desk staff did not know which train station (3) to use to get to hostel in Viena. We called and said "I do not know." Big problem to find place. No washing machine or dryer. No microwave. No glasses or good wall hooks in room. Breakfest was good. Lots of lounge space. Good security except had a nut case refused to evict.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for you comments. Just a few remarks on your comments: "SO HOT" is relativ - the room temparature is by average 21°C. We offered you a room with curtains/shades which you refused. Desk staff do know very well the way from train stations to hostel, in fact you did not know which train station you arrived and on which you are! We never offered the service of washing machines, dryers or a microwace, complaining about the lack is a bit weird. Best regards HI Brigittenau

40%

Please clean the rooms properly before the guests arrive. There was hair in the "freshly clean" linen, in the bathroom. The hostel staff was not very friendly and welcoming. Doors do not open very easily with the keys and are a pain to work with. A tired guest when arrives in the hostel expects his/her bed to be ready and clean to have a good nights rest. The rooms felt like I was in a mental hospital or jail – very depressing.


89%

There are certainly locations that are closer to the city center, but the breakfast is awesome! Cereals, fresh bread, ham, cheese, fruit, hot chocolate, coffee, juice,... :)


83%

Our long weekend stay was enhoyable. The double room was clean, completely quiet but was scarely furnished for the large size. Included breakfast is major.plus, but withij walking distance were many food options as well as subway and train connections. Helpful and staff. Would recommend for a quiet, family friendly/ non party hostel.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

only problem, no kitchen to use.


77%

In general I liked the hostel. It was clean and the staff willing to help us anytime. It was good in relation to its price! The problem is that you need metro or tram to take you to the city center. Also the bathroom was out of the room but it was only for women and clean.




View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback