Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Wien - Myrthengasse (HI)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2017
8.9

Excellent location and very good free breakfast. It is a very large place with huge throughput of visitors though, so staff are grumpy and there is no atmosphere. Also internet only in foyer. It does the job but there might be somewhere nicer if you check.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
7.4

overall was good. very good location. staff have been helpful to me. the building itself is very old and degradated. the cleanness was relative.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
7.7

Quite okay. The staff was not so great but the room was clean, safe, and had a shower which was nice. Location is fine, just 15 minutes walking from the museum quarter. Breakfast is included and there are many options to choose from, I think that was the best part of this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2017
8.9

Great hostel, very clean and everyone friendly. Location is good, only a 10 min walk from everything. You can't cook as there is no kitchen and also wifi only works in common areas, not rooms. Free breakfast was the best I've had in a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
13th May 2017
5.1

They charge an extra 3.5 for not being member of something, instead of leave it in the small letters, they should say the real cost and make a discount with X memebership. The person in the reception is kind of rude and is not very helpful at all. The toilet had a strong urin smell. It's not bad hostel, but you can find other places for the same REAL price in better conditions.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thank you for your comment. In our Property Description at hostelworld.com it is stated (no small letters):” Accommodation in our youth hostel - Vienna Myrthengasse requires membership with the International Youth Hostel Association. A non-member supplement of EUR 3.50 per person per night is payable on arrival at hostel.” Sometimes it helps a lot to read the given Information to avoid disappointments like yours. We are sorry that you found our staff rude and not helpful in contrast to other guests. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
5.4

The staff at the checking in counter at the night on 12 May 2017, was quite rude, I think maybe he's a racist. You can't connect to wifi while you are in room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thank you for your comment. WIFI only works in the common areas and not on the rooms as you can read in our hostelworld description. We are sorry that you found our staff rude and not helpful in contrast to other guests. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Apr 2017
6.0

Location is fair as it takes 15mins to walk to nearest station. Staffs are nice, the breakfast is great. The bathroom is small but acceptable. Facilities are worse, wifi is only provided in common area with bad connection, hair dryer only work with some sockets, we lived in 4 people room and only two sockets in the room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Apr 2017
7.4

A big plus here is that breakfast is included and that's awesome in an expensive town as Vienna. Location is great, 10 min from the historical center, staff is friendly and helpfull, pretty clean and very safe. Mellow atmosphere, not your regular party hostel and resting is easy here. On the downside they could use some music in the lobby, you know, just to lighten up the mood and cozying up new arrivals. In general it was a good experience

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
8.9

This hostel is perfect if you need to sleep in Viena and not spend much time in the Hotel. The beds are very comfortable, the showers are clean, but since the WCs are shared, they cannot help smelling terrible even though they are clean, the system is great, easy to understand, the breakfast is a nice unexpected surprise...! The hostel has no soul, but it complies with his function. No decoration, no personality, and staff just as neutral and efficient as the hotel itself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

Overall good location, only 15minute walk from the city centre area, however a downfall is the limited wifi access to the common areas only. There is also a lack of powerpoints in the dorm rooms. Reception staff were asking, polite and ready to assist, however the cleaning staff were rude and even spiteful when asking for assistance upon arrival - set a pretty bad impression overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. WiFi only works in the common areas as is stated in our hostelworld description. At our 24h reception you can borrow a socket extension. We want to apologize for any inconvenience the cleaning personal may have caused you and want to point out that you should have come to us to let us know about this immediately. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.