Hostelworld.com

Hostel Wien - Myrthengasse (HI)

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.2
Hostel Wien - Myrthengasse (HI) Located at Myrthengasse 7, , Vienna.
Hostel Wien - Myrthengasse (HI)
Austria
Vienna 1070 Myrthengasse 7
77% 510
48.2051343 16.3475811
Hostel Wien - Myrthengasse (HI)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
8.9

This is a YHA, focused on providing value for money accommodation to individuals and school or family groups (ie there is no beer allowed). So don't judge this place on how funky it is. Bearing this in mind, it is a great place to stay. The location is fantastic, only about 10 minutes walk to the Museums Quartier. The local area is Spittleberg - full of bars and cafes. A great breakfast buffet is included, with a 3 course dinner available for Euro 7.50.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
6.9

I did not know that place was for 99% teenagers and kids. Here it is not written that it is a really youth hostel. Plus, if you dont have a international hostelling membership you have to get one from there for 3,5€ to stay there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.3

Stayed for 2 nights in a rooms for 2 with a shower, toilet opposite the room. The room was clean and in the evening the corridors where quiet which resulted in a good nights sleep. The hostel is also on a pedestrianized road so there's little traffic noise. The Hostel is nicely located to walk to the city centre. The breakfast is good buffet. There is cycle parking in central courtyard, although a cover over the cycle parking area would be nice when it rains.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
2.6

The worst hostel I have ever stayed in, both Europe or Asia. The staff where rude and very unhelpful, the atmosphere was that of a funeral. Would never stay again, ever.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you found our staff rude and unhelpful. We really do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

3rd Jun 2016
2.3

I'm trying to decide what my favorite part of this hostel was... the mice I saw running around in the hall outside my room, the way it felt like an old abandoned hospital, the shower that was so dirty it wouldn't even drain, the fact that there was only ONE outlet in the entire room, all the old men who wanted to talk to me and the high school students everywhere... Book in advance so you can avoid this one. It's not worth the mediocre free breakfast to put up with everything else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are still looking for the mouse you saw ;-) Our showers get cleaned every day, sorry if you did not find them in a condition you expected. We accommodate people of every age, religion, race or political interest so we are really sorry, that some of our guests were too old for you and some others too young. We offer additional sockets to borrow at our 24 hours open reception, so a short question would have solved your problem.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
6.6

The building feels quite grim and the rooms are bare and basic, sometimes noisy at night with groups of teenagers. No wifi in the rooms. The breakfasts are excellent though, the staff were very helpful and it's only a short walk into town and to nearby shops, cafes and bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
8.3

stayed here one night, it was clean and although expensive for what it was, seemed value for money when comparing prices of other hostels - Vienna is expensive! The atmospehere in the main building seemed friendly but our room was in a different building around the corner which seemed very dead and felt a bit weird. free WiFi and a luggage room were good. Breakfast was pretty good - bread, cereals, ham, cheese etc but the dining room was small and crowded (though I think there was another one)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
5.1

Usually I never do a review but I think this hostel deserve it. It was the worst hostel i've been in my eurotrip! The stuff were really rude and disregardful but a young guy there... In a room for 4 people only 2 plugs.. Wifi?? Only downstairs if it worked... So if you are tired and just wanna laying down in the bad and surfing in the internet, thats not gonna work.. If you are looking for a place ate least to relax in your trip, do not stay in this hostel because it was really stressful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We offer additional sockets to borrow at our 24 hours open reception, so a short question would have solved your problem. A look on our hostel information on hostelworld.com or on our website 1070vienna.at would have shown you, that we do offer free WLAN only in the lobby area. We are sorry, that we did not meet your expactations.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
4.9

Felt like I was in a hospital. Compared to all the other hostels I've been to this was easily the worst and the most expensive for that matter. Changing the overall experience would have to be a must for me to ever come back to this particular hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We really do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

  • johnofranklin48
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th May 2016
4.9

I expect more from a hostelling international place. Firstly Wi-Fi was terrible everywhere in the hostel. When we asked the front desk, we got an unapologetic 'yeah it can't handle many people'. The front desk staff were rude and unhelpful. Breakfast is until 0945, and at 0946 you won't get anything because they clean up straight away. The dorms are old hospital rooms with a single bathroom per three 6 bed dorms, only one power socket in the dorm that didn't work.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.