Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Wien - Myrthengasse (HI)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
8.9

This hostel is perfect if you need to sleep in Viena and not spend much time in the Hotel. The beds are very comfortable, the showers are clean, but since the WCs are shared, they cannot help smelling terrible even though they are clean, the system is great, easy to understand, the breakfast is a nice unexpected surprise...! The hostel has no soul, but it complies with his function. No decoration, no personality, and staff just as neutral and efficient as the hotel itself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

Overall good location, only 15minute walk from the city centre area, however a downfall is the limited wifi access to the common areas only. There is also a lack of powerpoints in the dorm rooms. Reception staff were asking, polite and ready to assist, however the cleaning staff were rude and even spiteful when asking for assistance upon arrival - set a pretty bad impression overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. WiFi only works in the common areas as is stated in our hostelworld description. At our 24h reception you can borrow a socket extension. We want to apologize for any inconvenience the cleaning personal may have caused you and want to point out that you should have come to us to let us know about this immediately. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

15th Apr 2017
8.6

The hostel is huge, clean and well located (15min to Museum Quartier). The wi-fi is locked to common areas only (like the Youth Hostels I stayed). The kitchen is closed to cooking but they offer meals and they are cheap (but check if they are working on holidays!). Breakfast is the best I've ever had in hostels. Staff gentle and helpful. The reception is only in the main building, which is annoying in case you stay in the other building (2min walking) and need help. I would stay again there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.0

The hostel was only ok. Good location and good free breakfast. We stayed in the separate part where the wifi worked in the room. Also there were a lot of younger, loud people but once they left it was quiet. More like a hotel rather than a typical hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
6.0

While I realize Hostel Myrthengasse is probably a good hostel by European standards, as a member of Hosteling International, it definitely doesn't meet international standards. To start, check in took nearly 30 minutes because the receptionist was so slow. Then, they charged 4.5 euros for a lock, and I noticed they charge for towels as well. Furthermore, the shower was plugged and backed up. On the plus side, the hostel is very well located.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. Obviously your expectations were a little bit too high. You've got exactly what you have booked on hostelworld and how our hostel is described on hostelworld.com. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kdM7Koid1M&feature=youtu.be. As mentioned in the Information section of hostelworld.com we do not offer towels or locks. We are sorry that you found our staff too slow at check in, but somtimes it take some time to offer our guests the best service they deserve. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
4.3

Could be better

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. What you see is what you get nothing more nothing less. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kdM7Koid1M&feature=youtu.be. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

15th Apr 2017
2.6

They make you pay 3.5€ extra if you don't have the expensive YHA card. They should include this sum in the total price from the beginning. It's pretty annoying be told to pay more when you arrive. Facilities are not incredible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thank you for your comment. In our Property Description at hostelworld.com it is stated:” Accommodation in our youth hostel - Vienna Myrthengasse requires membership with the International Youth Hostel Association. A non-member supplement of EUR 3.50 per person per night is payable on arrival at hostel.” Sometimes it helps a lot to read the given Information to avoid disappointments like yours. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Great and quiet place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
6.3

The wifi was absolutely terrible- it only reached in the lounge area but would cut out every five minutes. The location was nice and the breakfast was also very nice. However, in my four person room there were only two outlets, and none near the beds which I found incredibly inconvenient. In the lounge there were hardly any either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. As mentioned in the information section on hostelworld.com we offer free WIFI only in the lobby area. We offer additional sockets to borrow at our 24 hours open reception, so a short question would have solved your problem. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.1

There was no atmosphere at all, the restaurant staff were rude and the doors to the bathrooms were so heavy, my foot got hit multiple times. Not really worth the money but you're not exactly spoilt for choice in Vienna unfortunately.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest thank you for your comment. We want to apologize for any inconvenencies you experienced during your stay at our hostel. However we want to point out that our reception is open 24/7 and that any problems you might have encountered during your stay have not been reported to us. We could have easily fixed the problem with the door. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kdM7Koid1M&feature=youtu.be. Best regards from Vienna - HI Myrthengasse

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.