Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Yaxha

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Mar 2017
5.4

The biggest problem here was the staff. hey were uninformed and not helpful with regards to the activities in the area. We first got told about a Tikal tour that was unavailable, and only found out once we talked with another tour operator. Another person at the hostel got sold the tour that wasn't available and when they woke up at 3am to go, the tour guide refused to let them join. Just very disorganized and you would think would be more ironed out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.4

It's ok. Good location and nice sitting area in the cafe/restaurant area. Dorms are really small for amount of people. Bathrooms ok but pretty dirty. Really bad damp smell in the downstairs dorm - hard to take. Wifi wasn't great but staff were kind and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Stayed 3 nights, staff was friendly. Libbey at the front desk is awsome. The restaurant and bar area close at 10pm. Atmosphere is lacking but there are a few places nearby you can grab a drink later in the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
8.0

Pretty nice place. Restaurant is a bit expensive and no kitchen. We had a private room with 2 single beds and a double. Double beds were pretty comfy but the double was kind of awful. Nice balcony with gorgeous views though. Staff was friendly and helpful. Seating area downstairs was nice. Overall decent place to spend a night or 2.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.1

everything was fine and I had a great stay! But please try to warn your guest better of the "jaguar 1" agency. They stop overnight buses from guate city right before st. Elena, make tourists to change into their mini bus and drive them to the agency where they try to sell them totally overprized or invalid tickets. This problem isnt new (tripadvisor).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.3

Nothing particularly bad to say about this hostel. We stayed for 2 nights so we could go visit Tikal. Was able to book everything from the desk including our bus to Chetumal, Mexico when we were moving on. The rooms had air con which is a must in Flores, it's so hot here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Rudi85
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 61 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.0

A nice enough place to spend the night before or after a trip to Tikal. We had a private 3-bed room which had a cute little balcony and a decent enough bathroom. This clearly isn't the party place in town, but there are several cool places within a few steps to enjoy a some beers and views of the lake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
6.9

A decent hostel for one night. It seemed about equal to most hostels in Flores. The wifi was spotty, the room had an odd musky smell to it and had poor airflow. Despite having a big common area and decent bar, there was not much mingling of guests (though this may be because most visitors only stay one or two nights to see Tikal). The food was above average, along with the prices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.0

Great price for a private room. Room was clean and food was pretty good, but some of the morning staff could have been a little nicer. They weren't super friendly with us when we asked if we could have breakfast to go the morning we went to Tikal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.6

We had a private room which was great, only thing that was a shame was there isn't a kitchen, and no breakfast included so you are kind of forced to purchase breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.