X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Zeus Reviews

27 Sofokleous St, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1961 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

It is not the best place to stay but it is cheap. I stayed for just one day and it was ok.


51%

The staff is indifferent about you, they don´t have lockers at bedrooms, and didn´t even have sheets for all of us.The bathroom we´re so dirty that I didn´t want to have a shower, and there was one wc thrwoed up.


69%

Normal hostel


63%

This hostel is fine; you get what you pay for, which amounts to simple yet well-maintained and clean facilities. It's nothing fancy, but it's 10 euros a night so you can't argue with that. The location is great, in the old part of town, close to Monastiraki Square. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Security was ok - no lockers, but rather a communal storage closet. No common room, so a bit difficult to meet people...probably best for a shorter stay, but decent experience overall.


94%

I liked the Hostel Zeus so well that I came back there to stay after being in the islands for 2 weeks. The staff are very helpful. Although there is no kitchen, you can find cheap food in the area if you look. They do charge 5%to use a credit card, so bring cash if you want to save a little. It is very close to everything in the old part of town and close to the metro.


74%

Aright hostel for the money and location. Definitely not one of the best i've ever been but come on you can't really say much when you pay that price. Very close to the city center and the main underground connections. The staff also has been nice and helpful!

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

We stayed here just to visit the Acropolis and we got pretty much just a bed. Showers were cold, no wifi in the room, no kitchen, sketchy luggage storage and not much else. Pretty close to all things to do in Athens although. I would just put this place as a half or one star hotel over a hostel as there is no area to hangout or anything


60%

My stay was reasonably good. Zeus Hostel has simple facilities and no common area, so in the end its not a good place to make friends and get to know people. It is, however, extremelly close to the Acropolis and just a few steps away from the Monastiraki station, a place that is very lively during night and day and some good and cheap restaurants. Bathrooms could be better, my friends couldn't even take cold baths and the lack of lockers on the bedrooms is scary.


20%

Hostel overbooked my friends and I,got there and they tried to put us in Zorbas hostel which is not central at all,and everywhere was fully booked or extremely expensive. As we searched for options they still had bookings available on another website for more than 300£.I asked the receptionist why and he replied they couldn't stop the bookings! we ended up booking with airbnb and got ourselves a flat (highly recommended!!).

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
and yet the receptionis did find you a hotel at a reasonable rate in the Plaka area [more central you canot get] which you did not except and dont forget the total refund you recieved for your booking including the one you cancelled......

46%

Unfriendly staff. Bad atmosphere. Dangerous city. Full of thieves and prostitutes

Owner Comment (Hide)
please dont blame the staff if you were pick pocketed in the citi they are not the police so obviously they cant do anything about it.... all cities have their highlights and their no so "nice places" where were you hanging out for five days?

57%

An average hostel to stay. The staff could speak a little better english and could be more interactive. It seemed like sometimes they didn't care a lot about the people. The hostel was a bit dirty and there were no sheets on the bed, only if you ask them too. About the security, it seemed like there were not much security and I felt like any person could enter in my room if they asked the key in the reception because there were no checking if I was in that room or not. The location was very good

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Outstanding staff. They were happy to help at every turn. There are plenty of steps to get to your room.


86%

great location friendly staff


60%

Cheap, well placed, very basic hostel, with no common room, but you get a clean bed for very litlle money.


91%

Fantastic staff!!! Very helpful. No kitchen and plenty of steps. However the staff carried my heavy suitcase up for me, and there is free internet as well as wifi. Kind of a sketchy part of town, but lots of activity in the local square.


80%

Great location with the acropolis viewable from around the corner and very close to the lovely area of Plaka. They have a great facility of a communal computer downstairs. Apart from the no wifi in rooms, it wasn't much of a problem because you can connect to easily in the corridors just outside of the rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Would be even better if there were organised hostel night outs.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It was very cold and the sheets seemed to be dirty still. There were sticky spots on the blankets.


40%

This place was very dirty, not an inviting environment, and was very hard to meet people due to no common room.


54%

It was a OK experience. The location is the best thing of this place... It is not very clean, and the bathroom facilities were worst than expected even for the money. The shower was cold, and not enough cabins for the number of people sharing the floor's facilities... the bed sheets do not seen very clean, The place has everything to be a very nice hostel, but you cannot use the kitchen, the wifi do not work on the rooms, staff is not very enthusiastic (they seemed bored, actualy) so it's not :(


94%

Great place to stay while knowing the Mother Greece, craddle of the Western culture!


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback