Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel & Cafe Bar Backpackers Miyajima

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1658 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1658 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Aug 2017
8.0

The location is good. The rooftop provides a nice view of the water for the price paid. The beds are comfy and come equipped with lockers and additional space at the end of the bed for another bad. Lockers were big enough for all valuables. Staff was new but willing to help as much as possible. I would recommend as a place to stay for anyone visiting the island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment! We are happy to hear that! on 26th of Aug, we have a fireworks festival on the island! And we can see it from our rooftop! And that staff is just became our member! And he learning now, so he is not perfect right now, but he gonna be good staff! Thank you for your understand. We are looking forward to meet you one day again.

7th Aug 2017
7.4

Nice hostel overall but there are some issues. Mainly, if you value your sleep. 40 people per room mean the only real quiet times are from 2am to 5am. Bed dividers are paper thin and you can hear everything. Metal lockers are a terrible idea. Might as well play drums in the morning. I'm also not a fan of the common space downstairs. Tiny chairs and tables make for an awkward space. Check in is a strict 4pm. I'm just bitter about not sleeping but it's a decent place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message! We are very sorry made you uncomfortable situation. We are trying to cooperate with guests, but still we should have to care about it. We have a cleaning time before 4pm, so can't allow you to check in before 4pm. Thank you for your understanding. Have a good trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
10.0

I had a fantastic stay at Backpackers Miyajima. I've AirBnB'ed and hosteled across a big part of Kansai throughout my vacation in Japan, and this is definitely my favourite place to have stayed at. The location is FANTASTIC. I went early morning to go see the Itsukushima Shrine. The only people who will beat you there are the priests. The staff at the hostel are also great. Average to good English for Japanese people, and the atmosphere they cultivate is awesome. ALSO awesome is their breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment! We are so happy to hear that!! Early mornig of Itsukushima is really beautiful! Not so many people and cool!! Our breakfast is all you can eat style! Did you eat a lot??haha Thank you very much for staying our hostel! We are looking forward to meet you next time!

6th Aug 2017
9.4

Great place to stay if you are visiting Miyajima or the Itsukushima island across the way. Location is hugely convenient - just a couple minutes walk over to the JR ferry and five minutes down the street from the Miyajimaguchi station stop. Highly recommend the backpackers hostel here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message. Our hostel is right next to the ferry port, so very easy to go to Miyajima! And you can see the torii gate from our roof as well. We recommend to drink there and relaxing! Thank you for staying :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel. Beautiful views of Miyajima and the staff were so friendly. Would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment!! We enjoyed talking with you! If you have chance to visit here again, you can see different atmosphere's Miyajima! Have a safe and good trip :)

3rd Aug 2017
10.0

the staff was incredibly kind and helpful, and the location is unreal. if you have the JR pass, the ferry JR is 1 minutes walking distance! love it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment!! We are happy that you liked this hostel. Miyajima is very beautiful especially in the morning, so we recommend to go there in the morning next time you visit our hosstel! Thank you for staying Backpackers Miyajima.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

What an awesome hostel! The location is great for the island of Miyajima and Hiroshima. Really friendly staff and the roof top chill out area is ace. I know there are only 3 showers but never had to que and the facilities are great. Bar in common room a big plus too! Would definitely stop here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment!! We are really happy to hear that! Rooftop during this season is verry good! You can drink and chill at the hammock! And after 7pm, you can see the sunset from the roof. And we are sorry about that. Thank you for your corporation! Let's have a toast when you back here next time!! Have a good trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel - perfect location for easy access to Miyajima (it's literally a two minute walk to the ferry station, and you can see the floating gates from the rooftop). Super friendly and helpful staff, short walk from train station from Hiroshima. Small bathroom area and only 1 shower per floor (3 in total), but easily managed. All the rooms are pretty open, I was in the female dorm so there was a door to separate it from the main area but everywhere else was quite exposed. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment! Our hostel is close from ferry station and train stations! (JR and tram) We enjoyed small talk with you! Thank you for staying here! Amd we are sorry about we have only 3 showers in this hostel. So we recommend hotspring near here! Next time you stay here how about go there. It's good one! Have a safe and good trip!!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.0

Some of the friendliest staff I've ever met, and in a great location if you're using the JR pass for the trains or the ferry. Only one shower per floor, not really enough, and it's really noisy. Metal lockers in the halls make a lot of noise, and the walls are thin/the space connecting rooms under beds is open so you can hear what everyone says in the other rooms and the hall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel - staff is amazing, all were cheerful and talkative, ready to join guests. Great location just near the ferry and found it way more interesting than Hiroshima (also a better hostel than the one in Hiroshima city center). Vibe is pretty chill during weekdays, but everyone grabs beers and hangs out on weekends. Socialization minus the clubbing scene and the guests tended to reflect that. Will return on my next trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.