Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel & Cafe Bar Backpackers Miyajima

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1,490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1,490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
Hostel & Cafe Bar Backpackers Miyajima Located at 1-8-11 Miyajimaguchi, Hatsukaichi-shi, Hiroshima.
Hostel & Cafe Bar Backpackers Miyajima
Japan
Hiroshima 739-0411 1-8-11 Miyajimaguchi, Hatsukaichi-shi
94% 1490
34.3102522 132.3047339
Hostel & Cafe Bar Backpackers Miyajima
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Dec 2016
10.0

Chose this hostel for the night before spending time on Miyajima; the location is unbeatable (you can see the ferry from the rooftop, and be there in 90 seconds). Reception area is also the kitchen and bar, where they have 100 yen shots of the usual well spirits and sake, and within a few moments of arriving, I was drinking with a group at the bar. Entire staff was super friendly and helpful. Everything else was great too, the rooftop has pretty lovely views. Breakfast maybe a bit sparse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing our hostel and we are happy to hear you say that! Easy to go to the Island and close from Ferry terminal are good points with us. I hope you have enjoyed Miyajima Island! Our shot is the best price all over Japan, we think! We are glad that you spend a good time with here. Thank you for your advise to let us think about breakfast. Have a good day!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Nov 2016
10.0

I can't recommend Backpackers Miyajima enough! The location is brilliant if you wish to visit the island (which is an absolute must if you visit japan), literally next to the ferry there. Saki and the ladies of BM are lovely hosts. It was the highlight of the trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really happy to hear you say that and thank you for your hearty comment! Miyajima Island is one of the world heritage in Japan. I hope you have became to like this place! Thank you again! Enjoy your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Nov 2016
9.7

I would highly recommend this hostel! The staff were lovely and helpful, the hostel is clean and has a good kitchen/social space with a bar. You can borrow bikes for free to go to the nearby onsen, and it is very convenient for the ferry to Miyajima. I wish I could stay longer! If you're going to Miyajima try and go early, it gets very crowded, and check the tide times as you may be able to walk to the gate over the sand.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recommend comment! We have many seasoning for guests in our kitchen. Onsen is one of the populer Japanese culture! I also go to the Onsen sometimes :)) When you come back here, please try to go to Miyajma early time! It is great. Nobody in the Island. You can feel like own Island! And You can see sunrise. It is make your trip beautiful definitery!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.7

Loved it!!! Definitely one of the best places I've stayed on my trip. It is a bit more expensive than other places but it's worth it. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. The building has coin operated washing machines and dryers, each floor has one shower, three toilets, individual lockers, and a fridge. The location is great, it's easy to find and really close to the train and ferry as well as the shops. Definitely recommend staying here 😆

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for great comment Mae! We don't forget you helped us to decolate christmas tree! We put that picture on our Facebook! Please check that :) Every year we enjoy christmas party. We hope you will come join that party next time! Will you be back NZ on this christmas? Anyway enjoy your christmas! Backpackers Miyajima is your home. Come back here any time! We are wating for you as your family!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.7

Amazing place! Totally loved the staff, and it is really is a great place for travelers to meet other people!! The only thing I would change about security: I would have preferred if there was a secure area to store our luggage prior to check-in. We basically just left it in the living room area until check-in time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for giving your comment! Many traveler come to Backpackers Miyajma from all over the world. We hope our place will be international communication place for traveler and lacal Hiroshima people. We cannot keep guests big laggege in the locker. But the guests can use security locer for valuable even befor check in :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.9

Wonderful reception from the staff. Nice common area. Very sociable hostel. Close to the ferry port to get on to the island. Slightly on the noisy side, perhaps suited better to a younger person travelling alone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for comming to Backpackers Miyajima! Did you play table tennice in common area? Many guests enjoy that in our hoestel! We have Christmas tree in common area now:) If you enjoy our hostel, we are so happy!

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
9.1

I really had great time at this hostel, I met great people and staff is suoer friendly :) forr 500 jpy you can also have breakfast, it's great fun to make your own bancakes and get to know other people from the hostel in the meantime. The hostel is 1 minute from the miyajima ferry port so its very useful if you are planing to visit miyajima but it's far from hiroshima center, so if you would like to go out in hiroshima you'd better book elswhere, or you can have fun at the hostels very cool bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment! Our breakfast is making yourself style for make good relationship with another guests. If you enjoy making pancakes, we are so happy :) The Bar is very new. It start just 2 years ago. sometimes local people come here to drink with our guests. We hope the bar will be communication place of international for everyone. Thank you for finding the value and thank you for choosing Backpackers Miyajima!!

16th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel, very social and super friendly staff. There's lots of activities around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for givving us perfect score! We also enjoy talking with friendly guests like you! If you took good time Miyajima and here, We are so happy:) Thank you for choosing Backpackers Miyajima!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
10.0

Great Rooftop area, great bar. Very clean dorms. Staff was very nice and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our bar recently renovated 2 years ago. If you like it, we are glad! Did you tryed 100 yen shot? We think our shots is the cheapest in the world!lol Thank you for cooming here and choosing Backpackers Miyajima!! We hope you still enjoy your trip!

15th Nov 2016
9.4

Very clean! Very close to train/bus station so it was convenient. I felt safe. Perfect location on the tram line too. Friendly staff. The main room where you eat and socialize is attached to bathroom and showers. Kind of an awkward set up, as you are doing your hair/make up in a mirror in the same room where someone is relaxing/eating... but other than that, it's great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment! We are sorry about inconvenient of our facilities...We know the private place is not enough for the guests. We are trying make more comfortable for the beds, common space, and roof top instead of not enough private place. If you come back here, here will be better place! We glad to hear from you said "great"! We hope your travering will be beautiful!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.