X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel & Cafe Bar Backpackers Miyajima Reviews

1-8-11 Miyajimaguchi, Hatsukaichi-shi, Hiroshima, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1020 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

There was a bit of a bad smell in the dormitory. I think it is hard to get air circulating there as no windows and a lot of people sleeping there. Also it was quite loud in the mornings as people were opening and closing the metal lockers in the dormitory.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40


97%

Our overall experience is much better than we expect. Great location, friendly stuff, clean room, good shower. comfortable bed and good wifi coverage, we definitely recommend it if you want to stay in Miyajima.


89%

Superb. Love the location. Seems there's only one shower on one floor, so if the hostel is full, waiting will be a problem. Still, I definitely recommend it for those who like to visit Miyajima/ Hiroshima.


97%

A great hostel with a really fun staff. the events like the picnic, or the staff hanging out downstairs while everyone was drinking really add to the atmosphere. not a whole lot around the hostel to do at night, but plenty to do in the day.


91%

So friendly, so helpful, great environment, fun, and perfectly located.


86%

Often a long wait to shower in the morning since there is only one shower for the whole 16-bed dormitory. The dormitory is not dark enough at night since there are no curtains around the beds to obstruct the light from the emergency exit signs, which are very bright. The cinema evening (with two films) was nice.


83%

Was a nice stay, the downstairs common area with bar and all was really cozy, and a perfect place to spend the evening with a couple of beers and some good company.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location right next to the miyajima ferry terminal. Clean facilities and helpful staff that spoke some English. Main suggestion is that the staff can do a better job reminding all guests about "quiet hours" - both nights we stayed there were some people who were talking very loudly and slamming locker / main doors as early as 5am which was disruptive to most other guests still trying to sleep.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The toilet sinks looked awfully dirty and I dreaded touching even the taps where filth cant be seen easily. There are power strips between the beds but that means you need to sleep with your head, rather than your feet, facing it so you can keep your charging device close to you. With all the people going in and out of the dorm all night long you don't want to take any chances.


77%

สะอาดมาก สต๊าฟดูแลเอาใจใส่ดีมาก เตียงชั้นบนสูงไปนิดและห้องอาบน้ำน้อยไป


94%

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly; location was perfect. If I'm ever back in the area I'd definitely stay again!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great place to travel Miyajima! it was so lucky to be there ;-)


94%

We loved the staff, they were super nice and smiling and everything :D

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Overal good, but sleeping rooms should be better isolated, there where times when it was pretty loud. Big minus for the annoying escape door signs, switch to dim phosphorecent light or something, the night should be dark. For the staff: Keep your good spirit :-) and some big bicycles would be nice.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We stayed there only one night. The location is perfect if you want to visit the Miyajima temple,however it's quite far from Hiroshima(30 minutes by train). The staff is super nice,they helped us taking our luggage in the room and coming out with us to say goodbye when we left. Room were not what we expected as they have huge 25 dorm room with only one bathroom!!! The shower was great though, spacious and clean. Nice lobby with tatami.


97%

The staff here is absolutely amazing. Seriously. There's only a limited number of things you can do in Miyajima but they made me want to stay just to hang with them. The facilities are good, comfortable beds, cool common area. If you're going to check out Miyajima you have to stay here.


100%

Loved staying at Backpackers Miyajima. Nice staff, recently reopened after a renovation which was nice. It's really close to the ferry to get to the Miyajima island. If i come back to hiroshima i will go back here. No question.


94%

The hostel is super easy to find and as soon as I entered their door step I felt like at home or very close to it! All the staff members there are amazingly friendly, speak very good English and are ready to help you with anything you need. There is a cosy bar/kitchen/cafe at the ground floor where you can hang out at any time even till late night. I would only recommend to have the room and corridor walls painted in colour and the beds should have curtains and private lights.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Most lovlies,t friendliest hostel staff i've ever met. They rush out to greet people and walk them out when they leave. After staying just 3 nights I felt like family.


94%

It's a 5 minute walk from the train, a 7 eleven, and this great bakery. The ferry to Miyajima Island is right around the corner; you can see the island from the hostel. The staff was amazing- so sweet & remembered my name instantly. Common room is alright, easy enough to meet people, but the crowd was a bit weird. The rooms are okay, have to do a bit of fighting for outlets though. I would definitely recommend this place if you're trying to see Miyajima island :)


(59 results)


View all Hiroshima Hostels

Please give us your feedback