Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel de Mafkees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
5.1

Staff was rude and uneessecarily strict, dorm smelled awful and general give was not the best. It was alright in some sense, but also felt a bit unsafe and not really comfortable. Just one night, sure if you know what you're going into, but I wouldn't stay longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
4.0

The whole place is smelly. Dormitories stink rat poison, and are not even phisically prepared. It is just a warehouse with beds in it. It is located in one of the dodgiest streets I can imagine around Rotterdam. They charge an extra fee per really low quality sheets. Staff is so blunt. Fortunately I just paid per one night and could leave that little stinky hell. If you are thinking on going just because it is the cheapest on list. Add 5 buck extra to your budget and take a better bet

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
9.4

Very friendly and accommodating! Would definatly come again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.0

Super relaxed chilled out budget hostel but I feel you get value for money considering the price. The staff were all very helpful. Beds are not very comfortable (plastic foam mattresses) but they do the job... linen not being included is annoying. Showers really suck... lukewarm water and you have to keep pushing the button! Remember to bring cash as there and no eftpos and the closest ATM is the train station. HOWEVER despite all this I had a really love at mafkees and would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.3

NIce and cozy...nice atmosphere with lots of activities (games) to do...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
6.0

During the day, anybody could go inside the rooms (there is no entry control, and the rooms don't have a simple key). The linen was quite ratty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
9.7

Kitchen very well equipped. Very spacious environment, could create the happiness. Keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
3.1

Thery unrfliiendly receptionist. I am arrive for check in the girl was very rude and tell me everything was full, so i book from hostelworld. Arrive in my room and in a 28 people dorm there was only 4 more bed ocupied. The shower is very cold, too cold for having a shower. The linen for rent was dirty and inappropriate, they give me just a little cover ( for 3 euro) but was still very cold. I ask for one more cover and they answer me i can rent another one for 3 euro. In night at 3 am i have towait30minutei

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Nov 2016
5.4

The staff were generally unhelpful, literally getting in the way. Their booking system was nonsensical, with the deposit distributed across all bookings. Security was very poor. The pillow provided was not worth the extra euro it cost. Our pizza was stolen. Our drinks were stolen. There was no check of ownership when we took stuff from the baggage storage. There was no way of blocking out light from the street. It was close to Annabel where we were going that night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.0

I stayed in 48 bed mixed dorm. It was quite for sleeping but you have to pay 5 euros for even bed sheet and pillow. Advisable to carry your bedding. Toilets are not attached to the dorm and kitchen is not very well equipped. Common room had good atmosphere with TT, Pool and foosball table. Recommended for its great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.