Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel de Mafkees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.3

The overall experience for me was great: spent a little to stay, the place was tidy, people are chilled and friendly. Staffs are chilled. I waited for a bit when I checked in as the receptionist was smoking but it was no big deal. I would say the staffs are chilled but not welcoming. Please provide better employee benefits so they feel happy to work!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.9

Always a great stay in Rotterdam! Toilets could have been kept a little tidier this time around. Thanks for having us!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Brilliant value for money and lovely atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
5.1

Staff was rude and uneessecarily strict, dorm smelled awful and general give was not the best. It was alright in some sense, but also felt a bit unsafe and not really comfortable. Just one night, sure if you know what you're going into, but I wouldn't stay longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Feb 2017
4.0

The whole place is smelly. Dormitories stink rat poison, and are not even phisically prepared. It is just a warehouse with beds in it. It is located in one of the dodgiest streets I can imagine around Rotterdam. They charge an extra fee per really low quality sheets. Staff is so blunt. Fortunately I just paid per one night and could leave that little stinky hell. If you are thinking on going just because it is the cheapest on list. Add 5 buck extra to your budget and take a better bet

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
9.4

Very friendly and accommodating! Would definatly come again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.0

Super relaxed chilled out budget hostel but I feel you get value for money considering the price. The staff were all very helpful. Beds are not very comfortable (plastic foam mattresses) but they do the job... linen not being included is annoying. Showers really suck... lukewarm water and you have to keep pushing the button! Remember to bring cash as there and no eftpos and the closest ATM is the train station. HOWEVER despite all this I had a really love at mafkees and would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.3

NIce and cozy...nice atmosphere with lots of activities (games) to do...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
6.0

During the day, anybody could go inside the rooms (there is no entry control, and the rooms don't have a simple key). The linen was quite ratty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
9.7

Kitchen very well equipped. Very spacious environment, could create the happiness. Keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.