Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel de Mafkees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2017
7.1

The common area is large and has lots of tables to sit at. Breakfast was bread and coffee. Staff were preoccupied and the rooms had more than 30 beds. The furnishings are sparse and the room looks like it is not maintained at all. You get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.3

With the dorms couting well-more more than 30 beds, of course, the experience in de Mafkees depends a lot on your room-mates. In my case it was o.k., fairly calm and I slept surprisingly well. Since the dorm is spacious it doesn't feel packed; I have had worse with less beds crammed into too small rooms. Generally you have to consider the price preformance ratio which makes de Maafkes a fair deal. Everything is simple, but kept clean and you get what you need. Staaf was friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.6

Only stayed one night, got In late and left early so not a very in depth review. Staff where lovely, everything was clean (for the price not gleaming) I stayed in a very large dorm and people where considerate and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
5.4

I enjoyed this hostel for the atmosphere, but it was by no means somewhere I'd stay again! It's in an "up and coming" part of Rotterdam, you can see gentrification in process, but it hasn't hit this part of the street yet, so you get a lot of unsavoury characters around the hostel, even walking in when they're not guests, and the rooms don't have keys! I didn't feel safe here. For what I paid, especially for a weekend, I won't complain too much, but I'd avoid it at all costs in future!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
4.6

No lockers in the bedrooms. Had to pay 5 euros for a lock and my bag barely fit in the locker. I didn't feel safe leaving my things at the hostel. Extra money for linen. Doors are always open (no key or keycard) and you have to wear an uncomfortable wrist band during your stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.0

For its price, the stay was good! Great service 24/7

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.3

The overall experience for me was great: spent a little to stay, the place was tidy, people are chilled and friendly. Staffs are chilled. I waited for a bit when I checked in as the receptionist was smoking but it was no big deal. I would say the staffs are chilled but not welcoming. Please provide better employee benefits so they feel happy to work!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.9

Always a great stay in Rotterdam! Toilets could have been kept a little tidier this time around. Thanks for having us!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Brilliant value for money and lovely atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
5.1

Staff was rude and uneessecarily strict, dorm smelled awful and general give was not the best. It was alright in some sense, but also felt a bit unsafe and not really comfortable. Just one night, sure if you know what you're going into, but I wouldn't stay longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.