X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel de Mafkees Reviews

Vijverhofstraat 47, Rotterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
279 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I couldn't find tea for breakfast, would be great. But you are all amazing. I am definitely recommending it to other people

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The experience of a room which sleeps 48 was out of this world! One dude puked off the side of the top bunk which was a show in itself, and the beds are squeaky so get prepared to wake up the rest of the room. Dope fridges and a nice staff right by the train station (7 minutes or so). Best bang for your buck, highly recommended

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff supersweet and helpful, the beds were supersqueeky but all in all good value for the money :)

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel! Had to pay for sheets but it was so hot I didn't need a blanket, and the price made up for it. Showers were a bit broken but had hot water (let it run for a bit). Full kitchen, breakfast was minimal, but nice staff and friendly environment


94%

excellent staff, the room was too big, too many beds


100%

This place is nice given the fact that it's within a waliking distance to Rotterdam Centraal. The staff is friendly too. I like it! ;)


83%

Excellent hostel when traveling on a budget, super friendly staff and a great atmosphere,


77%

There was not electricity in the room, what was quite surprising. Sometimes when people check in during a night, they wake the rest up even a few times per night. However, for this price the condition were pretty good.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The location of hostel is near from Rotterdam Central station whch takes about 15min. by walking. Facilities are not good. But not dirty. Breakfast is just some breads tea and coffee. At night, you can have a opportunity for making friends which stay at the same hostel.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice and polite staff, especially Inez, one of the reseptionists who'll give you a warm welcome and insure your pleasant stay!


77%

Good place to save money- the ping pong table saved my sanity at this place. Only one shower worked well out of ten, toilets were good, kitchen was average, staff was helpful, beds were average. I would stay here again if I came back to Rotterdam and needed to save money. Met good people so that was nice. All the toilets/showers/beds are separated, so be prepared to walk around a lot.


43%

This hostel is so cheap! That's pretty much the only good thing about it. You are crammed in a tiny room with like 50 other people. There's hardly any space for luggage. There were NO outlets to charge electronics in my room. There is only one large room with showers and another room with the toilets. You have to pay 5€ for towels! Breakfast sucks! There was a homeless man sleeping on a mattress in the lobby. There were no decent maps and the staff couldn't give accurate directions.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The girl that work in this hostel is the most beautiful attraction of Rotterdam!


89%

The dorm was rather big and sometimes during night a bit (too) noisy when other travelers came in. It would be better if the dorm windows would have some shutters to keep the light outside during the night. very well equipped and clean kitchen. A microwave would be a nice to have additional ‘tool’ in this kitchen. The common room is very well. Enough benches and tables to sit. Some nice games available (table tennis, billiard, board games) and nice and cosy sitting areas. Music available


89%

The hostel is located really close to central station which is good if you like to take buses and trains. The staff really friendly and also helpful, I enjoyed my stay there. The kitchen is open for the guests and the common area is awesome. The beds are not that comfortable but if you're traveling around it's no problem at all. Anyways, the hostel is great.


26%

not so good

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It costs an extra 5 euros for your bedding, so ends up being a bit more expensive than when you book. Super close to the train station and relatively close to the core downtown. No keys or cards to get in, and no locks on the dorm door. Room was bright even with the lights off (I could have read by the light of the exit sign) and super big. Bread is provided for breakfast (free), but no toaster available. Wi-fi had some kind of firewall and wouldn't work for anything other than facebook...


63%

It is fine if you're looking for cheap option to stay and close to city centre. But the overall quality is pretty low when compared with other hostels around the Netherlands. Clear management/organizational issues going on. Staff pro-activity is quite unequal, some much better than others. I don't think I can recommend it to others but I hope they find the tools they need to give it a makeover. there is such a great potential with that huge space that little improvements could make a difference


63%

Breakfast could be better, there is really not much choice. And there was no soap in the toilet.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice hostel, but we had no wifi. If you want internet, they have a computer.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Rotterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback