Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel de Mafkees

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 782 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2017
8.6

Very helpful staff, great value🤓

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
5.4

Atmosphere: the huge hall which has 48 bed is good for the people who don't want to sleep on street. Matress and bed is uncomfortable. The hall smells and the open windows can't be closed. Also it's so noisy outside so i couldn't sleep well. Cleanness: I got some sheets from a room in which it looks like they wash it. They smell ok but my body became itchy after I used them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
9.4

Ticked all the boxes for a low budget night, we travelled by bike as well and they locked our bike in a secure room. Receptionist was very friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.6

Great value for money, a pool/soccer table, clean toilers + shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
6.6

Very basic hostel. You get what you pay. No sheets is clearly laid out but you also need to bring a pillow andif the hostel is pretty full you can be out of luck because sheets do run out which is terribly annoying. The mattresses are pretty bad too but hey, again, you get what you pay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • tofanalexander1665
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Value place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
7.4

The 30-person room isn't as bad as it sounds, but it's not super pleasant. There aren't any plugs in the bedroom, which is annoying, and I also had lots of problems connecting to the wifi (this is apparently only a problem for iPhone users). There also weren't keys for the door (they just give you a wristband), and while they had lockers, my (small) lock was too big to use with them. I was able to keep my stuff safely in the luggage room though, thankfully. Basically, worth what you pay for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
7.1

The common area is large and has lots of tables to sit at. Breakfast was bread and coffee. Staff were preoccupied and the rooms had more than 30 beds. The furnishings are sparse and the room looks like it is not maintained at all. You get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
6.0

Just stayed for one night, however the wait for check in was extremely long as I arrived just when it opened and with only one staff member I waited for nearly two hours. The overall vibe was pretty dead and the facilities very basic, not impressed with the warmth of the showers and that you had to continually press the button as the water was set on a short timer. Survived for one night but wouldn't recommend staying any longer to be perfectly honest, staff were lovely just a bit slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.3

With the dorms couting well-more more than 30 beds, of course, the experience in de Mafkees depends a lot on your room-mates. In my case it was o.k., fairly calm and I slept surprisingly well. Since the dorm is spacious it doesn't feel packed; I have had worse with less beds crammed into too small rooms. Generally you have to consider the price preformance ratio which makes de Maafkes a fair deal. Everything is simple, but kept clean and you get what you need. Staaf was friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.