X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel de Passage Reviews

Dweersstraat 26, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
780 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Quite little hostel with 1 lady working both the hostel and a restaurant. The restaurant had amazing food must eat.


89%

Very accommodating staff, great location and great food from the restaurant.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect location. About a five minute walk away from the Markt and the best bar in Bruges is only two streets away.


91%

Very quaint hotel. The facade of the building fits in quite well with the culture of Bruges. Although we didn't try it, the restaurant/bar downstairs is a lively place in the evening and the food appeared to be good. The hotel was booked out of dbl rooms so we booked a 'dorm of 4 beds' which worked well for the two of us; lots of space!


43%

The hostel staff has made a mistake in the booking, instead of 3x double room they decided to book 1x 4pax and 1x 2pax (issue solved); Staff not kind; Reception is between the restaurant cashier and the door that access the kitchen, with a lot of movement; Bed clothes not cleaned; 1st floor rooms had issues with heating; Shower system not completed; To access the hostel/room it's provided in a card with hostel & room, in case of lost everyone can access; No isolation between room and corridor.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is really located in the center, but it's more a restaurant with rooms upstairs, not a proper hostel. There are no many services and there is nobody in the morning that could help. There is no breakfast and neither a kitchen where you can do something. The wifi is working only in the restaurant. The room was comfortable with essentials things (beds and sink) and was very quite. The owner is really kind and the food in the restaurant is really good.


89%

Upon our arrival no one was at the establishment. We went to a neighboring building to ask for help. It turned out the owner of the hostel was in a meeting and would not be back for two hours. We waited in the empty hostel with no employees until the owner arrived. He was tremendously nice and helpful when he did arrive. Nice rooms, cool area. We were the only people staying in the entire building, which was very strange. Would stay again if in the busy season. 2015

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything is in order. But there is one problem. May be you have an error on your site Hostelworld. Check in at hostels usually from 11 am. In your site can also choose from 10 am. We believed in it, and have come to hostel at the 10 in the morning, so we had to wait another hour until previous guests check-out . PS: Sorry for my english =)

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The location was pretty good, close to the centre of town and an easy 15min walk from the train station. However, we were not impressed with the facilities. Firstly, we requested a double bed and were disappointed to find 2 single beds instead. There were only 2 toilets for the whole hotel, which were also shared with the restaurant downstairs. The toilets were not very clean and neither were the showers at the end of the corridors. Definitely not value for money.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The bedroom was _very_ cold

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The place is creepy. You can hear all the noises that come from the corridor. There is no double bad. The bathroom is the worst, there is no way to take a shower without your stuff getting wet. At least it has a good location, however you can find a better place for the same money.


46%

- Extremely well located, but does not provide value for money. - Not really a hostel, just a set of rooms above a restaurant. - Double room sparse. Just two single beds stuck together, with no drawers or wardrobe for hanging clothes. - Gaping hole at the top of the bedroom door, so can hear everything and heat escapes easily. - Terrible smell around the bathroom area with part of the ceiling missing in the showers. - No staff on hand to ensure security of belongings.


77%

We had a room with 3 beds. For us it was too cold in the room and so we ordered some blankets but they don´t have some for us. So we wore more of our clothes for sleeping and it was ok. We also had dinnner in the hostel and it was very good.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very pleasant stay! The hotel owner was very nice and helpful. Highly recommended! The food at the restaurant was great, we really loved the vegetarian plate!

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The Wi-Fi didn't work properly in our room. The bathroom of the first floor were unusable at the morning (the costumers of the restaurant down the Hostel may use these bathrooms).


94%

Rooms would benefit from possibility of joining twin beds together for couples. Owner aware of this.


91%

Really enjoyed our recent stay at the Hostel de Passage. The staff were really nice, and gave us a great tip on a great bar in the town called t' Poatersgat. The bar and restaurant was excellent, with a good selection of well priced food and beers. The owner was a great character, who we liked all the more for his love of rugby and rendition of Sospan Fach. Diolch yn fawr iawn / Tack så mycket

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

We stayede only for 1 night and it was OK. But, value for money could be much better in my opinion. Privacy was very poor in the rooms, since there are gaps at the upper part of doors. Everyone can hear you easily in the aisle. Shared bathroom and showers are OK.


63%

Room was clean and adequate for the hostel, location was excellent. The only thing that bothered me was extreme noise from the hall and other rooms...But other than that, pretty good choice :)

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

My friend was bitten by the bed bug after staying. There are no place to hang your clothes in the shower. No sink for washing hands in the washroom. But the location is perfect, the staff is nice, the price is ok.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback