X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel de Passage Reviews

Dweersstraat 26, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
691 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Excellent rooms, huge windows, very clean and nice, staff is very friendly. We enjoyed it a lot

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is excellent and the owner very friendly. The room was clean and the temperature perfect. However the room resembles a prison cell and contains just 2 single beds (even though we booked a double), an old chair and a sink!!! The door frame doesn't fit well and the glass panel above the door was missing and we could hear everything from the hall and all the doors slamming etc. Showers were dark and old.. It could become a great hostel with a few improvements. Not for picky travelers!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Small hostel in the center of bruges, great location, but very poor facilities. The guy at the reception was nice and welcoming and spoke many languages. However, the room (double bed) was small and dusty and the only window faced a wall. Moreover, there was just one common bathroom for the whole floor (i.e. more or less 10 rooms). But above all we were provided no towels!! Not really like we expected it.


91%

It's very near to the Markt square. The room was spacious. Can walk easily from the train station. Good!


86%

Amazing location right in the centre and you can walk to all the main tourist places and main square. Man at the hostel was helpful in telling us where to go. Room was a good size, had a sink and was clean, very impressed especially as it was cheap! Only two negatives were no wifi in the room and it did smell of sewage, but I would still recommend this hostel for a night or two.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the entrance and the waiting room should be arranged in a comfortable way. This is the only complain I have. REg. services, price, tidy it's super good...also the owner is really friendly and helpful. I recomend it!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank to Turkish stuff


100%

Staying at Hostel de Passage feels more like staying at a boutique hotel than at your typical hostel. The beds and linens were extremely comfortable (even a plush duvet!); the rooms and bathrooms were clean; and the decor was classic and simple. The location is also ideal and central. I highly recommend staying here while in the beautiful city of Bruges.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean room, well located at a good price. Only beds and a sink in the room but that was fine for us. Free wifi provided although it was a bit weak in our room. Owner was friendly and enjoyed a laugh, had no issues with him at all and the cleaner was very friendly too. Communal toilets/shower were messy at times.


97%

We had a short stay in Brugge, but this hostel comes highly recommended, spacious rooms and very central.


74%

The interior where nice and staff where very friendly. Clean to be a hostel. Where a long way to walk from the trainstation. Anyone could take our luggage in the storage closet. The doors had gaps between the doorstep and door and the walls where very thin so one heard everything the neighbours said. Otherwise a good place to stay when in Bruges.


49%

The hotel owner was very rude to us Americans. Referred to us as ignorant Yankees! The toilet facilities were not maintained and smelled like sewage. The doors to the room stop 2 inches shy of top of door frame so noise travels and not much privacy. I would not recommended this place to friends and family or anyone traveling to Bruge. Look elsewhere, Bruge is a beautiful city and will be enjoyed much more while staying somewhere else.


91%

When we arrived at the hostel we were welcomed by the extremely friendly owner who made us feel at home, he was great!!! The twin room we stayed in was amazing - one of the comfiest beds we have ever found in a hostel! Location was just a few minutes walk from the main streets and also close to the train station. There is a resteraunt under the hostel which open until about 11, could be noisy but we didnt have any problems. Would definitely go back!!


54%

My brother had an accident and my sister and I had to cancel our trip. As we were in the hospital and not thinking about the fact that we had accommodation booked, we didn't cancel until late notice. While I know this is extremely annoying for the hostel, they were incredibly rude in responding to the cancellation and while I explained my situation, they charged us and ranted about how rude we were. I don't care about the money but these were assholes, customer service clearly not a priority!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic hostel with the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. We were first floor in a 4 person room, there were 2 showers and 3 toilets for the floor. They were very clean but shower on evening if you're really worried as they are cleaned late afternoon daily. Owner is great. Location fantastic. Didn't notice any noise from corridors. Recommended!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Wonderful place to stay, right in the heart of Bruges. The owner of the hostel made us feel very welcome and was extremely helpful in showing us the highlights of the city. Also, definitely eat at the restaurant located on the first floor, the food is superb and is typical Belgian fare for a great price.


63%

Very late check in - we had to wait till 6pm to access our room. No hostel facilities ie kitchen or common room. WiFi didn't work in the room so we had to sit on the stairs to use the internet because there was no where else. There were also missing windows above the door between the room and the hallway - lucky for us they were not busy so it was not too noisy.


86%

This definitely wasn't one of the nicest hostels we've stayed in, but the staff and the owner are all incredibly friendly and helpful and the bar downstairs is really cool and lots of fun. The location is great and everything is perfectly cleanly. Also bruge is absolutely incredible, our favorite place we've been so far


94%

Clean sparsely furnished room with great staff and atmosphere

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We left something behind in our room and left for another destination, and the hostel offered to mail it to us for free, which was awesome. As a hostel, it was really clean with fresh sheets and neat toilets. The wifi could have been better in the rooms, but overall, a nice and relatively inexpensive place to stay in Bruges. Friendly staff too. Didn't try the food at the in-house restaurant, but it was cheaper than most places in the area. Good location—walkable to main attractions (max 7mins).

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback