X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel de Passage Reviews

Dweersstraat 26, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
668 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The hotel owner was very rude to us Americans. Referred to us as ignorant Yankees! The toilet facilities were not maintained and smelled like sewage. The doors to the room stop 2 inches shy of top of door frame so noise travels and not much privacy. I would not recommended this place to friends and family or anyone traveling to Bruge. Look elsewhere, Bruge is a beautiful city and will be enjoyed much more while staying somewhere else.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

When we arrived at the hostel we were welcomed by the extremely friendly owner who made us feel at home, he was great!!! The twin room we stayed in was amazing - one of the comfiest beds we have ever found in a hostel! Location was just a few minutes walk from the main streets and also close to the train station. There is a resteraunt under the hostel which open until about 11, could be noisy but we didnt have any problems. Would definitely go back!!


54%

My brother had an accident and my sister and I had to cancel our trip. As we were in the hospital and not thinking about the fact that we had accommodation booked, we didn't cancel until late notice. While I know this is extremely annoying for the hostel, they were incredibly rude in responding to the cancellation and while I explained my situation, they charged us and ranted about how rude we were. I don't care about the money but these were assholes, customer service clearly not a priority!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic hostel with the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. We were first floor in a 4 person room, there were 2 showers and 3 toilets for the floor. They were very clean but shower on evening if you're really worried as they are cleaned late afternoon daily. Owner is great. Location fantastic. Didn't notice any noise from corridors. Recommended!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Wonderful place to stay, right in the heart of Bruges. The owner of the hostel made us feel very welcome and was extremely helpful in showing us the highlights of the city. Also, definitely eat at the restaurant located on the first floor, the food is superb and is typical Belgian fare for a great price.


63%

Very late check in - we had to wait till 6pm to access our room. No hostel facilities ie kitchen or common room. WiFi didn't work in the room so we had to sit on the stairs to use the internet because there was no where else. There were also missing windows above the door between the room and the hallway - lucky for us they were not busy so it was not too noisy.


86%

This definitely wasn't one of the nicest hostels we've stayed in, but the staff and the owner are all incredibly friendly and helpful and the bar downstairs is really cool and lots of fun. The location is great and everything is perfectly cleanly. Also bruge is absolutely incredible, our favorite place we've been so far


94%

Clean sparsely furnished room with great staff and atmosphere

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We left something behind in our room and left for another destination, and the hostel offered to mail it to us for free, which was awesome. As a hostel, it was really clean with fresh sheets and neat toilets. The wifi could have been better in the rooms, but overall, a nice and relatively inexpensive place to stay in Bruges. Friendly staff too. Didn't try the food at the in-house restaurant, but it was cheaper than most places in the area. Good location—walkable to main attractions (max 7mins).

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Coco is the the owner and basicially runs the place himself. Feel free to chat with him, will always have good stories and a great insight to the city. Rooms are clean and the ground floor there is a wonderful restaurant. Must try it. Lovely stay all in all would love to go back. Location is also pretty central

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The shower could use a little renovation

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff was very cozy. Food downstairs was cheap and it was no noise.


100%

Everything was great and as expected. The owner was a very interesting and unique man to have a chat with! He even invited us into his office to watch the footy final with him! I would highly recommend staying here if you are in Bruges. There is a nice little coffee shop next door that you can grab breakfast at and the dinners at the hostel are very traditional and delicious.


77%

The hostel is clean, very good location. But wifi is very weak, we can not use wifi in the room. The bathroom is not comfortable.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice hostel. We have book two twins rooms and there were large and confortable. The shared bathroom was really clean and the staff was really nice.


49%

Good location and has the potential to be a decent place. As mentioned in other reviews the gaps in the doors are a joke and need to be fixed. Theres no furniture in the rooms and a trip to Ikea would easily sort that out. In one of the showers there was a massive hole in the ceiling exposing pipes etc and was a hazard. Temperature gauge doesn't work so your only choice for a shower is boiling hot and you have to press a button every few seconds. The creepy owner charged a fiver for towels also.


43%

Very poor hostel, would never stay there again.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful and had great suggestions for things to do in Brugge. There is a wonderful cafe next door called Li O Lait that serves quality breakfasts. The hostel is modern and doesn't have the feel of a hostel, it's more like a hotel. The location is just a 5 minute walk from the main Markt and the famous bqr with 300 beers is nearby. Pick this hostel if you're visiting Brugge.


77%

The hostel is what you'd expect for the money. The room has no furniture at all (and you don't need it either for one night) but what bothered me was that the window over the room door was broken and had no curtains so the room was quite noisy and would wake me up each time someone lit a light on the hall.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Hostel de Passage has clean rooms and bedding, with an attached sink in the shared rooms, best mattresses of all the hostels we stayed at. The downside was the shared bathrooms which were often dirty. The host is a well travelled man, full of stories, and very interesting to talk to. They have an attached restaurant which serves the best Flemish stew if you're looking for some local fare!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback