Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel de la Viuda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.1

In the beginning, the Hostel was not totally easy to find, because the "yellow signs" stop at one point, but with Google Maps, it was no problem. The hostel itself has many options to relax or to do stuff, for example playing pool. The kitchen is well-equipped and big and you have a lot of space in the living room as well. There you meet other travellers and it's easy to talk to them. The staff was very helpful, but the walk to the "center" is quite long (15-20 minutes)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Mar 2017
10.0

Really good hostel! Nothing to complain about, 10/10 :) :) :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice enough hostel, about a 20 minute walk from the main part of town. Room outside was a bit crammed but beds were decent. Bring your bug spray!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
8.0

This is in my top two hostels I've ever stayed in. The only slight negative is the location, as it's about 35 mins walk into the main town, but I'm still really glad I stayed here. The beach near the hostel is so much nicer than the main beach. The hostel is really beautiful with a chilled out vibe. There is a huge garden at the back with a pool and hammocks, a look out tower with a great view. I was picked up and dropped off at the bus station free of charge! It's AMAZING value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Rocky1
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
4.9

Some staff are not helpful at all, 1 staff made me wait an hour while she done other things and watched TV before finally helping me answer a simple question about bus times. The swimming pool is DIRTY and I never saw it being cleaned. My room had no soap in it to wash hands which is so UNHYGIENIC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

A nice place in Punta del Diablo, which is an absolute must visit if you are in Uruguay. The garden, pool, and buildings are all top notch, the nicest I have seen. Good breakfast, nice vibes all around. The location is a bit out of the way but they offer rides and walking is nice, so no problems. Only negative was that the staff seemed a bit on edge and unhappy to have to deal with people, and they insisted on cleaning the bathrooms right when people were waking up (9-11) which was annoying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
7.1

Don't go during Carnival, you get charged more than double and have to deal with a crowd of crazy party people, making sleeping difficult to impossible. - they write down stuff on sheets of paper (when you put things on the bill) and in my case some of the items were incorrect and staff told me different prices than I was charged at the end.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.1

This is a really cheap hostel for what it is which is awesome!! This hostel has everything . Lockers in the rooms for your things , a big look out deck , a pool , hammocks and a big breakfast. They also cook a feast every night for the guests that want to pay for it but the cook is really really good . Every night he cooked something different . Fair way away from the main area so you will be walking a lot if you stay here. I loved all their dogs :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Nice homely hostel. Immaculately clean all the time. Chilled out vibe. Swimming pool and pool table and great. Meals cooked by the hostel are tasty. But it is a far way away from the town - not a huge problem, but be aware! Getting to Florianopolis on non-connecting bus, changing in Porto Alegre was a bit of a nightmare. Bus doesn't get to Chuy until half midnight, earliest, and a lot of the busses from Porto Alegre onwards were sold out. Apparently go to Brazilian Chuí and get a bus from there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.3

The hostel is overcrowded with too many beds in the small dorms, there is little space when full. Not enough space to cook in the kitchen which becomes hectic throughout the evening and at breakfast. The hostel is a party hostel, despite being 20 mins or so away from the center of PDD. The staff (who were very helpful and friendly) ensure that all noise is minimized in the hostel after 12, however outward facing rooms hear the party continuing in the garden. Bike rental, cheap meals and booze.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.