Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel de la Viuda

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.4
Hostel de la Viuda Located at Calle San Luis y Nueva Granada, Punta del Diablo, , Punta del Diablo.
Hostel de la Viuda
Uruguay
Punta del Diablo Rocha 27204 Calle San Luis y Nueva Granada, Punta del Diablo,
89% 363
-34.0471835 -53.5535216
Hostel de la Viuda
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Mar 2016
9.1

One of the best hostels we've stayed at in terms of facilities, swimming pool, huge garden, lots of hammocks, pool table and party room. The atmosphere was really good and the place was very clean as they had as many staff as guests! Breakfast was basic but very nice! Hard to find the hostel if you arrive at night but they do offer to pick you up from the bus stop!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
9.4

Best place we've stayed so far. Lovely staff, great social atmosphere, hammocks and a pool, and best of all four dogs which follow you to the beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2016
9.7

The hostel was great, and the owner and the staff made it even better! The owner makes sure that all the guests are happy at all times and he both picked me up and dropped me off at the bus station in his truck. Great service! The breakfast was also great and they take care in case of allergies. The atmosphere in general was amazing and the hostel was the perfect place to stay to have the best time in Punta Del Diablo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! There is lots of space, many things to do (Pool table, swimming pool, party room, library ... just to name a few) and people from all over the world. There is a huge kitchen where everybody gathers in the evening hours, everything is really clean and the staff is super-friendly. One of the most laid-back hostels I've been to so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
10.0

Sincerely it's the best hostel I've ever stayed. Continuously cleaned, super equipped kitchen, lots of toilets, amazing chill-out areas and garden, hamacas everywhere, panoramic tower, swimming pool, great breakfast, bbq, pool room...but the best thing is the atmosphere, super buena onda, the place really encourage you to meet so many nice people! It's located 500 metres from the best beach in Punta del Diablo, and a 10 minutes walk to the center of this stunning village

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
26th Feb 2016
8.9

This is a lovely hostel. Very busy and bustling a lot of the time but that made it easier to meet new people. Lots of nice spaces to hang out inside and outside. Very clean. Decent breakfast. Location is a bit far out of town but a pleasant walk and close to a nice beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2016
6.6

Nice hostel just a little too far (:20 min) from the centre, beach and supermarket. Generally very friendly staff. The 6 bed dorm was small and with no lockers so you were always stepping on or tripping over gear, and the mosquito's while I was there were insane! I rented a bike for $12USD and could only get two gears to work. Dont like or agree to their policy of providing PIN to secure a room, plus they can still give your room away if you arrive aft 8pm. Would look elsewhere if I'm ever back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Sorry for our location, we are a bit far from center (20 min), but, closer to the best beach in town (La Viuda), buy the way, if we were in front of the sea, we won't have the big yard we got with the fire place, swimming pool, pool table, party saloon, tower and 11 hammocks. All the rooms have a mosquito net, and one locker per bed, we don't understand why you didn't saw it. We have to charge u$s 12 for a bike rental per day cause the sea salt eats everything and the bikes and their pieces are expensive. If you saw that something on the bike wasn't working, why you didn't told us in the moment? And we would changed your bike. When you book online, they allow us to charge your balance from the first night in case you don't come. They send us your card info but not your security code. Cause, in case you don't show up, we receive nothing. I swear that it's very difficult for us to offer you a place with facilities like wifi in and outside, large kitchen, pool, big living room, dinner room, pool table, party salon, free pick up from the bus terminal, good breakfast and more, just for u$s 14 what you paid in a six bed dorm. Maybe you don't know, but our country, it's not the cheapest in taxes, electricity and importation. We like when people speak to us directly, so we can try to solve and problem. Hug

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Feb 2016
9.4

Very good hostel with great facilities. Seba and his team is great, friendly, helpful... Best hostel i stayed in uruguay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2016
9.4

Very helpful staff who take the time to pick you up from the bus terminal and introduce you to the local area. Sebastian was a great help! Lovely clean dorms and bathrooms and great atmosphere. The pool is a lovely area to chill out. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2016
9.4

I really liked this hostel, it is family run and everyone is helpful.Best for groups and couples.Be warned,its a 25 minute walk to the town,which felt like quite far in the heat sometimes.I also struggled to find my way back at first as there are no street names, so head for the big chimney and its about 2 blocks behind.Also, it is a party hostel,everyone moves outside from 1am, so if having dance music playing outside your cabin is an issue,dont go here.It didnt bother me though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.