Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel on 3rd

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.2
Hostel on 3rd Located at 542 3rd Avenue, , San Diego.
Hostel on 3rd
USA
San Diego California CA/92101 542 3rd Avenue
79% 470
32.7109326 -117.1619613
Hostel on 3rd
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
4.9

location was excellent , check in, was long, gentleman in the reception insisted on payment and deposit in cash for the full stay (a lot of rules and warnings). The building itself is old but well taken care of, the kitchen and bathrooms are clean, beds and linens are old but OK. I needed to print out tickets (sunday morning), waited for an hour, finally talked to the cleaning lady (very nice and friendly), she found the receptionist lady who only mumbled "busy?" so we waited, we tried to ge

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
2.3

Arrived at 4:05 PM-5 minutes after check in begins. When I arrived, the person working let me know that I could not yet be checked in because the manager wasn't there, and when he did arrive that I would be 5th in line. (What is your job if you can't check me in?) I checked in at 5:45PM. $5 charge every time your card is swiped. The hostel is loud and feels like a drug house. The curtain on my window fell down when I touched it. Dirty room & bathrooms. Not worth the $.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.0

Funny staff. Awesome location. Good evening program. Overall good value for little money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Aug 2016
9.7

Really close to the waterfront and main downtown tourist attractions, not a bad walk to Balboa park and close to the greyhound. Free wifi and ping pong table

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
5.4

Not only a hostel but also a homeless shelter, our room mate had been living there as his home and had his stuff all over the room and was a complete mess. Not much security stopping guests from bringing other people into the rooms at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. Really good location which is very close to train line, nightlife and places to eat. The staff are very welcoming and always happy to help and every night they run a competition or night out for everyone in the hostel, spent a week here and loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
6.0

This hostel was okay. I've stayed in better for cheaper. The floor felt dirty. Our window didn't have a screen, and our room didn't have A/C. So very stuffy! The staff was not friendly to us and made us feel like we weren't going to get our deposit back even though we followed all of their ridiculous rules. We did get our deposit back, but only after a mean glare from the guy who checked us out. The breakfast is "make your own pancakes" and there was a line... no thanks. Will not com

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.7

Amazing staff and great location. Close enough to public transport links to get to different beaches etc. Friendly staff were happy to help with anything and everything, and you can't go wrong with free breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.9

Hostel on 3rd was a great experience, very friendly & helpful staff. Would def recommend, and would love to stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.4

Amazing location, great lobby to chill in, good breakfast :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.