Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel on 3rd

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • aliceluna
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.9

The hostel is in a great location, Gaslamp is full of bars, clubs and restaurants. The staff is friendly, the building is kind of oldish but areas are clean and beds are comfy. Both metro and trolley station are close. I had a great experience and would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • adamcortez11886
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.1

Best service. Been staying at a lot of places and they have been the sweetest. The place is pretty decent semi clean except for showers. Bring flip flops seriously! The beds are more comfortable than other places I've been at. Thanks so much guys it was a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
8.0

Really enjoyed our stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. Perfect location and great value for money. The windows in our room didn't open and the fan on the ceiling wasn't very good so it was ridiculously hot. Would definitely stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Very nice and understanding staff. Fun and approachable guests, I meet a few new people who I may hangout with during my travels. Although I am not a breakfast person there was a variety of food. The big showers are a plus. I don't like the stairs but such is life.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
9.7

Great overall hostel experience. The only con was the cleanliness in the bathrooms, but this was mostly due to guests being disrespectful. Though it's not the staffs fault, I do need to include this as it was part of the experience. The location and facilities were awesome, and I will definitely come back to stay again during my next trip to San Diego! Special thanks to James for creating a great experience for me. He was dynamite. Thanks guys! Brett Pitts

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
8.9

Owner and all staff extremely helpful and friendly. Excellent pancakes for breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
8.0

Staff is nice, but the number of restrooms is limited. Cleanliness needs to be improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
4.3

I didn't like it, I spent only one night and ew

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
10.0

Very good, excellent location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Most economical choice in Gaslamp area. Highly recommend if you are looking for a decent location with a reasonable price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
6.0

Amazing location and friendly staff but the hostel wasn't very clean at all- persistent smell in all the rooms and although the kitchen is decently equipped there was no sponges or washing up liquid provided which meant nothing was washed properly as no backpacker will bother buying this staples for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.