Hostelworld.com

Hostel on 3rd

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 514 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 514 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stacruz14
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.1

Super location! Staff was friendly! Would go there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Joetrott8040
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Stayed in this hostel for one night. Very well located. The staff were great namely Chris, James, Anna and Nancy. I wanted to do a day trip to Tijuana and I believe it was Chris who gave me every tip possible on how to get there, get around and what to see, incredibly helpful and they also made me feel very welcome as a solo traveler. The atmosphere was great too, met a lot of cool people in the common area. Only critic is that it was quite cold due to lack of heating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Absolutely comfortable recommended place. Central location . Big fully equipped with two big refrigerators Perfect free Wi-Fi Chris Anna Nancy are wonderful helpful kind people Ten miles bayfront promenade and parks Dollar tree and 99 cents store on 25-26 the street Central librry

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Dec 2016
5.7

It's ok hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
8.6

I just loved staying at the hostel. Since the first day my impression was that the hostel staff were very friendly and kind. James was very patient and always willing to answer my questions and make good suggestions. An airline lost my bag and Anna and Chris helped me a lot to solve the problem (they also were so kind). The hostel has a great location, the internet is good and always has happy hour to interact the guests. Cost-benefit ratio is very good, I really recommend staying at the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
4.9

1 word: cockroaches. This place was really dirty, not looked after at all and generally felt like a horrible place to be. Cockroach in the bathroom and some guy was walking around with his dog in the hostel all night. Very strange bunch of people staying there, felt very unwelcoming. Also, the place is incredibly cold with only thin blankets. Worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.9

Overall, you get what you pay for. Positives: 1: Location (in downtown San Diego - Gaslamp district. 2: One of the showers is very nice and hot water stays hot. Negatives: 1: NO HEAT! Bedrooms were freezing this Thanksgiving holiday. Had to use 4 blankets. 2: Guess left their things in bathroom. 3. Guess we're fighting on first night, slamming doors. 4. Older building in mediocre condition. But for the money it will work for some people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
6.6

Beds are super uncomfortable, could feel every spring. Staff not particularly friendly. Check in only after 4 and reception not always open. Overall not worth the money

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location, in downtown San Diego. Restrooms are ok, but not enough for everybody. A real breakfast would be great. Wifi was spotty and pretty slow. Air conditioning at the rooms is a basic need (San Diego is terribly hot, even in autumn).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.