Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel on 3rd

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 494 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
Hostel on 3rd Located at 542 3rd Avenue, , San Diego.
Hostel on 3rd
USA
San Diego California CA/92101 542 3rd Avenue
77% 494
32.7109326 -117.1619613
Hostel on 3rd
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
4.9

1 word: cockroaches. This place was really dirty, not looked after at all and generally felt like a horrible place to be. Cockroach in the bathroom and some guy was walking around with his dog in the hostel all night. Very strange bunch of people staying there, felt very unwelcoming. Also, the place is incredibly cold with only thin blankets. Worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.9

Overall, you get what you pay for. Positives: 1: Location (in downtown San Diego - Gaslamp district. 2: One of the showers is very nice and hot water stays hot. Negatives: 1: NO HEAT! Bedrooms were freezing this Thanksgiving holiday. Had to use 4 blankets. 2: Guess left their things in bathroom. 3. Guess we're fighting on first night, slamming doors. 4. Older building in mediocre condition. But for the money it will work for some people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
6.6

Beds are super uncomfortable, could feel every spring. Staff not particularly friendly. Check in only after 4 and reception not always open. Overall not worth the money

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location, in downtown San Diego. Restrooms are ok, but not enough for everybody. A real breakfast would be great. Wifi was spotty and pretty slow. Air conditioning at the rooms is a basic need (San Diego is terribly hot, even in autumn).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jordan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
7.4

The staff and the service were excellent. however the smell of the place was awful. . I have just been back home and I have taken my stuff from my bag and I found that the smell of the hostel in my clothes. Also the brightness was very week. The atmosphere of the room was very depressing to me. however the social atmosphere in the hostel was amazing. And I think the lining of the bed was clean though I was disgusted from the blanket they gave to me and I preferred the cold nights over the blankt

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Oct 2016
8.9

It's a great location, staff is very helpful with tips on sighseeing. It's very nice that they offer free breakfast and also they have a nice, big lounge with free internet access and TV. Rooms are clean and decent for the value that you pay, but don't expect state of the art furniture. The best part is the people that you meet here which are awesome. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2016
8.0

Good value for money. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Oct 2016
8.0

Nice hostel with potential. Staff a bit weird and treated us like trouble makers straight away. Even tho we were a group of mature people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Sep 2016
10.0

GOOD MEMERY AT THIS HOTEL.THANK YOU .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

second time staying there. excellent for location and price. not a party hostal. a couple of unresolved issues. wifi was poor, and this is san diego. rooms get hot. window fan did very little. check is late, 4pm. found out there are no permanent staff. it's the owner and others that work part time for a bed and breakfast. could explain some of the deficiencies.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.