Hostelworld.com

Hostel on 3rd

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostel on 3rd Located at 542 3rd Avenue, , San Diego.
Hostel on 3rd
USA
San Diego California CA/92101 542 3rd Avenue
84% 378
32.7109326 -117.1619613
Hostel on 3rd
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • disneykristi
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
7.1

Ok, of the old style of hostel. Kind of dark and you have to pull off your sheets when you leave,, rent a towel, etc. Rioom was really hot. Ceiling fan not very effective. Rooms in separate entrance from the shared gathering area. No visitors allowed in rooms. Wasmt terribly quiet before 2am. Staff was nice. Price for a single made it a good value with great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
7.7

The staff is nice and polite, but do bot expect anyone bubbly behind the front desk -they are professional though. The facilities are alright -clean and spacious, although a bit cold for socializing. I stayed there during June and the rooms were incredibly hot... the hostel is definitely fine for sleeping, but if you are looking for a place that's vibrant with social life, this may not be the best alternative.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.3

Great hostel in an awesome part of San Diego! Within walking distance of everything we wanted to visit. Great place to stay if you're going to go to a Padres game! The room I was in only had a fan, so it did get quite hot during the night but everything was perfect otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
7.1

Really good location, close to lots of bars and restaurants. 1 fridge is broken and the other is so full it's pretty much unusable. Occasionally no toilets were free in the mornings. Lots of places to socialise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
8.9

Great location! Close to everything. The staff were really lovely and helpful. The rooms were simple but all you really needed was provided. I'd stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jun 2016
10.0

Absolutely Amazing. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel is located in the Gaslamp area which has lots of bars and shopping facilities nearby. Attractions aren't too far, within walking distance if you're fit and healthy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
7.4

I was in San Diego for work so I couldn't enjoy the party atmosphere, but the staff seemed nice enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gnlee08152756
  • South Korea, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
25th May 2016
8.6

I had a great time in both the hostel and San Diego city :) will I stay again if I go back the city ?? Of course :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
9.1

Rustic shabby sheik amenities just off the beaten track, congenial staff, ideal. The Hostel on 3rd offers the best of hostel-hopping in Southern California. Whether you're looking for a good night's sleep or the most bang for your buck, this is the spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Very good price and location. Enjoyed the included cereal and pancake for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.