Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel on 3rd

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
10.0

Very good, excellent location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Most economical choice in Gaslamp area. Highly recommend if you are looking for a decent location with a reasonable price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
6.0

Amazing location and friendly staff but the hostel wasn't very clean at all- persistent smell in all the rooms and although the kitchen is decently equipped there was no sponges or washing up liquid provided which meant nothing was washed properly as no backpacker will bother buying this staples for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
9.4

Overall this is was a great hostel - the location was fabulous, as well as the price and the facilities. Would recommend and return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
11th May 2017
7.1

Hostel is in a great location, close to cheap restaurants, ATMs, nightlife etc. Rooms were basic and bathrooms were clean. All you can eat pancakes and cereal for breakfast. Our stay was made a little uncomfortable by another guest, who was also making others feel uncomfortable. Some interesting people residing at this hostel, not really a place to meet like-minded travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
7.1

Lovely people but not very clean and no laundry facilities although specified on hostel world. There is a laundromat round the corner. Great location though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
9.7

The hostel is in a convenient location (its close to bus stops and the metro). It's also a block away from the famous gaslamp square area, so there are tons of restaurants, bars, and stores to choose from. The employees, and volunteers, are helpful and are knowledgeable about San Diego. What I did appreciate while there was the small renovations that were going on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
6.6

not much clean, esp the blanket. however, the location is good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Plenty of space in the room, enough bathrooms, large comfortable common area and very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • helenbrodie
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Mar 2017
6.9

Generally the staff were quite nice, but one morning while we were in the common area, the manager/owner of the hostel was having individual staff meetings and we could hear every detail of what they were talking about, including issues they had with other members of staff and guests. It made us feel quite uncomfortable, especially when they were stereotyping nationalities. The atmosphere in general was quite strange, internet slow, and a bright light left on outside our room most nights...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

I have one word FANTASTIC! Its difficult to find trustworthy people these days but that is exactly what you will find with the staff at the Hostel on 3rd. I lost my ipad and was able to remotely locate it via icloud from Canada. 1 ph call and activation of the locator sound resulted in discovery of my ipad and an extremely helpfull and fast arrangement to have it shipped back to me! Thank you (once again) Chris, you and the team @ Hostel on 3rd are Honest Hardworking and Trustworthy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.