X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel the Globe Center Reviews

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1793 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great Location! Part of the staff was quite friendly others a Kind of unfriendly. One staff member was smoking the lobby- that sucks! Rooms and bathroom were cleaned regularly and therefore quite clean.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Very expensive for a hostel (40 euro a night!), no breakfast included and to top it off, my friends and I got bed bugs! Horrible.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The location is good for those that really want to be at the red light district and it is very close to the central station. However, the price is really expensive for the quality of the rooms. I stayed in a double room with bathroom inside, but there was not even a rug in the floor to use after shower. There is no internet in the rooms. The wi-fi is only available at the bar/lobby but is a very noisy place, for instance, to have a skype call. There is no breakfast.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Good location, at the edge of the Red Light District. Security solution was quite reassuring. Staff was below average, bordering on rude. I could not even draw a smile from them after I helped them out with a guest who did not speak English. Overall an ok place to stay if you are not spending much of your time inside.


97%

Stayed here for 3 nights and have nothing to complain about, the staff were nice and friendly and helpful, atmosphere was nice and calm, my room and the bathroom was nice and clean, with lockers to put my belongings in, and the location is terrific. overall I had a great stay here and would highly recommend this hostel to anyone.


83%

I thought it was a little pricey at first but the location was amazing. There were 14 of us split across two rooms and the pool tables, cheap beer and friendly staff made it the kind of place I would recommend for any stag party.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean room with great view. Powerful shower. Central to everything location wise, cafe literally opposite hostel. Nice friendly staff and relatively cheap beer. Plenty of TV screens to watch downstairs in bar and smoking room, and lovely little outside drinking area on the canal. 10/10, would definetley recommend and stay there again.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Photos on the website do not correspond to reality. The only good thing about this place is its position, 4 minutes walking from the central station, but much too expensive for the rooms they offer (our 5 people room was 20 sqm with 1 little window facing a really big concrete wall, and cost 50€ each per night). In the end, I wouldn't recommend it unless you really do not have another choice.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Super centrally located. Couldn't be any closer to the red light district. It was a sports bar downstairs which had the typical sports bar feel. If you enjoy that, then great. Rooms were decent. Bathroom in our room hadn't been renovated but the one across the hall had. Staff were friendly enough. It was fairly expensive but I suppose it was the weekend and its location. Had a smoking room in the back.


37%

This Hostel is a mess! the staff ist not friendly. THe internet is horrible and when i asked what was going on with it they were so unfriendly and said that could do nothing. the shower and the bathroom were horrible, when you took a shower the whole bathroom got soaked! Defenitly I would not recomend because of the staff , the bathroom facilities and the price that is expensive.


74%

It is a good hostel to spend some days in the city. The sports bar is the best. The food was great. You have also a smoking area with SPACE for you and your friends (not like most of the coffee-shops). They give you a card that you have to show every time you want to enter the hostel. It's for security but it gets annoying after the third time... The W.C were super-clean and so did the room. There is not a luggage room. You can leave it there for some hours at your own risk though.


80%

The hostel is in a great location just minutes from the central station, the Nieuwmarkt (where they make a market for fruit, vegetables and much more) and many local and Coffeeshops. In the evening you can wander in the red light district, where you will find other venues and many onlookers who turn to visit the place or move into the nearby Leidseplein and Rembrandtplein centers of nightlife. Amsterdam can offer you many possibilities, entertainment, museums, exhibitions, street art and music.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

If you need cheap accom in Amsterdam, this is the best place to stay; its very safe, just no kitchen


57%

The most redeeming aspect of this place was it's location but even still, I wouldn't stay there again. The staff isn't that friendly and the place is a mess! It's a dark and dingy grimy place. I stayed in an 8 bedroom dorm that was over crammed and not layed out well. My bunk was in the corner next to another one and on some instances the neighboring bunk persons feet extended into my bed. The rooms themselves weren't very clean and there was a shortage of bathrooms. I would not recommend.


94%

We had a really nice stay in the hostel, it's really clean and in a perfect location, also it's really nice the bar and the smoking room downstairs.


89%

Perfectly well located!! Close to every turistic spot in the city!!


69%

I stayed in the WORST room... It was ensuite but I booked a six person room, instead there were 2 bunk beds and an extra bed crammed into a tiny room. The person in the single bed kept kicking me all night because his feet were literally in my bed. I used to love this hostel but all the staff look miserable, and the rooms have turned really gross.


77%

Hostel and Sports pub. That also serve some food, with a smoking area. Can't drink or eat own food. Only in the dorm rooms. good location. Pool table. Perfect if you like sports and drinking at a hostel. Not perfect if you like WiFi in your room I have stayed here a Few times descent food and standard beer price.


89%

No problem here. This is a solid place to stay in AMS and close to train station and all the fun. Towels were on the house!

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Rude and unhelpful staff. Room wasn't cleaned the whole time I was there. Bathroom didn't have a shower curtain or anything to help keep the water from spreading all over. Water stains on the walls. The whole thing just seemed moldy and the carpets didn't look like they had been cleaned since ever. But the worse was still the staff.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback