Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel the Globe Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 2,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 2,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4
Hostel the Globe Center Located at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, , Amsterdam.
Hostel the Globe Center
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012EH Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3
72% 2438
52.3752061 4.9000954
Hostel the Globe Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
7.4

Our room was very hot and if we opened the window, it was very loud. The bathrooms were nice. We needed more outlets though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
8.3

We had some problems with the shower and the room was a bit hot, but nevertheless the place is not bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurennsmiith
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
5.7

Excellent location but other than that there isn't anything great about this hostel. Old and run down and in my opinion too expensive for what it's worth. Little to no security, overflowing showers, no fans/AC. Also the bar downstairs was empty most of the time and I found it difficult to meet people with the lack of common area. Would not stay here again but if you're really stuck and need somewhere quick it's okay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
6.0

The hostel seems very old, no Wi-Fi in the rooms, the showers are a bit disappointment, with rotten doors, and the bunk beds have no ladder or side rails

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
8.6

I thought this was an excellent hostel. The price, location and atmosphere were all just right. Yeah, you're in the red light district but Amsterdam in general is a super safe city. Never once did I feel like I was in any danger around the hostel. If you prefer a quieter getaway, you probably won't hang out in the bar that's downstairs. Wifi does suck, and only extends to the bar area and not to the dorms. Other than that, super friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
6.6

Great location! No kitchen/common area

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Aug 2016
7.7

The hostel was quite central, & particularly helpful when needing to get to the train station promptly (10 mins walk). The staff were friendly but not particularly helpful. The room had no windows which none of my companions enjoyed, we missed windows! The people we shared a room with came in while we were asleep in the early hours of the morning & were quite loud & inconsiderate. This is understanding to a point as Amsterdam is more a night city & doesn't wake up till 10am.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
10.0

Brilliant hostel, stayed in the 4 room private bathroom, bathroom was brilliant, bar service and entry all day every day, 20% off food if you're staying there. Smoke room opens late Friday's and Saturdays with pool and sports on the TVs every day. So so close to everything you will need too!! Few hours of happy hour also!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
5.1

Beds were super squeaky, if anyone moved, everyone woke up. Employees were rude and unhelpful when they mixed up our reservation. There was no wifi in the rooms. We also stayed at other hostels in Amsterdam that week and found that this one was the most expensive for the lowest quality.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, You guys forgot to mention that you came 3 days before the check in date and we helped you to find other place to stay as we were fully booked and it was one of busy times of the month. we could have let you find of your own as you didnt book with us for those days but we helped you instead . YOu have paid euro 401.28 for 2people 6 night in 10 person dorm including the weekend, that is average price of amsterdam hostels. we were rude to help you guys find a place to stay when you dont have booking. when you send mail to change your booking you need to confirm it whithin the period of time mention in mail. NO hotel/ hostel will chnage your booking if you dont confirm the changes.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.7

Was right at the edge of the red light district and only a short walk from central station which is handy as!.. It is located on top of a pub though which wasn't really for me, wifi only worked down in the pub area which was a bit annoying.. The rooms weren't too bad for the price.. Would stay there again but mainly because of the location!.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.