X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel the Globe Center Reviews

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
2182 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The way to think about this is a hostel / hotel hybrid. Not your 'traditional' hostel but that's no bad thing! Bar downstairs which was relatively well priced, then a smoking room with pool table in it. The rooms were nice enough and the toilets/bathrooms looked like they've just been done so they were really good. The location of this is absolutely spot on, perfectly situated within Amsterdam. Thought that value for money was quite good for this hote too. Would book this place again.


89%

Excellent, maybe have a clean up in the smoking area more often.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, centre of the red light district so close to tourist sites! Very close to Centraal Station. Good bar with great selection of drinks, and the food was nice too. Low bunks on the beds so I banged my head a few times. Better than it looks, lockers are outside the rooms.


100%

Very clean and secure, great location and lovely staff :) Great value for money and wild definitely reccomend anyone to stay here

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Hostel is probably what you expect for the value of your money. Right in red light district. Above a pub. Not very friendly staff. Our room was nothing like the pictures.. White walls, no windows to look out, low ceilings, beds very close to each other. Very basic. Bathrooms were pretty clean but there's no where to put clean clothes except hang over the door which tend to get wet. Its a great place if youre just looking for a place to sleep.


91%

Great location for a great price. The bar and smokeroom on the first floor is really nice. I stayed there with friends and we enjoyed it immensely. The staff was helpful and our stay was great. I will say that if you are looking to meet new people, this might not be the place for you.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel is located in the red light district which allowed us to walk to all attractions in Amsterdam. On arrival the staff were unfriendly and unaccommodating. Additional fees were added for a room key and locker. There is no common room - only a bar downstairs. Wifi was not accessible from our room on level 3 so we had to sit in the bar to use the internet. Our friend was frequently approached in the bar/common room from seedy dealers who threatened him for money in order to be left alone.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Should be pre-warned that this is not a hostel but rather a basic hotel on top of an old pub. No kitchen or quiet social areas available to guests.


54%

Great location. Pub downstairs is okay, not much atmosphere. Staff are very rude and unhelpful. More of a pub with rooms above, rather then a hostel.


77%

Great location, lively staff, average food. Got stolen 70 Euros which sucked. Other than that a rather enjoyable experience. Would come back.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice, thank you !

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

There was a group of 8 of us, we really enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hostel. The location is perfect and the room was clean. We had no issues whatsoever. I really liked the bar downstairs & The staff were friendly too :)

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Staff unfriendly, dirty bar but great location


57%

Hassle showing your entry card every time you go upstairs. Old facilities, not dirty, but not clean either.. no ladder to the upper bed makes it tricky to climb up


77%

Fantastic location!! I wasn't however too impressed with the fact that there was no toilet roll in any of the toilets on our floor and the toilets were quite dirty. There were only 2 plug sockets in a room for 8 people and the light was broken. The bar downstairs was ok but quite quiet - okay value for money but nothing special.


57%

if you are looking for a place to sleep, and nothing else, and don't mind broken lights and the atmosphere of a mediocre kept youth-center, this is your place. If I'd be looking for a place to stay for a party weekend in amsterdam again, and would be on a budget, i'd check it out again (and probably book) for sure.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Decent, clean room for what you pay. Best part is the location, walking distance to a lot of places. No problems while staying there.


86%

Good for a group of men

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location!!!


77%

Very good location, central to everything. Hostel was clean and staff decent. Good value for money

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback