Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel the Globe Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 2,535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 2,535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2
Hostel the Globe Center Located at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, , Amsterdam.
Hostel the Globe Center
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012EH Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3
72% 2535
52.3752061 4.9000954
Hostel the Globe Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
4.0

This hostel is really only a place to sleep, and not even that. The staff was incredibly rude and tired seeming, and not very helpful. We weren't able to check in early and had to leave our bags in a public space that the staff assured us they were not responsible. The rooms had literally one outlet for 8 people and no wifi. They gave free towels, which was a surprise, but the bathrooms were dirty with graffiti, like a public toilet. I wouldn't stay here again, even with the relatively cheap pri

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.6

It's a bit overpriced but you're paying mostly for the location. The facilities are average, but security is good. I didn't feel unsafe at all and my belongings were secure. Bathrooms were mostly clean. Wifi is bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.0

It will be perfect if they can provide a kitchen area for drinking services

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
8.0

There is absolutely no where to truly relax once you come back to the hostel. The bar downstairs is a bit sketchy. I had an uncomfortable interaction with an individual at the bar, but because the hostel staff knew him as a regular, they told me not to worry and they didn't intervene. There were no outlets in the room. I had to charge my phone in the barroom every night. The wifi also would not work while in bed. The biggest pro is the location and the hot showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.7

Great location, has a great bar and smoking room and the rooms and beds are amazing for the price. Would totally reccomend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
8.6

Great Hostel! My only complaint is how loud it can get right outside of the hostel. It is in the middle of the red light district, so I had a hard time sleeping Saturday night of course. All other nights were pretty quiet. Cool bar right downstairs. Overall a relaxed kind of place. Very close to Amsterdam Centraal and all the other main attractions. Staff were nice but not overly helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
4.9

5% commission on credit/payment cards! Run-down (room) facilities... No plugs, no individual lights - no place where to put your belongings (watch, i-phone, etc) when on the upper bed. No double-glazing. Cold coming from windows... Cherry on the top of the cake : You will ALWAYS be on crowded room, regardless of high or low season... Why?! Mid-week/low-season, fewer costumers - they put them on the same floor, pack every room - to avoid cleaning/maintenance costs. Crowded/noisy rooms ALWAYS!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
7.1

WiFi access is poor in rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
6.6

Hostel Bar and Downstairs = GREAT Check in - great Room = TERRIBLE - 5 beds crammed into a dark room with a tiny window looking at a wall, which looked down at a pile of rubbish. I have stayed before and had a nicer room. Was absolutely gutted with the room. Was very disapointed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Nov 2016
4.0

Terrible experience, please do not stay in this hostel for your own safety. Woke up in the middle of the night to a thief in our room cutting locks and stealing bags. The staff was not understanding and did nothing about the situation. No Wifi in the rooms, only on ground floor which is a dirty pub and wifi didnt work most of the time. Bedding was dirty and bathrooms were not the cleanest. Very loud hostel and guests were not young. I felt very uncomfortable in this hostel and had to leave early

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.