Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel the Globe Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 2,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 2,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.2
Hostel the Globe Center Located at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, , Amsterdam.
Hostel the Globe Center
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012EH Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3
71% 2479
52.3752061 4.9000954
Hostel the Globe Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
2.0

WARNING - DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! When I checked in at a different time from my group, the hotel clerk did not allow me to enter the hostel claiming that the room had already been taken, this despite me showing my ID which was used to book the room. Even after calling my friends down, he insisted that there was no more space in the room and I could not enter. Only after threatening the police did he allow me to go into the room which I had paid for.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.9

Great staff great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
5.1

I have been in many hostels before, but this was the worst. It is not a hostel at all: no common room, no kitchen, no social community. The staff is rather unmotivated than unfriendly, what many people were complaining about. You only can enter the rooms when you show them a strange papercard. When you loose or forget it you can not enter the room (although it is 3 am). The bathrooms are scrawled over and we could not open the window in our room. The rooftop was good, though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
7.1

The hostel is cheap, and it's cheap for a reason. But it's nice; it's perfect for groups of friends that come to the city just to party. The location is really good and the staff is nice. Only the internet is bad in the rooms, and some of the electricity sockets don't work... So yea, come if you came to party, but if you wanna get any work done, pick some other place :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
4.3

Although the hotel is close to the central station, there is noise and close to the red light. Always have ship passed by, or other noise. The environment is very unexpected with dirty toilet and old facilities. Staying here must be my terrible experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
6.9

Great location, minimal atmosphere so not great for solo backpackers. Also wi-fi generally only worked in the corridors and in the main foyer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
6.9

This is a sports bar with rooms over top. Doesn't have a real hostel atmosphere. Sheets and bathrooms were clean, but very hot at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
5.1

The location is great, but the sr. in the front desk during the night is really rude and not polite at all

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.0

Grand spot, location fairly ideal no major complaints. But warm in the room but that was more to do with the weather more than anything!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
9.1

This hostel was a pleasant surprise. The location is unbeatable! 10 minute walk to the train station and right on the edge of the Red Light District, very central. The room was about 400 degrees at all times, that's my main complaint. Otherwise, the bar was convenient and opened up right onto a canal which was cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.