X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HostelPoint Brighton Reviews

10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
583 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Loved the place. Best atmosphere, everyone welcomed me within minutes of arriving and took us out on my first night


46%

Moldy and disgusting (especially the bathroom where the entire inner roof was covered in black mold), windows didn't close and were so dirty you couldn't see out, lift didn't work, beds were sqeaky and unstable, didn't accept card payment, and people who didn't seem to stay there hung around anyway. This place works for a night, maybe two, definitley not longer than that. Great location though.

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly and helpful staff at check in. Clean comfortable room, with hot water and central heating. Good mixed crowd of people staying at the hostel with a big common room area so you can sit and read by yourself or meet other people if you want. Good breakfast for the price you are paying. Definitely recommend this place to friends for a good value place to stay in Brighton.


71%

the kitchen nearly has no plates, cups or cutlery great location


100%

Good view of the sea from my room. Friendly staff. Good location.


77%

The hostel could use some renovation here and there, and the walls between the room are really thin (I could here the neighbor room talk all night which was annoying). But other than that it was a good stay, the breakfast was ok and the staff very friendly. Thumbs up for the location of the hostel, couldn't be any closer to the peer!

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed in a private room with ensuite and was perfect for what we wanted. Simple and clean facilities, and amazing location. One drawback, is being next to the seaside, the wind can be pretty strong in winter and can be quite loud against the windows at night.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Were very pleased. Pleasant staff.not noisy at all.not stayed in a hostel before. We're six with four children it suited us just fine . excellent location. If I was to fault I would say more cutlery needed .but that's all. Well done! We came from Greece and it was certainly warm enough in the hostel.staff very accommodating

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

Simply stated, this hostel was gross. We are not picky backpackers; we just want a clean place to sleep. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but cancelled our second night after we found mould and a used condom stuffed in the shower. I wouldn't stay here again even in a haz-mat suit.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed at a nice room on the 4th floor (thanks for keeping us fit, hahaha!). We enjoyed our stay there, especially my daughter. We'll definetely come back again.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

We arrived on Saturday and our original room had a light that did not work and because it was the top floor it was freezing! However, we spoke with the lady on the front desk who rang for the manager and said he was on his was back from London and fixed it, we were all well and good with this until it began to get dark and we could not see anything so some friends asked to move rooms. The new room was a bit of an upgrade in the terms of warmth! They staff were good at accommodating this for us.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel appeared to be populated by live ins. Who did as the pleased. Couldn't find anything in the kitchen that was clean, not even a glass for water


94%

The reception staff were lovely and check in was easy. Couldn't ask for a better location, right on the seafront and next to all the shops! I was only there for an overnight stay but had a good sleep minus the noise and someone trying to get into the room but nothing I didn't expect to happen at a hostel, especially in Brighton were there's so many groups on stags and hens!

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The lift was broken, slightly annoying... some areas were a bit of a maze. Some arrows telling you which ways the rooms are might help.

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The pillows weren't clean, other than that it was good. Good value for money.

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cameroon
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location! staff are very friendly really good place to stay for night out in Brighton!

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Hostelpoint is probably the only hostel to stay at in Brighton because it sucks the least. However, it wasn't clean and we had endless issues with people taking our food even though it was in clearly labelled bags. There wasn't cutlery or plates (not kidding, at one point we had to wash out two empty plastic cups we found in a random cupboard which apparently "belonged to someone"). The location is awesome. Wifi is beyond terrible. Lots of long termers so it's very clique-y. But it's seafront.


54%

Security not sure what they mean by that but compared to KIPPS hostel they have a pin code u must enter to get in or be buzzed in! The staff seemed distracted uninterested and so many people just sitting around on phone behind the desk. Just wasn't very tentative. Rooms are bleak an dismal just doesn't feel very warm or welcoming at all.


40%

This place is awful and grim. It's messy and falling apart, with really dingy stairwells and passages. Avoid if you can.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly hostel, great location right next to the coach station and the seaside, a short walk from the train station, right next to the Brighton pier. Our room had a lovely view on the sea. I didn't really stay much (literally 3 hours) but I had a good experience. Maybe the general cleaning in the common areas could be better, but the bed was comfortable and clean, so no complains. Free breakfast and free wi-fi (don't know how it was working as I didn't use it)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hopefully next time your stay will last longer than 3 hours!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback