X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HostelPoint Brighton Reviews

10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

For a budget hostel, this place did the job. When we arrived (around 5:30pm) there were builders in our bathroom so this couldn't be used. The toilet was in an awful state, filthy with a loose toilet seat and no toilet paper, and the shower leaked all over the floor. Apart from the bathroom issues the room was fine, the staff were helpful and the location was great. Security seemed to be quite good as well. If you want a bed for the night and not a lot else for a cheap price then this is fine.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly staff, a bit chaotic, lots of work going on to the downstairs bar which should be great when finished. Beds were clean and comfortable enough. It is a noisy location right on the seafront opposite the pier so if you are a light sleeper you might want to check first where your room is. We had a nice room of the pier and our own en suite bathroom for £14 pppn though so I wasn't complaining. Our friends private room on 4th floor had stunning views too. Great value to explore Brighton.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The tinted glass on the bathroom door was transparent enough for us to be concerned about prying eyes. The rooms had cages for bags which was great. The location was perfect. The place was a bit run down but who can complain for the price!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Brilliant location! Great people staying in the hostel! Very relaxed and had a great time


86%

We spend a few days in lovely Brighton to vistit friends and have some fun, and HostelPoint Brighton definitley was a good choice! Our 8-bed room had a good size and an amazing view over the seafront and Brighton Pier. The kitchen could have been better-equiped and cleaner, but it was alright for easy dishes. All in all I can highly recommend this hostel for everyone staying in Brighton.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

When we arrived we had hair all over our floor and no pillow cases, so cleaning wasn't done consistently. We never found wifi directly connected to the hostel, and weren't disclosed its information if it existed. The lift was also broken for the duration of our stay, which was irritating when we were hauling luggage up and down narrow stairs. Amazing location, and not a bad hostel overall, just disorganised.


77%

Great location - even had a view of the pier! Rooms are big and included a good shower. Staff nice. Good value for money. It being given a facelift at the moment and the whole of the downstairs is a bit of a mess. The downstairs loo was out of order too, so wouldn't let me go to the toilet before check in - which after a long train journey wasn't ideal....


83%

Exactly what we wanted. Just stayed there one night in the 8 bed dorm but for 20 quid it was good value for money.


54%

I booked a dorm for 4 person but was pushed into a 6 person dorm. The room was not clean and messy. No pillow covers were provided for the first night and i had to ask twice to get it for next day. The wash room was not clean. I was lucky to be there for a conference and spent most part of my day outside.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The location is perfect. You can see the oacen just sitting in the living room. Well, there is a club near the hostel. It's kind of noisy in the night even with the ear plugs. Everything else is fine.


60%

Over booked the room got back to hostel and my bag had been removed from bed and someone else sleeping in bed.


60%

no duvet, no rubbish bin, no light up upon arrival; duvet and light problem fixed even tho the duvet was used inside out. lift and internet down. not the best place to stay at but i guess it's the trade-off for the comparatively okay price

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel is pretty basic but for £9-10 it's definitely good value. They don't seem to have organisation of rooms running smoothly yet. On both nights I stayed there, people arrived to check-in in the middle of the nights, doors banging (no soft closer things on doors), beds taken, confusion with which beds were free. Generally pretty nice, unpretentious staff, relaxed atmosphere. I would stay here again, but I'd try to get in early to request a room where nobody would be arriving at 3am.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - with a 24/7 check-in facility and no curfew guests are able to enter and exit the rooms at anytime, this may cause disruption to guests and so soft door closers would be ideal and we will be looking to implement this very soon.

77%

This is worth more than the 77% my scores end up on. It's cheap but has a lot of potential. Great location, lots of work going on downstairs that will make a huge difference to the quality of the place once done. Upstairs will always be a bit run-down but for what you pay it's fine. Will gladly stay again next time - Brighton was a top top city.


46%

Asked the reception if I was the only woman at the 6 bed room and he said there was another girl. Well it didn't and I was waken up by a guys masturbation sound 5am. The bathroom was really dirt. There was no towels and the breakfast is appalling. Honestly it's the type of hostel for homeless! Left a ring behind and of course it wasn't found! Run away from this place. Disgusting!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The only issue I had was that we couldn't rent towels from the hostel. Other than that, everything is great!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The pull-out lockers under the beds is a good idea. Make sure all the dorm windows can be opened to provide fresh air.


83%

This hostel is a great place to stay if you are on a budget. Four of us managed to get a 4 bed en-suite dorm for the night and wasn't quite sure what to expect. But we were all pleasantly surprised, it was clean, secure and in a great location opposite the pier. We had a great time, and was able to spend more on our entertainment as we practically saved £60 each by staying in the hostel rather than a standard quality hotel. We would definitely use this hostel again.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Our room(twin room) was next to a club so it was loud at the weekend. And loads of pigeons living by the window which were also very loud. Fan in bathroom was broken. Location good.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The location was good, right out the front of the pier and the common area was big. Th ere wasnt any real kitchen to use, no parking, the toilet was leaking in our room and the shower blocked however i think the hostel may be under renovation.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback