X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HostelPoint Brighton Reviews

10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
149 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

the room evry small and very daty and wifi 特别脏 房间小 服务态度差 没有无线网


80%

The hostel provides very good value for money. It's at a perfect location, right on the sea front, the staff is very nice and helpful, and our room was very clean. The elevator was not working and neither was the wifi for the first night of our stay, but that was not an issue for us since there is plenty to do in Brighton other than sitting in your room on the internet. I enthusiastically recommend this hostel for anyone wanting a clean, simple place to stay at in the center of Brighton.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

it's quite a walk from the train station but right across from the pier and right in the main area so that is a plus. rooms have private bathrooms and also lockers but the common area is lacking a little. its not a very homey feeling. not even sure if there is a kitchen


86%

Cool hostel , nothing else to say.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Just what I needed, a clean bed and shower, a breakfast and an underbed locker for my bike leathers and other bits. Perfect and almost free at £12 :) Happy days. Look forward to going back again soon.


66%

The staff were friendly; the accommodation was bare-bones but that's reflected in the cheap price I suppose (although breakfast being laid out in the morning was nice). I had a window that I couldn't shut (though not too loud outside thankfully) and there weren't many plug points around the room. Wi-Fi signal was pretty bad to be honest and the rooms didn't have lockers. I asked at the reception and they said some rooms do and some rooms don't which is a rather stupid thing to me but hey-ho.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff was impeccable. BUT 1 - the shower was problematic, 2 - there is no lift and we were on the third floor... 3 - the entrance door which requires a code had NO LIGHT so we could NOT see the numbers to type in (not acceptable!!! I had to use the light of my mobile to barely see the numbers) 4 - nobody ever came to clean or change the towels although the site said it had cleaning 5 - the sink tap would never stop running water 6 - the kettle had no prop wall socket (room 33) . Tks Helga

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Should have advise to bring padlock for csges under bed for personal belongings. Overall very good stay, a hot breakfast would have made it better.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay - regarding the lockers we do sell padlocks in case guests forget there own - these are available at the reception.

83%

Had a private room, really lovely size with beautiful views of the seaside. Was pretty good value considering it had an ensuite and was generally clean, would stay there again and saved the extortionate amount it would have been to stay in a hotel. The breakfast was just toast and jam, so good for budget travellers, but otherwise not worth bothering with.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing to stay with, it's great to know you that our guests also believe we are providing excellent value accommodation.

66%

No towels. Had to ask twice for toilet roll. Lift not working. Staff rude. Breakfast below average. No attempt whatsoever to be anything other than bog standard and basic. For the money (even though it was peak season) they don't give you much other than a roof and a bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately towels are not included in the dorm room rate and are currently only included for private rooms. We will however be introducing towels which can be bought from the reception in case anybody has forgotten to bring their own.

100%

We booked for 1 night at first but decided to extend our stay because we had such a pleasant stay! Very clean, comfortable and the views are amazing. Manager Tony did a great job on making sure we were well looked after - well done to the whole team.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is convieniently located at the main Pier, so you are close to everything (which also means beging in the middle of the night life, whether you want that or not). The rooms look very nice, but could be a little cleaner in some spots. The lobby downstairs was very dirty, and the staff was good. We only stayed for two nights, so I can't say a lot more other than that the hostel worked for our purposes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response, we are currently undergoing refurbishment works to the reception area which will include and new reception, common area and an updated guest kitchen.

51%

The room was not very clean and even miss a trash bin! Sometimes there was no hot water in ththe shower and the beds were really noisy... There was also a problem with the room as we booked for a twin and get a bunk and this was really upsetting!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We offer two types of twin rooms for our guests - a standard twin (which consists of 2 x single bed) and also a Twin Bunk (which consists of 1 x bunk bed for two guests).

94%

My first hostel experience - and it was amazing! The staff was helpful and the guests were friendly. Excellent location, close to the supermarket, the coach station and all the bars/clubs; the pier/beach is across the road. Highly recommended :)

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear you enjoyed your first hostel experience. Yes, our location is very central and close to everything.

100%

Great stay, really friendly staff and very clean despite the ongoing works. Perfect location - right next to the pier. The guests staying here are very friendly. Can't wait to return once the refurbishment is finished!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - See you soon!

100%

The best place to stay in Brighton! Very good location and everything was better than we expected!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location beside famous Brighton Pier and also a good sized building all of which is begging to be scrubbed, painted and ran by good hostel managers. St Christopher's need to get their best managers down to brighton for six months to whip this place into shape. Staff, rooms are all fine but really missing the finesse to be a great hostel. If you are looking for a budget hostel then this place is central, safe and reasonably clean but nothing else....yet

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - the new team at Hostelpoint Brighton will be undergoing refurbishment works to the hostel during the autumn period when the hostel will be less busy - this will allow is to undergo the works with as little disruption as possible - as you can imagine it would prove be nightmare for guests if we underwent the refurbishment during the summer months.

77%

I had a great stay at HostelPoint Brighton! Location was perfect, right next to the pier. Appearance and cleanliness of the hostel wasn't the greatest, but acceptable. The bathroom needed some repairs, but was in working order. Rooms had adequate space. Lockers had plenty of space, but not a fan of the caged lockers (quite easy for someone to stick their hands in and grab something). Although I never had an issue with that while there. Breakfast was good and hostel had an amazing atmosphere!!


100%

Very pleasant stay. Great value for standard room (free continental breakfast) place is having a refurb after summer so can forgive a few building materials laying around. Excellent staff and manager Tony goes the extra mile to help you. Good location next to the pier. Will definitely return here

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

80%

Excellent price and great location. Bathroom was not particularly clean and there were no toilets other than the one in the room which was for 8 people to use. Bed was very comfy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to know you believe our accommodation is great value for money. All our rooms are en-suite which means the bathroom is never too far away :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback