X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HostelPoint Brighton Reviews

10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
264 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent hostel, best location in Brighton, comfortable rooms with crisp linen and extremely friendly staff. Can't recommend highly enough


49%

The location of the hostel is very good, but the recepcionists are rude and unhelpful (except the australian girl), the hostel hansn't got a bathroom in the main floor (they have 1, for the staff only) so we had to go upstairs to our room, at the third floor every time. The key of the room almost never worked, so we had to go downstair to reception to charge the key, and go back again to the room, every time. And the internet connection doesn't work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The current key card system can be a little bit difficult at times but we are happy to say we have a BRAND NEW system being installed which should be running by February!!!

94%

There is high value for money and with the ongoing renovation, I strongly believe the hostel will soon be at the peak of its excellent services as soon as that ends. Observation Please ensure the bathrooms are kept to a very high standard. it is not as if they are bad but needs a bit of extra services on the cleanliness and some of the facilities require replacements. Also endeavor to fix wall socket for all bed spaces for customers' convenience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - we are constantly trying to update and improve our services!

77%

It was ok Had to go back to room every time I needed to use the toilet staff and everyone were very friendly Regards Eileen

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

we really enjoyed our stay here, there were a few little things that could have been better, we had no towels in our room so had to chase reception for them, the duvets were not very thick, and there was no soap in the soap dispenser in the shower. however, the staff were friendly, the room was fine, for what we needed it for it was perfectly fine. you get what you pay for!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm glad you thought your stay was good value for money! - regarding the minor setbacks we will speak to housekeeping to ensure we don't have a repeat. Thanks for the feedback!

83%

Great sea view from the room! Spacious and clean room. Good value for money!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

97%

Love coming back here. Easy place to go back too after a night out! Will be coming back!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you again soooooooon!

74%

the room itself was great, however the place lacks a social atmosphere. it would be nice to have hostel based activities... i.e. tours that are organised to leave from the hostel each day, pub crawls etc etc. power points in the double private rooms are in the worst possible places, and that's after having been in two separate rooms as the heating did not work in our first one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The refurbishment as meant that we have had to delay the introduction of a lot of activities. We have introduced movie nights and PlayStation; and will be looking into other activities such as pub crawls very soon. Thanks for the feedback!

54%

It's been a very good hostel when it was the St.Christopher's inn. Since they renovated it and the owner changed, its a bit of a doss house...weird people staying there. Kettle in the room but no mugs, no bin in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sure you have noticed the much lower prices, up to 50% off! We are still in the process of a refurbishment which should be finished before the summer.

74%

it's fine, nothing special, but fit for purpose - we just wanted someone to sleep. That said, if it were busier, I suppose it could well be quite noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to know you were content with your stay, however if we can do anything to improve in any way please let us know! - hope to see you again soon.

66%

Hostel on very nice place, but services are not good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you can contact us directly with feedback regarding services it would be great. We are constantly trying our best to improve all types of services (facilities, staff etc) - thanks for the overall positive rating!

94%

Definetely the best value for my money. The staff is nice and serviceable, the kitchen is big and spacious. Some people might not clean after themselves and you might have to wash up if you need some pans. Doesn't have laundry machines. Rooms are ensuite; cozy and warm, the beds are reaaaally comfortable with big pillows. Toilets and floor could do with a little bit more cleaning, but it's acceptable. Huge living room with flatscreens and view to the sea. Friendly atmosphere.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
˜”*°•.˜”*°• Thank You •°*”˜.•°*”˜ - We always try to ensure that as well as low rates we also offer a good service! The corridors are in the process of getting a facelift and you should notice a big difference next time you visit!

91%

It was a lovely experience+ it gets better by the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - we are always trying to make improvements wherever possible! - Hope to see you again soon!

86%

For the money I payed it was great!! Literally right on the sea front which was amazing for getting home. Plus the guys on the desk were lovely. Really good :) would stay back there

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Can't wait to welcome you back with an even better service! :)

57%

Although the staff were friendly enough and helpful, the place was horrendously dirty. There was a dirty sock placed over the smoke alarm in our room. There would have been a nice view of the pier.. if the windows weren't filthy (we couldn't see out of them... at all) and the bathroom had barely been touched at all. The floor was dirty (socks were filthy from walking around) and there was dust and grime around the bathroom. We expected really basic, not really filthy. Good central location.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I liked Hostelpoint Brighton, it was in very good location! The Bus station was just right next to it, not long walking to railway station either. It was also straight infront of the beautiful seaside. :) Room was clean and it had it's own toilet&shower, which also were clean. 24 hour reception is good side and free breakfast was nice :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
˜”*°•.˜”*°• F A N T A S T I C •°*”˜.•°*”˜

77%

Good location for the price but the lobby need to be refresh. And the security keys has some trouble

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the works that were going on during your stay, but once they are complete the lobby will look refreshed again :)

63%

I heard it was under refurbishment and I hope it is true cos it really needs some! The stairs, the windows cos it is really noisy, the radiators, the floors, the beddings, the kitchen area, the wifi...

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes it is trueeee :) we are undergoing some works which will be finished very soon hopefully. Don't forget to book in again to see the improvements!

100%

My first stay in a hostel and it was perfect. The staff was very welcoming and the people staying here were great fun! Also the new kitchen is an added bonus. Can't wait to return once the refurbishment works are complete.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you again soon! I'm sure your next day will be even better!

54%

The staff is working as they do not relly care. I mean, that everyone is polite, but not very warm. The hostel looks like a buidling site

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are always doing everything we possibly can to make your stay hassle free and as comfortable as possible. That's why we have just installed a ⋰B⋰R⋰A⋰N⋰D⋰ ⋰N⋰E⋰W⋰ guest kitchen and are in the process of updating the common area! Hope to see you again soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(92 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback