X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HostelPoint Brighton Reviews

10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
229 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

My first stay in a hostel and it was perfect. The staff was very welcoming and the people staying here were great fun! Also the new kitchen is an added bonus. Can't wait to return once the refurbishment works are complete.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you again soon! I'm sure your next day will be even better!

54%

The staff is working as they do not relly care. I mean, that everyone is polite, but not very warm. The hostel looks like a buidling site

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are always doing everything we possibly can to make your stay hassle free and as comfortable as possible. That's why we have just installed a ⋰B⋰R⋰A⋰N⋰D⋰ ⋰N⋰E⋰W⋰ guest kitchen and are in the process of updating the common area! Hope to see you again soon!

100%

Amazing value and central location! Saved a fortune on taxis! Staff were friendly. The room was really clean and far exceeded our expectations. Definitly recommend

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our perfect location is the reason I've never been on a Brighton taxi :) - Hope to see you again soon!

80%

It gets better day in day out, good job

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are trying our best :) Just for youuuuu!

74%

I stayed at hostel point with a group of three others for one night. The card machine wasn't working on arrival but they had a cash point so it was fine. Generally the place looks like it's still being done up but as we were only crashing there it didn't bother us. Only complaints are the lack of lockers in the room (something we were promised when we booked) and no curtains in room meaning we all woke up really early because of the light. But for £14 would stay again!

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind feedback - as you noticed we are in the middle of refurbishment works which will hopefully be completed very soon! All our rooms will have lockers (only 2 rooms without at the moment - lucky you!) - I'm sure you will notice a major improvement the next time you stay.

69%

A very cheap place to stay! The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the first dorm we stayed in so they moved us from an 8 bed dorm room to a 3 bed room for no extra charge :) Its literally right next to the coach station too which is really handy. The breakfast in the morning was very simple but did the trick! Can't really expect much more for the price really.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback - Always happy to help :)

66%

check out time is too early 10pm

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
How can you explore Brighton and all it has to offer if you want to sleep all day? - The only reason for the 10:00 check-out time is to ensure the rooms are cleaned on time ready for check-in at 2:00pm :)

43%

The rooms were musty and it was impossible to open our windows since they were sealed. The hostel was out of towels so I had to go into the city to get some. Breakfast was horrible. No cheese or ham? How hard can it be to serve some proper coffee instead of instant .. We would have preferred to pay less without breakfast because we had to go into the city for breakfast every day. The shower was moldy and the stairs to the rooms were covered with the same trash for days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments - we will be introducing a new selection to our breakfast which is complimentary and comes at no extra cost to our guests! (Cheese Included)

80%

Compared to my previous experiences, the hostel greatly improved. The room was well kept, bed sheet available, duvet cover available and quiet. The breakfast was also timely and the members of staff were helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a positive review on this occasion. It is great to know that our services and facilities are improving :)

63%

My room had some Wi-Fi in it so that was good. Downstairs though there was no kitchen and the televisions 3 of connected to each other was blasting out music too loud sometimes feeling the whole hostel was a bit noisy at times. U had to ask reception to change it to a film.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We currently have WiFi access available free of charge in the common area on the ground floor, this will be rolled out to all the floors very soooooon!

80%

Brilliant location. Under refubrishment, therefore not as clean as it should be. Breakfast included in price which is a great bonus. Looking forward to see the changes after the work will be all done.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It can be quite difficult to keep everything clean and tidy with quite a lot of refurbishment going on - Staff have been told to pay extra attention to keeping the place tidy. - See you soon!

80%

Really good. Great location, and will look really good once the renovations are done. The wifi was just painfully low!! But if you book a street facing room just a warning it's pretty loud at night.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A super-fast fibre optic connection will be introduced in January (at no additional cost to you!)

83%

Amazing views and such a cheap price considering the location! Loads of amenities, restaurants, pubs, bars, shops nearby and the perfect way to explore Brighton. Only downside was no hairdryer in room or working TV. Other than this excellent value for money - had a lovely stay :)

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Brighton. Travel essentials are available from the reception should you require them. We will also be improving our private rooms greatly over the winter period - new TVs and hairdryers in the rooms will be a must!

71%

I have been to the hostel severally. The rooms on the 4th floor are terrible, untidy, very old and not appealing at all. The bathrooms on the forth floor is an eyesore, smells, very old, and unusable. Most of the time, there are conflicts between customers as regards bed space, I recommend bed allocation. Also unavailability of bed sheet, duvet cover and pillow cases. Pros The breakfast is good The members of staff are nice and always willing help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for being a regular guest and choosing to book into Hostelpoint Brighton each time you are in town. We will be begin works to the upper floors before the end of the year and hopefully this will improve the bathroom facilities. See you again next week :)

77%

Decent place for a night or two. In the middle of a remodel - no wifi in rooms and the ATM and their card machine were not working

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do have a cash machine which is free to use - no charges! - all faults have been fixed and the machine is fully working now.

83%

Staff were really helpful. Really appreciated being able to store our bikes in the room. Incredible location we had a view of the sea and the pier that was second to none. Good shower.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Always happy to help - see you again soon!

51%

in 6person bedroom small as hell and over night club . only 1 bathroom and no other available in hostel. could only turn off fan in bathroom by turning off all electricity plus switches on wall with bed- thus weither use the bathroom without light at night or fumble over the sleeping person in the bed...if you in fact figure out that's the reason why the light doesn't work. entrance just got redone and thus no kitchen. wireless only works very close to reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good news - the ⋰B⋰R⋰A⋰N⋰D⋰ ⋰N⋰E⋰W⋰ guest kitchen is ready to use and ۪F۫۰۪R۫۰۪E۫۰۪E۫۰ ۪W۫۰۪I۫۰۪F۫۰۪I۫۰ is available in the common room as well as the reception area. I have let our handy man know about the light in the bathroom and it will be fixed right away!

51%

Pretty average hostel which was extremely dirty! The hallways and stairs were falling apart and stank. Our first room we got put into was disgusting. none of the beds were clean despite them telling us there should be 2 free spots. We were then upgraded to a smaller room which was fine. The wifi was non existent and only worked in the lobby. There was no kitchen or any facilities for that matter. Only positive was they seemed to be doing a few renovations.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our housekeepers clean the rooms and corridors everyday however as wth all hostels, some guests can be a bit overwhelming! Also we have some good news! - The NEW kitchen is ready to useeeee!!

94%

The rooms are clean and bright. Awesome quality and great location near the Brighton Pier.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a positive review!

77%

Perfectly located right at the seaside, opposite the Pier, however it's a very old building and needs some refurbishments (creaking floor etc). Some parts are already under construction, no noises during our stay though. Breakfast is very basic but you get what you pay for. Bars nearby, coach station next door, only a short walk to the train station and the shopping streets. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - we are in the process of updating the ground floor area which will be completed by the end of November at the latest. Hope to welcome you again soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback