X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HostelPoint Brighton Reviews

10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
170 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

was under construction, no wifi and stuff was numb when asked for toilet before 2pm... there is none but in the rooms. Besides check in 2pm and check out at 10am is OK for Hilton but not for a hostel it is against the idea of it. Should not be supported


69%

A new owner took over the hostel and there's construction work going on at the moment... In the lobby are wooden panels everywhere and it's pretty dirty. The old bar gets used as a place to store luggage. The "kitchen" is a sinkhole, extremely dirty and poorly equipped. Sometimes we had to search for only TWO spoons. Unfortunately the other housemates didn't clean up their dishes and stole any of our food EVERY single day which is really disgraceful... But the room was clean and worth its money


83%

Not hot water :( otherwise great spot and value for money. Location perfect for night life and access to pier and beach.


86%

A great place where to crush to spend two or three days in Brighton. The location is great, next to the Pier, gay village and nice clubs.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Such a good location! Right near the pier and a minute walk into town or the lanes. Stayed in a private room which had an ensuite, TV and a sea view. Pleasantly suprised by the room! However the cleanliness of the rest of the hostel wasn't great, needed a Hoover majorly!!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The overall environment and living condition suck.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful. Arrived early to drop off our bags, staff completely dismissed us and pointed at an open area within reception to leave our bags until check in. Provided only one word answers to questions before turning back around and looking at the computer. We stayed here one night in twin room, basic facilities however good view and location. Wouldn't stay longer than that unless staff here improve their attitudes


46%

the room evry small and very daty and wifi 特别脏 房间小 服务态度差 没有无线网


80%

The hostel provides very good value for money. It's at a perfect location, right on the sea front, the staff is very nice and helpful, and our room was very clean. The elevator was not working and neither was the wifi for the first night of our stay, but that was not an issue for us since there is plenty to do in Brighton other than sitting in your room on the internet. I enthusiastically recommend this hostel for anyone wanting a clean, simple place to stay at in the center of Brighton.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I travel extensively thru my work and wasn't really expecting a lot for £9 pounds a night, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by Hostelpoint. Crisp clean sheets, good mattress, window and balcony overlooking the sea, piping hot shower, free wifi and a free breakfast. For £9 a night I can assure you I will be going back.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

it's quite a walk from the train station but right across from the pier and right in the main area so that is a plus. rooms have private bathrooms and also lockers but the common area is lacking a little. its not a very homey feeling. not even sure if there is a kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Now that the summer season is over we will be able to focus on refurbishing the common area and kitchen which should be ready very soon!

86%

Cool hostel , nothing else to say.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Just what I needed, a clean bed and shower, a breakfast and an underbed locker for my bike leathers and other bits. Perfect and almost free at £12 :) Happy days. Look forward to going back again soon.


66%

The staff were friendly; the accommodation was bare-bones but that's reflected in the cheap price I suppose (although breakfast being laid out in the morning was nice). I had a window that I couldn't shut (though not too loud outside thankfully) and there weren't many plug points around the room. Wi-Fi signal was pretty bad to be honest and the rooms didn't have lockers. I asked at the reception and they said some rooms do and some rooms don't which is a rather stupid thing to me but hey-ho.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff was impeccable. BUT 1 - the shower was problematic, 2 - there is no lift and we were on the third floor... 3 - the entrance door which requires a code had NO LIGHT so we could NOT see the numbers to type in (not acceptable!!! I had to use the light of my mobile to barely see the numbers) 4 - nobody ever came to clean or change the towels although the site said it had cleaning 5 - the sink tap would never stop running water 6 - the kettle had no prop wall socket (room 33) . Tks Helga

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Should have advise to bring padlock for csges under bed for personal belongings. Overall very good stay, a hot breakfast would have made it better.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay - regarding the lockers we do sell padlocks in case guests forget there own - these are available at the reception.

83%

Had a private room, really lovely size with beautiful views of the seaside. Was pretty good value considering it had an ensuite and was generally clean, would stay there again and saved the extortionate amount it would have been to stay in a hotel. The breakfast was just toast and jam, so good for budget travellers, but otherwise not worth bothering with.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing to stay with, it's great to know you that our guests also believe we are providing excellent value accommodation.

66%

No towels. Had to ask twice for toilet roll. Lift not working. Staff rude. Breakfast below average. No attempt whatsoever to be anything other than bog standard and basic. For the money (even though it was peak season) they don't give you much other than a roof and a bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately towels are not included in the dorm room rate and are currently only included for private rooms. We will however be introducing towels which can be bought from the reception in case anybody has forgotten to bring their own.

100%

We booked for 1 night at first but decided to extend our stay because we had such a pleasant stay! Very clean, comfortable and the views are amazing. Manager Tony did a great job on making sure we were well looked after - well done to the whole team.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is convieniently located at the main Pier, so you are close to everything (which also means beging in the middle of the night life, whether you want that or not). The rooms look very nice, but could be a little cleaner in some spots. The lobby downstairs was very dirty, and the staff was good. We only stayed for two nights, so I can't say a lot more other than that the hostel worked for our purposes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response, we are currently undergoing refurbishment works to the reception area which will include and new reception, common area and an updated guest kitchen.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback