X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

HostelPoint Brighton Reviews

10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
132 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Should have advise to bring padlock for csges under bed for personal belongings. Overall very good stay, a hot breakfast would have made it better.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay - regarding the lockers we do sell padlocks in case guests forget there own - these are available at the reception.

83%

Had a private room, really lovely size with beautiful views of the seaside. Was pretty good value considering it had an ensuite and was generally clean, would stay there again and saved the extortionate amount it would have been to stay in a hotel. The breakfast was just toast and jam, so good for budget travellers, but otherwise not worth bothering with.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing to stay with, it's great to know you that our guests also believe we are providing excellent value accommodation.

66%

No towels. Had to ask twice for toilet roll. Lift not working. Staff rude. Breakfast below average. No attempt whatsoever to be anything other than bog standard and basic. For the money (even though it was peak season) they don't give you much other than a roof and a bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately towels are not included in the dorm room rate and are currently only included for private rooms. We will however be introducing towels which can be bought from the reception in case anybody has forgotten to bring their own.

100%

We booked for 1 night at first but decided to extend our stay because we had such a pleasant stay! Very clean, comfortable and the views are amazing. Manager Tony did a great job on making sure we were well looked after - well done to the whole team.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is convieniently located at the main Pier, so you are close to everything (which also means beging in the middle of the night life, whether you want that or not). The rooms look very nice, but could be a little cleaner in some spots. The lobby downstairs was very dirty, and the staff was good. We only stayed for two nights, so I can't say a lot more other than that the hostel worked for our purposes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response, we are currently undergoing refurbishment works to the reception area which will include and new reception, common area and an updated guest kitchen.

51%

The room was not very clean and even miss a trash bin! Sometimes there was no hot water in ththe shower and the beds were really noisy... There was also a problem with the room as we booked for a twin and get a bunk and this was really upsetting!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We offer two types of twin rooms for our guests - a standard twin (which consists of 2 x single bed) and also a Twin Bunk (which consists of 1 x bunk bed for two guests).

94%

My first hostel experience - and it was amazing! The staff was helpful and the guests were friendly. Excellent location, close to the supermarket, the coach station and all the bars/clubs; the pier/beach is across the road. Highly recommended :)

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear you enjoyed your first hostel experience. Yes, our location is very central and close to everything.

100%

Great stay, really friendly staff and very clean despite the ongoing works. Perfect location - right next to the pier. The guests staying here are very friendly. Can't wait to return once the refurbishment is finished!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - See you soon!

100%

The best place to stay in Brighton! Very good location and everything was better than we expected!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location beside famous Brighton Pier and also a good sized building all of which is begging to be scrubbed, painted and ran by good hostel managers. St Christopher's need to get their best managers down to brighton for six months to whip this place into shape. Staff, rooms are all fine but really missing the finesse to be a great hostel. If you are looking for a budget hostel then this place is central, safe and reasonably clean but nothing else....yet

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - the new team at Hostelpoint Brighton will be undergoing refurbishment works to the hostel during the autumn period when the hostel will be less busy - this will allow is to undergo the works with as little disruption as possible - as you can imagine it would prove be nightmare for guests if we underwent the refurbishment during the summer months.

100%

Very pleasant stay. Great value for standard room (free continental breakfast) place is having a refurb after summer so can forgive a few building materials laying around. Excellent staff and manager Tony goes the extra mile to help you. Good location next to the pier. Will definitely return here

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

80%

Excellent price and great location. Bathroom was not particularly clean and there were no toilets other than the one in the room which was for 8 people to use. Bed was very comfy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to know you believe our accommodation is great value for money. All our rooms are en-suite which means the bathroom is never too far away :)

63%

It was somewhat disappointing. I used to know this place as the St Christophers Brighton Hostel but it's changed hands since and has gone somewhat downhill. Downstairs has been torn apart and no safe place to put luggage. The lift was broken so I had to haul a very heavy suitcase up the stairs. In the room the toilet leaked, so unhygienic. Whenever you turned the bathroom light on it sounded like a jackhammer and the shower had mould in it. Staff weren't as friendly either. Not likely 2 come bk

Owner Comment (Hide)
Since changing hands there have been no changes apart from the bar which has ceased trading - we will be undergoing refurbishment works during the autumn months which will include a new reception, kitchen and common room area - the bathrooms and rooms will also be upgraded. We would love to welcome you back once the changes have taken place.

89%

Perfect place to stay, you are close to everything from there.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive feedback!

80%

The hostel is under renovations so it's a bit of a mess. My bathroom was leaking and I heard lots of other people having things broken or not working in their rooms. Full kitchen downstairs as it use to be a balushi's bar. Staff are really nice but don't have much advise for exploring the city. Good location, right by the pier.


86%

Excellent location for a good price, the sight on the seafront from the rooms is just amazing. Good breakfast and the staff is nice. It is also really appreciated that each dorm has a private bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

57%

Strange atmosphere always downstairs. Non staff people offering some 'stuff' didnt like it at all. Otherwise room clean and not very bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do take health and safety seriously and urge stuff that if they do feel uncomfortable for any reason whatsoever to inform staff who will be able to assist further.

63%

Not pretentious, a decent bed in an OK hostel. Could use some cleaning and sprucing up. You get what you pay for.


49%

I had kept the communication going with the hotel before the day but when I turned up to check in I found out they needed a £10.00 deposit leave me the key and I did not have cash on me so I asked to charge my card instead but I was told the would take cash only, so off I go to find a cashpoint after 3 hours travelling on the bus because without that I could not check in. Got my key in the end only to find out the lift was out of order, twin room no towel(i was told they had them) beds wobbly

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

For cost and location, this hostel is hard to beat. Much like Brighton, The building is old, tall and warren-like. I was happy with the cleanliness of the room, beds and bathroom. We booked a 4 bed mixed dorm, and stayed in a 6 bed w/ensuite, however the room was plenty big enough for 6 people and the view of the pier at night was amazing so we didn't complain or request a refund. We never found the lockers, left luggage is not that secure, but fine for non-valuables and bulky items.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have no introduced a new luggage room which can be used by guests to store bags etc. This is available on the ground floor in the reception area.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback