Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HostelTrail

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
HostelTrail Located at Carrera 11 No. 4-16, , Popayan.
HostelTrail
Colombia
Popayan Cauca 0000 Carrera 11 No. 4-16
85% 335
2.4434595 -76.6104018
HostelTrail
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Jan 2017
7.1

Good hostel for a stop over on your way to the boarder. Bathrooms could be cleaner. Breakfast was great, either lovely eggs with toast or granola with toast also. The girl who's works at night could definitely be friendlier, usually only get one word answers. Overall a good hostel if your passing through.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Jan 2017
6.3

The atmosphere wasnt great, the dorm was ok but because of the street very noisy. The breakfast was a good value and the staff very friendly & helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel. The second time I've stayed here and will definitely stay here again when returning to Popayan. Our double room was huge with great views of the city, and better quality than many hotels. I particularly like the board of bus company information and advice, something I've never seen in any other hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.9

We had a long visit at HostelTrail and our feelings are overwhelmingly positive. The staff couldn't be more amazing, helpful and kind. It is an interesting layout, quirky and we liked it. We had a double ensuite because of our long visit. Nice breakfast, kitchen access and storage and internet. The WiFi was spotty in our room, but we had access enough for what we needed. If you are expecting perfect WiFi (anywhere in Colombia) you probably need to go home. Tours booked through the hostel too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
6.6

It is an OK hostel to stay for a layover. Walkable distance to the bus terminal

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.1

Helpful staff here and good vibes. Good social areas to meet people and good kitchen. Security lockers have chargers. Bathrooms could have been cleaned more frequently but other than that great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
8.0

Decent place, bathrooms coulda used some more attention. Realised post leaving that they charged us the full amount rather then deducting the deposit paid. I also accidentally took the room key with me. My bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
28th Nov 2016
9.1

The hostel is very bright and inviting. The owners are friendly and very helpful. It is about a 5 minute walk to the main square and about an 8 minute walk to the bus station, so great location. The kitchen facilities were good. We were in a private room with shared bathroom, there was only one bathroom on our floor which was frequently in use. Not all the rooms use that bathroom but it was busy and we always felt we had to be quick using it. Overall a good stay and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Rettiaj93
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.0

850m from the terminal –perfect walking distance. The only thing I didn't like was that in order to catch the wifi signal I had to go downstairs and then up again to the common room, which was the only place where internet worked. Other than this, everything was fine –clean, hot water, nice staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Sep 2016
8.6

I stayed in a lovely private room, very comfortable bed and sheets and pillows, otherwise basic but nice. Very clean! I didn't have any problem with traffic noise like some of the other reviews mentioned, and I didn't wake up super early. The breakfast is convenient and standard; you can probably find a little more variety around town but I was happy to eat there every morning. My only complaint is that the wifi kept having issues when I was there, but they did keep trying to fix it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.