Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HostelTrail

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • samanthablundell
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel is okay but the wifi is very patchy which is hard for booking an onward journey. The staff spoke no English which was quite difficult and couldn't give me a receipt after I paid on card (they had no change for cash either). The bus information was helpful and the location is great. The secure lockers are downstairs away from the room and the room only had one double socket between 8 people. So like I said, it was okay but not great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
9.7

HostelTrail was a great place. I really only have one complaint. The location is great for being convenient to the center of downtown and to the bus terminal, but my room (#7) overlooked the intersection of Calle 4 and Carrera 11, and it was noisy all night long. And if I opened the window I could still get traffic fumes, even on the 3rd floor. So be sure to ask for a quiet room if that's important to you. Otherwise, it's a very nice place to stay. Nice, helpful staff. Clean. Well-located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
8.3

Nice little hostal, staff very helpful, kitchen was small but enough to survival cooking. Very close to the bus terminal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th May 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel located just a short walk from the central part of Popayan. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were good too, very clean and spacious. Only thing that would make it better would be a free breakfast but overall a very good stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • timdillon89
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th May 2017
8.9

Decent hostel in a pretty good location. Very clean, pillows weren't great. Breakfast pretty good value. Wifi didn't work for me on the first day but was ok on the second.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
8.9

Clean and spacious hostel. Staff friendly and helpful, not all speak English but they really try to help. OK kitchen to cook in. Couple of seating areas but no real main chill out area. Would be perfect if the reception played some music and there was more of a hang out area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
15th May 2017
8.6

Decent hostel. Good breakfast for 6000p. Free bikes are great, but the city is not great for riding. Easy walk to bus terminal and old city. Nice map and info on the hostel walls. The wifi was not working in the dorm for the whole time I was there. Not many plug points in the dorm. Staff didnt make you feel welcome, but they helped when you asked questions. Only one could speak English.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th May 2017
8.0

Quite a nice hostel. Not far from the square in Popayan. Clean and tidy hostel with friendly staff. If your Spanish is limited it can be difficult to conversate with the staff. Cheap laundry, clean bathrooms and warm showers. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm for a few nights. Good internet and reasonably good value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th May 2017
5.7

• Kitchen was very basic and food left in the fridge was rotting • No one speaks English and no activities could be arranged • Only tourist information available are a few notices on the wall directing you to various internet sites. There is NO one on one tourist information available • No evidence of a Scottish run Hostel • Upon arrival, we felt that every move we made was being watched • With window shutters closed, the deluxe room was extremely noisy due to traffic. (Couldn't sleep)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th May 2017
8.3

Good location with walking distance to the bus terminal. Good staff and clean hostel. First night I felt like the kitchen was way too small but soon realized not too many people cooked. Our double bed room was big, hot water shower and tv.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.