Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HostelTrail

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.8
HostelTrail Located at Carrera 11 No. 4-16, , Popayan.
HostelTrail
Colombia
Popayan Cauca 0000 Carrera 11 No. 4-16
83% 271
2.4434595 -76.6104018
HostelTrail
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
7.4

The biggest negative I can say is there is quite a bit noise from street traffic passing by just outside the window. Nothing to complain about the staff and the hostel itself. Staff is helpfull, hostel is clean. There were very few people, when I was there and many are just on their way through to/from Ecuador or Cali, so perhaps that is why, I found the atmosphere somehow missing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.0

Nothing too fancy but does the job for a short stay in town. The location is good. Decent wifi. Not many bathrooms. Lacking a common room, but easy enough to meet people here. Cheap Spanish and salsa classes at 15000 pesos an hour.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.0

Only stayed one night but the location to the city centre was great and walkable from the bus station. The bathrooms didn't have soap and found them a bit grungy. Dorms were basic, good wifi and free coffee in the morning. Security was also great, they had to buzz you in every time you came and left, lockers in common area as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostel was nice, safe, and clean. The one problem is the electric shower. It shocked me in the morning. I was on the bathroom floor shaking for a while. It was very painful. The staff was generally nice. The information they gave about Popayan was useful. When we arrived, they assured us that we could pay by card. During checkout, however, the woman didn't plug in the card reader and just pushed a bunch of buttons to show us that it "didn't work".

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.3

Good hostel. Convenient location. Helpful, if not the chattiest, friendliest staff. Free coffee in the morning nothing to write home about - consider getting your caffeine addiction seen to elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Jun 2016
8.6

A good little hostel if you're staying in Popayan, with friendly staff. Breakfast not included but good value

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.1

Easy to find from the bus terminal, a quiet but relaxed and friendly atmosphere and a very comfortable bed! Although the breakfast isn't included, it's good value for money - the fruit, granola and yoghurt option with toast was delicious🙂.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

I only stayed one night here, so not a hugely fair review but I was impressed overall by HostelTrail. Activities around the area and general info about Popayan, incl. onward bound details was easy to gain and the staff were friendly. The communal areas were nice and there was generally a good vibe here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • williamtaylor1990
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Good hostel. Helpful during the riots.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
8.6

A tremendous value and very pleasant and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.