X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostelling International - San Diego Downtown Reviews

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, California, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
507 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was clean, secure, and with a great location. The staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again if I came back to San Diego!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd be happy to have you! Thank you so much. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Overall a great experience with very friendly staff. Although we thought the premises and all associated with the place were great, being an asthamatic I am conscious of dust and there wasquite a bit of it in our room, wspecially on the window sills , ledges and walls however I would still recommend the hostel.

  • 7th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful review. We have actually just hired more housekeeping staff to get us going on a more effective deep cleaning schedule. Also, old buildings such as ours (120+ years!) tend to get a bit dusty. We highly recommend that you, or any guest, alert us to conditions like allergies or asthma so that we may better maintain your comfort level, whether it be assigning extra housekeeping to your room, etc. Thanks again for the review, and we hope to see you soon. -HI San Diego

80%

Girls dorm near windows was a bit dirty. And the bathroom was dirty too. Not terrible, but the others in the hallways are really nice and redone. I liked the location near enough to bus, train, etc. I never had to get a cab. The WORST things was that i didnt sleep one whole night because of all of the noise from the bars below. The windows were all open and i couldnt shut them but it went on every night until bar close.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are in the process of a full scale remodel, and the dorms are next on the docket. We felt like the common area bathrooms got the most use and should be remodeled first. We will look into the window issue you brought up, and in the future, please bring this up to our front desk and we will fix it immediately. Thanks again for the time you took to review us, and your business. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

89%

We had a great stay with the best breakfast that we ever had in a hostel by far. And we even had a hairdryer in our room!! The only thing we could "complain" about which is really not even worth mentioning would be the very slow elevator. But really, that doesn't matter at all.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the comments! Our elevator can be a bit slow, as it is probably an antique at this point :). We really appreciate the great review, and look forward to your next stay. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

100%

This was a wonderful hostel in so many ways. The location was excellent right down in the gaslight district. But with that, you had to deal with the noise especially on Friday and Saturday nights. And the parking was very difficult. But the staff suggested that I park on the street free beyond Market & 15th or go to the Park Place kitty corner from them with the maximum daily payment of $11.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that we were able to have you stay with us, and that you had a great time. Come visit us again soon. -HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Really great hostel. Very clean, lovely rooms for what you were paying & really chilled out atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the totally sweet review! Come back and see us any time. All the best. HI San Diego Downtown

74%

Great location 5th av. The layout of the hostel does not generate a lot of socialising, but overall it was a nice place to be. Unfortunately I got a room facing the wall of other buildings with the noise of AC screaming, but thats what you get if you want to be in central downtown. Toilett was immaculate - always a bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We appreciate the business and the time you took to review us. Hope to see you again next time! -HI San Diego Downtown

97%

great atmosphere...

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms could be a little bit cleaner... the furniture was old and a bit dirty

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We are in the process of replacing all of our furniture, so we should be getting rid of the older things as soon as we get budget approval for it. We truly appreciate the business and the time you took to comment. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

77%

Put TV in the rooms

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good staff. The Mexican guy on the pub crawl was awesome and gave us some good info on the area. The lady that organizes the breaky was lovely and does a great job. The room was ideal, plenty of space, can't complain.


91%

I just returned from a three day stay at this hostel. I booked a private room with ensuite (room 214). Room: relatively spacious, comfortable mattress and pillows, mini fridge, remote controlled A/C and ceiling fan. The bathroom had a pretty spacious shower and a toilet. Very clean and the soap/hair gel provided smelled so good! I actually wanted to ask what brand it was but forgot. The only concern I had with this room is that it was facing the little couryard but since smoking and alcohol are not allo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We hope to see you again soon. -HI San Diego Downtown

97%

The kitchen was really nice and made us wanna cook food there a few nights (to save money) and breakfast was the best of all the hostel breakfasts I have tried. Fresh orange and melon, darker bread (not only toast), peanut butter and jelly, oatmeal, milk and cereal.. Only negative was that the room was really warm so we woke up sweaty all mornings... And wifi wasn't very good in the room. But otherwise it was really good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful review! WiFi and A/C our the two big projects we will be attempting to tackle in the off season this year. Hopefully, we will see you again in the future and you will get to see the improvements we have made. Thanks! -HI San Diego Downtown

100%

Kind & Easy to work with. Thanks Bobbye


77%

Great facilities but let down by a lack of effective air conditioning and limited space in dorm rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments. We are in the process of adding air conditioning slowly, as due to the age of our building, Central Air is not really an option for us. Hopefully we will have all this up and running in time for next summer. We appreciate the business and the review. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

97%

The place has been great! Thank you to the staff, who was so very friendly and helpful. Everything in the hostel was good, rooms, cleanliness, lots of space, practically and good breakfast. Thank you for the pleasant stay. I would come back any time.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks to you for staying with us! All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

89%

A large hostel in a great location. Only thing about the location is that it was quite loud at night, but ear plugs fixed that for me. Cleaners were around every day making sure everything was tidy, good breakfasts and lots of space to hang out in. Easy to get to and from. I came from the Amtrak train and didn't have any problems finding it. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing review. We always try to alert people to the fact that we are right in the heart of Downtown San Diego, and it is not a quiet neighborhood, especially on the weekends. We do offer earplugs, and also, we recommend that people call us ahead of time and request a quiet room. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. -HI San Diego Dowtown

91%

Awsome hostel!! Very clean and very Nice staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We truly appreciate the business, and we are very glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us. Come back and see us again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

Perfect! Very fresh and nice but simple breakfast.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the wonderful comments and review. We try to keep our breakfast stocked with plenty of fresh fruit and freshly baked local bread. Glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

97%

This hostel is awesome. Nice and helpful staff. Good atmosphere. Very clean. Only problem was the large distance to the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're telling us ;)! Thanks a bunch for the kind words. We are looking into possible options for beach shuttles and thinks of that nature. So maybe next time we can get you, and us :), to the beach faster. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

(388 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback