X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostelling International - Washington DC Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2569 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

i had to cancel my stay . so i can not say much. cancelling my reservation went fine. Thank You

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Even though you did not stay with us, we really appreciate your review! Thanks so much! We look forward to hopefully having you again sometime! Safe travels, Christina

97%

It was my first time staying in a hostel and i was pleasantly surprised at how clean everything was. The staff was also friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to you hopefully staying with us again on your next trip to DC. Safe travels, Christina

83%

The hostel location is very good: near white house and other monuments, near subway and easy to get to the bus station. One negative point was the central heating. In the first night I and the other guys in the same room had a tough time, very cold. In the second day the staff placed portable heating in the room


91%

Fab location with really helpful staff. Out of all the Hostelling International hostels I stayed in whilst in America this one had the best breakfast :). Think some of the rooms (more so the mattresses) could do would some modernising but i'm sure that's something they're working on.


91%

It was one of the best hostels I´ve ever been! The staff was great and the breakfast guy is the best (John we love you!!!) The location can't be better. I would totally recommend it


100%

Room 806 The ceiling fire alarm is dangling down a few inches

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was welcoming, supportive, and knowledgeable. Location is perfectly situated in the center of the city. I enjoyed my stay.

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Enjoyed pretty much everything about this hostel. But i found 2 issues that really got my nerve: - Elevator works horribly, which made me get me the stairs from the 5th floor with my backpack and my travel luggage - The fact that we had to wash our breakfast's dish wasnt really pleasant


83%

Free breakfast, love it. The staff is very friendly. Close to china town. The shower room is a little bit old style (but very clean), it was -5 degree, and the water seems not hot enough and the water pressure is not enough. I encounter this once: the lift door close, but it was not going up, the staff close the life door manually, and it works (magic?) overall: good enough for me to book again.


97%

A great hostel, location was awesome and the building was clean and modern. Comfortable beds, good showers, etc! Staff were very helpful and were understanding about my very delayed 3am arrival because of a 8hr late train! Only negative I would say is that the wifi was slow in the evenings, but that's pretty normal for hostels I guess.

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

WiFi and speedy internet would be good in each floor and in each room.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The entire facility accommodations were great. Little catch: the wifi is slow, but everything else is great!


89%

Hostel was in a great location. Good facilities too, the two female staff I dealt with weren't particularly helpful or friendly though.


97%

The breakfast guy was great! Every hostel should have a guy like this. Breakfast was good, and always a very social experience. Met lots of cool people there


86%

I spent only one night but it was excellent! the breakfast is good and you are at walking distance from the national mall... trully a place to stay at


86%

Everything was really good until i come back to the fridge and i see that someone have stolen something i bought for my sister and I. It was only food and i had my money back from you. But the staff didn't seems concerned at all (probably because it's just food) but what would happen if i was a phone or a computer !!!! Someone is a robber and nobody seems to care ! I was really upset with that. One more time i know it's only food but in my opinion the robber needs to be found and punished !

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A great hostel, location was awesome!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very well located and a great breakfast.


94%

It was great!

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Hostel, the breakfest offered was excellent, for those who like to cook they have a great kitchen full of appliences. Great location, walked to all the museums.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback