Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hosteria Rose Cottage

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5
Hosteria Rose Cottage Located at Mojandita, , Otavalo.
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Ecuador
Otavalo Imbabura Mojandita
83% 127
0.1709744 -78.2940673
Hosteria Rose Cottage
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
5.4

Hostel location gorgeous but that's about it. Staff is pleasant, besides owners. They seemed put out to help. Wifi password hadn't been updated in room and when asked for the new one they were unfriendly. Food is way overpriced ($9 dinner). Were awakened several times in morning by knocks on door (before 8am). Again interrupted to pay bill before check-out. Told the reason is they needed money for their groceries. Jacuzzi=$$ Unprofessional, unwelcoming, overpriced. Recommend hostel chasqui.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
4.0

Paying $48 a night for a room, I would expect tidy bathrooms, reliable hot water, and spacious bedrooms. Not so. We decided to cancel our third night because the facilities were not what we expected, but when we checked out the receptionist refused to apply the deposit we had already paid for our third night to our total bill, so we were out $7. They also charged us for using the laundry machine after one of the staff members told us we could use it for free. Jacuzzi is $20 to use by the way.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
10.0

So relaxing. Feels like a summer camp retreat in a way. Beautiful scenery, only 10 minutes from the town center and they have great walking trails everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.3

Really nice place to stay for a couple or small group wanting to escape the chaos of the backpacker trail. Lovely views plus hammocks. Nice owners. A bit more expensive though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
8.9

A beautiful hostel with the most relaxing atmosphere. Hammocks, ping pong, darts and more! Lovely dorm rooms that are cleaned daily. The breakfast was good and fresh, dinner can be brought for $9 usd which is quite expensive but tasty. It is about a $3 taxi to town and all the taxi drivers know where the hostel is which makes it easy! Free ride to the market on a Saturday. Lovely walks nearby but no lakes are within easy walking distance. Really lovely hostel, great staff and highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
9.4

Gorgeous views!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
9.4

Hosteria Rose Cottage was incredible- tranquil and relaxing, close enough to make Otavalo accessible without being smack dab in the bustle of the city, and run by extremely caring staff. The only thing we did not love was the horseback riding excursion we took. The price was very reasonable, but the ride was not fit for less than experienced riders due to the temperament of the animals and expertise level of our guides.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
10.0

My fiancée and I stayed here for a night and just loved it. We considered rearranging our travel plans to stay longer. Breakfast was included (eggs, potatoes, coffee, juice, bread) which is always a bonus. The locations is a bit away from town, but the view is so spectacular that we didn't even care. Plus, Otavalo is much bigger than we had expected so getting out of the busy city area was welcome after a long day. The staff is very helpful and even offers a free ride into town in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.