Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hosteria Rose Cottage Reviews

Mojandita, Otavalo, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained


80 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Don't let the location put you off - this is an amazing place to stay in Otavalo. It's a $3 taxi ride to/from the hostel, or a 30 min walk. If you're there on a Saturday a free transfer to the market is provided. Breakfast is excellent and for $7 you can buy a dinner in the evening - nice big portions too! Rosa, the owner is a lovely woman and goes out of her way to make sure you enjoy your tine there. There are a variety of hikes into the surrounding valleys clearly explained in the hostel too


A hostel with so much potential but quite a few improvements needed to get there. When we arrived the lady offered us dinner for $7 and we were offered a large plate of food, she also said you could buy an array of drinks and snacks. When dinner came we were given a small plate of curry. We tried to buy drinks and the only soft drinks they had was a glass of coke. I asked for some water, and bearing in mind this hostel is 3km from the centre, they didn't have any drinking water, not even bottle

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your comment about the dinner is wide of the mark, but it is true that night we had low stocks of drinks as a big group had just left the night before, so we are sorry about that.Readers should know that we obviously normally have plenty of soft drinks and drinking water is normally plentiful and free, and the our dinners are known for their generous portions which include main and dessert for everyone. We hope you enjoyed our view,maybe played some tennis whilst you were with us.


Awesome spot right on the country side. A little ways outside of otavalo but certainly worth it if you're looking for peace and quiet

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Beautiful location, not in the centre but the owner drove us to the market for no extra charge so location wasn't an issue, and the beautiful surroundings made it well worth it. The staff (particularly the woman who owns it) were terrible though, the lady seemed grumpy the whole time, not welcoming at all. And she was never around. A guest arrived in the morning with no staff whatsoever to help her checkin and it was pouring with rain, terrible service. No one around.


The place, the rooms and the scenery is really charming! But it comes with a price, keep in mind that anything you want to do is an added price to it (all the taxi rides, and even such a thing as having to pay to use the kitchen..) Plus 12% tax added, dont forget that.


You should definitely stay here. Beautiful views and the staff are great.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


After travelling for 15 months this is by far the most beautiful hostel I have stayed in. The surroundings and scenery is just stunning. The cottages are all really cute and very homely and they are all surrounded by the most beautiful gardens full of flowers. There's a beautiful hammock chill area and a restaurant on site so you don't need to leave and honestly, you won't want to! If you are visiting Otavalo for the markets this is where you MUST stay!


The hostel was located in an amazing location. However, the food was relatively expensive for what was given and there wasn't a person at the desk when needed a few different times. If a person a looking to get away and have a peaceful morning with birds and tranquility I would recommend staying at Rosa Cottage. This is the reason I stayed without knowing the cost of a taxi, which is three or four dollars one way in to town. you can however, hitch a ride with a local for free.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


We didn't receive a friendly welcome or any info on arrival, despite speaking Spanish. The room was very small, as was breakfast. I think for the price for the budget double room w shared bathroom ($30) I expected better. The location is out of town, and while very nice to wake up and see the view it is a $3 trip each way into town. They offer a free drop off service for 7.45am if you like to wake up at the crack of dawn. Definitely stayed at friendlier places, cheaper and with better rooms.


The staff was great and very helpful. I paid for a horseback ride for my two daughters and it turned out to be a wonderful experience. The only thing we disliked about the hostel was the location - it is about 3 km from town and that was just too isolated for us as we wanted to be in town and have access to restaurants, etc. However, for the nature lover or someone with a different agenda, the location is perfect.


It woulb be great to have some more recommondations about activitires in this beautiful region (rent bikes,...). And the doors upstairs to get to the rooms are a bit dangirous to lock yourself out, as well as the door to go out to the stairs - other guests locked them once from outside and we couldn't get out! We had a great stay and were really happy about how clean you worked in the kitchen. Thank you :)


Negatives first - very far away from town! You have to catch a taxi every time you go downtown. But the location is great, overlooking Otavalo, really quiet, and at the time of my stay usually in a mystic thick cloud in the afternoon. They serve good food in the restaura t.


I had a very pleasant stay at Rose Cottage. The views are unbeatable, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food is delicious, the rooms are cozy and clean, and it is a great value for the money spent. Each house caters to different travelers, so whether you're looking for a dormitory, a family house, a romantic couples getaway, a private space to yourself, or even a campsite, Rose Cottage has something to offer. There is a lot of great sightseeing, hiking, shopping, etc. nearby.


This place is adorable :)


As soon as a meal is over they run you out of the dining room whether you are playing cards or reading a book or whatever - 'go away!' 'leave!' 'you cant stay here!!!!' fairly frustrating

Owner Comment (Hide)
Once meals are over we have a TV room and a library where clients can read, play cards, wifi etc .We have 7 different houses and close the restaurant when the meals are over so the staff can get on with other duties or go home after dinner in the evening . In daytime of course clients can read etc outside in one of the many hammocks and covered seating areas which we have. Our clients love to enjoy the fantastic views outside, & in the evening we often light a fire outside for guests to sit at


Beautiful quiet retreat in the mountains


The location is lovely, and the atmosphere is great. However despite being promised keys I never received them. Because no one gets keys anyone can enter and steal stuff from the dorms. While I was there someone had money stolen from their bag. There are lockers provided, but they are tiny so you can't fit a laptop or a tablet. Also, the lockers aren't attached, so someone could just carry them off. The kitchen is really poorly equipped, and the breakfast is really bad, just white toast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As you say the place is lovely, we're sorry you were not given a key to the dorm,we were busy recently and tourists often take away keys by mistake,but now we have plenty,also we are going to fix the security cabinet to the floor as you suggest.RoseCottage is a quiet and safe place, no one ever reported any theft to us so maybe the person you mention lost his money elsewhere.For breakfast you should have had fresh rolls and juice, we\re sorry you didnt,hot breakfast is available as extra


An excellent hostel with amazing views, chilled out atmosphere and lots of hammocks! A good fit for any traveller that doesn't mind a location that is a bit remote. The staff were helpful to order us a taxi for whenever we needed to go downtown. Defientely recommended!


A really really nice hostel with such beautiful views! It's around $4 to get to Otavalo so it's not bad at all if you are in a group, however, if you are by yourself this could get a bit pricey... The rooms are nice, the staff are helpful and the restaurant/bar is really useful (even though it shuts at 9). The ONLY probably we had was that the dorm rooms can be quite noisy as they are made entirely of wood. We also had a colossal snorer. But I don't blame the hostel for that.. Recommend it :)


This is the cutest place ever. Amazing views.... absolutely charming. It is worth taking cabs to get to this location. There is a free ride down to the large animal market on Saturday morning. A must-do/see.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)

View all Otavalo Hostels

Please give us your feedback