Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hosteria Rose Cottage

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0
Hosteria Rose Cottage Located at Mojandita, , Otavalo.
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Ecuador
Otavalo Imbabura Mojandita
88% 113
0.1709744 -78.2940673
Hosteria Rose Cottage
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Jul 2016
10.0

My fiancée and I stayed here for a night and just loved it. We considered rearranging our travel plans to stay longer. Breakfast was included (eggs, potatoes, coffee, juice, bread) which is always a bonus. The locations is a bit away from town, but the view is so spectacular that we didn't even care. Plus, Otavalo is much bigger than we had expected so getting out of the busy city area was welcome after a long day. The staff is very helpful and even offers a free ride into town in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.7

Loved this place. Location was amazing with great views. Was only a three minute taxi ride out of town but far enough to feel like you are out of the city which was great when you have been in city's the whole time. Great wifi. Super clean. Shower was a bit cold but that's my only criticism. Have been all through South America and this hostel has been my favourite. Staff were lovely and helpful but English was minimal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2016
9.1

We had a fantastic time and the environment was amazing. The location is so beautiful and although it's a little way out of town it is well worth the relaxing and tranquil setting. The friendly staff went out of their way to assist us and provide a wonderful experience. The rooms were lovely, and clean and the garden and flowers were gorgeous. We would love to go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
4.0

My stay here was surreal. I was the only guest, so obviously the atmosphere a little odd. I had a single room which was tiny, had dead flies on the windowsill, was very damp (peeling paint and damp patches on walls, the loo roll even felt damp!). The room was run down, the sheets were a cheap polyester material with a princess coverlet for adult guests. Considering there were no other guests there they could have put me somewhere nicer.The staff argued and shouted at each other in front of me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you liked our location but of course sorry about the stay. We slipped up here and should have offered you another room, this room was due to be redecorated and has now been refurbished, and we have given clear instructions to the staff to make sure that all the rooms are fully prepared which was not the case this time. We hope you enjoyed the gardens and the view at our place, maybe a walk in the pretty countryside nearby. We also have horeseriding, a tennis court and jacuzzi which many enjoy.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th May 2016
8.9

Awesome place, only thing is that there is no kitchen and no supermarket around and the food they offer I'd consider tasty but pricey. Still you should give it a go, the view and atmosphere are priceless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.7

This hostel is very nice ! The view is wonderfull ! The room was clean and the breakfast was really good ! I really enjoyed my stay there ! The location is very nice if you want to go hiking to the Mojandas' lake !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.6

I really liked this hostel. It's absolutely beautiful and the hammocks are a plus. The staff does not speak English, but they are extremely helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Mar 2016
10.0

Beautiful location looking over the valley. Nice to stay outside of town and see more of Otavalo than just the market. Short taxi ride into the main square was easy and free ride on Saturday mornings to the market was much appreciated! Eggs and coffee in the morning were great. Hosts very friendly and hospitable. Facilities were awesome, hot showers, restaurant, tennis court, lots of animals, jacuzzi. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.