X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel 17 Reviews

225 E. 17th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
355 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in a good location, then Hotel 17 is your best bet. It won't bowl you over with customer service or amenities, but it is comfortable and secure.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved the location and general ambience of Hotel 17. Staff very efficient, but maybe lacking a little warmth! Great place to return to.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I was very pleased with my state here and I will stay again. This is a beautiful older building. As such there are shared bathrooms but the staff kept everything very clean.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A very nice area, close to a park, Good restaurants. Stores with most of what you need within walking distance.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Stay 1 week for work, single private room + shared bathroom. Very nice room on 7th floor with nice view. Comfortable bed, AC, sink in the room which make it very convenient. Shared bathrooms were cleaned several times a day. The whole hotel is very clean. Wifi worked well in the room. I would have prefer a little fridge in the room than a TV screen, but otherwise everything was great. Nice and safe location.


66%

Pros: The Hotel was nice and clean. Shared bathrooms were always clean and usually available. Most of the Staff was kind and helpful and gave us good tips and information. Security was very good and nice neighbourhood. Cons: The rooms are extremely small and if you don't smoke, be sure to ask for a non-smoking room. The beds are very noisy and the matress not straight. There is no common area and no kitchen, which would be nice to prepare some food and to interact with people.


80%

Nice neighbourhood and less than 10 min walk to subway and Union Square. The staff were helpful. Although bathrooms shared it was usually not an issue and it was kept very clean. A good value choice. Wi Fi in my room was not the best, very slow and dropped in and out. I had best reception in the hallway, using the stairs for a seat.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Both showers on 5th floor are in bad condition. One has little pressure that the shower becomes drizzle… The other one has strong pressure, however, the drainage is very slow that water accumulates in the tub at all time.


74%

Very quiet, especially for NYC. Adequate for my needs. Internet very slow my first day there but speeded up on succeeding days.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Strange old school hotel with cool architecture in a great location, and relatively cheap price. Shared bathrooms are small and cramped, but it IS New York, and in a week there I only had to wait to use them once. Rooms were nice, staff were relatively friendly and easy to deal with.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

This is a great choice for a budget hotel type environment. I had a single and it was just enough space to be comfortable and I never had to wait to use the restroom or take a shower. All the facilities were also super clean


100%

Perfect location in Midtown Manhattan. I'm a college student who was looking for a cheap place to stay and was blown away by how nice this place was considering I only paid $79 a night and I was right in Manhattan! Less than a block to subway stop, safe neighborhood with good restaurants. The room was so nice, had sink in the room and was impressed by how clean the bathrooms were. I'm definitely staying here again the next time I'm in New York-Hotel 17 is best option for college students!!!


77%

old world charm love the hood


63%

It's a lovely building, but it's dark & unwelcoming. Staff, they there because they have to. Otherwise, the rooms are clean, comfortable & spacious (but not the hallway). I would check out other hotels, unless you are desperate for an accommodation.


74%

Hotel 17 is a really nice place with a charming atmosphere. Nethertheless the shared bathroom is to less for the money. Shower and toilet are in one room. If someone showers the whole floor can not use the toilet. This is the situation every morning and evening.


80%

A good hotel for its price in a central location.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great place, nice rooms and awesome location

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's definitely a budget hotel, but it was clean, quiet, safe, comfortable and had a great location. It also definitely felt very old fashioned New York-y. I will definitely be recommending it to others.


89%

A hotel more than a hostel!!! the only difference is the shared bathroom... but there are 2 baths in each corridor, and some rooms have their own bathroom... so we found it always free for us!! :) There is a sink inside the room. You can go walking to financial district and also to Times Square and Central Park... it's in the middle of Manhattan! :) expensive to be a "hostel", but cheap to be in New York. Happy to be here.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was fine, it was clean and decent, only 2 blocks from subway stations. But sometimes, there was a loud and weird noise from the water pipe, you have to shut down the pipe to mute the noise. You have to use shared bathrooms, but I have not met the situation that I had to wait in line to use the bathrooms.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(247 results)


View all New York Hotels

Please give us your feedback