Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Cala Inn Alajuela

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2017
9.1

Amazing breakfast. Parking is limited and pricey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
8.9

This is a great place to stay when traveling to and from the Airport. The beds and bathrooms are clean, not very noisy at night either! There aren't any lockers. I stayed for one night and left early in the morning, the host was helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
7.4

Perfect place for a stopover before flying home but wouldn't recommend staying more than one night. The area is decent- some good food & coffee places nearby & obviously close to the airport (although don't book a taxi with them from the airport, as it's cheaper to just do it yourself). The room had no key and was stuffy but otherwise fine for a quick sleep. The staff were absolutely lovely & super helpful, & the breakfast was small but nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Great breakfast, lovely staff, good location. Perfect for a respite after a long flight

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

We had a very pleasant stay at Cala inn. The breakfast was delicious and I felt very safe because the owner and his family run the inn. He was very accommodating and very helpful throughout our stay. Definitely recommend Cala inn if you need a place to stay close to the airport before your flight out of San Jose!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
8.6

Good hostel in Alajuela. The staff is awesome and also the hostel itself is perfectly nice for a few nights - even though a bit "old" and not best to party, hang around with other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
9.7

Fantastic staff, polite and friendly (and patient). The area is a little rough, so don't go walking alone at night but the facility is secure and safe. Taxi from the airport to the hostel and you will be fine (takes about 5-10 minutes). Will absolutely be staying here again; the complimentary homemade breakfast was phenomenal and a good reminder of why family-run hostels trump hotel chains.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sheridannaomi
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Mar 2017
6.9

There are no lockers for your stuff, the rooms and bathroom aren't the greatest, but it's just a house/ apartment turned into a hostel. The free breakfast is fantastic and the couple who own it are lovely and very helpful. It is good just for one night - travelling to or from the airport, but a bit overpriced for what you get. Another tip, take the bus to/from the airport. It take 5-10 minutes and only costs a dollar. The bus drivers are really helpful too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • shannonemulkern
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
9.1

Fantastic spot right near the airport. Agustin and his family are very kind and hosptiable people. I stayed for two nights just so I could rest up a bit. It seems like most people only stay for an overnight and then move along. There's a gate that needs to be unlocked by staff every time - so it's super secure, but I felt bad coming and going and being a pain. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order when you woke up! Agustin booked a tour for me, which was very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
8.0

This was a great place to stay. It was a little difficult to find, though. I thought it was across from the big park in the middle of town, but it's actually south of there across from a smaller park. I was in the dorm room which had two bunk beds (4 beds total) so it wasn't too full of people. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast is made by the kind people who work at the desk, and it was delicious. It was scrambled eggs with meat and onion, toast, fruit, and drinks. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.