Hostelworld.com

Hotel Dorothy

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
5.1

Staff was not very friendly, rooms and common area weren't very clean, price charged was comparable to much nicer hostels in the same area of town.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
6.6

Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. Bathroom in room was dirty (shower indicating that it hadn't been cleaned since last guest; stained sheets, etc.). Price was good. I would stay there again if all the other budget places were full (as they were for us on this night). Close to bus station and grocery stores, short walk to downtown restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
6.6

Hotel has good location near the bus stop even if it is not directly downtown. Really quiet at night but impossible to het a good night's sleep because of the springs int the mattresses. I had two beds, slept one both. Slept poorly. My room had a small window so it felt a bit claustrophobic. Common space is an outdoor terrace and that is the highlight of this place. Hot water shower Kitchen basic but user friendly. The staff is very welcoming and helpful and that i really appreciated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
6.9

Dorothy had friendly staff and is easily located. It is an ok stay, but the atmosphere in general is not very inviting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tksch4211
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.0

Basic hostel near the city centre. Staff was very helpful, knew everything about activities and oranized them for us. Staff was the best during our stay in Costa Rica.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
9.1

Although the building is old and some rooms are not perfect, the owner is doing his best to make guests comfortable. He is very friendly and helpful. When I asked for a different room he immediately moved me to a better one. The hotel is in a good location and I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
7.1

The room was very secure, and the location was nice. The room was kind of dirty, and our room did not have bug screens on the windows, unlike the other rooms we saw there. We couldn't leave the room light on long at night or else the ceiling was covered in mosquitoes. The light in our bathroom did not work, and pieces of the ceiling fan chipped off at high speed while we were sleeping under it. The staff knew about these facilities problems when we checked in, but did not fix them

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.7

We absolutely loved this hostel. The staff were helpful! Especially Robert, he made our stay in La Fortuna really fun with his knowledge of the area. Could have been a little cleaner but great overall!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
4.0

This was easily the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The location is decent, the staff are nice enough; but the rooms were VERY dirty. My bed sheet had some dirt on it, and I saw a small red dots on it so I questioned whether it had bed bugs. I decided to just stay, but woke up the following day and got killed by bed bugs. There is no social atmosphere to speak of either. It's location is ok, about a 2 minute walk from the centre of town. Overall not a good experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2016
7.7

Near downtown. Balcony with lots of birds and a beautiful view of the volcano. Some rooms can be pretty noisy because the hotel is close to the highway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.