Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Dorothy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
Hotel Dorothy Located at 200 mts south from the central park, San Carlos, Alajuela, La Fortuna.
Hotel Dorothy
Costa Rica
La Fortuna 21007 200 mts south from the central park, San Carlos, Alajuela
81% 233
10.4684764 -84.6445346
Hotel Dorothy
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ericdeschambault1053
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice hôtel, good value for the price. It was empty when we were there so not much ambiance. It's clean and the staff is really nice. The place felt a little old though, would need a refresher. No A/C but there is a fan in the room. The beds were OK. It's really close to downtown and to the grocery store. There is a kitchen you can use and free Wi-Fi in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
10.0

We loved our stay at Hotel Doeothy. The fan was strong, there was coffee available in the morning, staff was fantastic and genuine, and there was a kitchen available. Location was perfect- a couple blocks from several good sodas and a supermarket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • RachelHudson
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.7

Lovely place, lovely staff and has a fantastic view of Arenal Volcano provided there are not clouds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
7.7

Staff were very friendly and helpful! Ceiling fan was nice... The shower leaked everywhere, and room was pretty dirty, but happy overall!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Apr 2016
9.1

Nice place with comfy rooms and a great kitchen. 30 seconds walk from a big supermarket, and the well stocked kitchen meant we self-catered often. it Was quiet when we were there, but I'm not sure the communal area would be a great place to relax anyway. Staff were friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
8.0

Nice place, great location, we happened to be the only people there that night, but the person at the reception was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eglasrud6041
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2016
10.0

The only hostel in La Fortuna with a splendid view of the volcano. Other ones have views of restaurants and buildings, and mine was completely unobstructed. However, the best thing by far was the staff, who were extremely helpful and friendly. I came for the cheap room. I walked away with new friends, wonderful photos from my room, and great memories.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
10.0

They were very helpful and kind. We had a clean room and wifi. It was a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
5.7

The location was great, next to station/supermarket/main square, however the place and the rooms are not very clean and up to date - a few cockroaches going around - and a persistent smell of damp in the common area and rooms on the ground floor. Staff was helpful but not outstanding,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
9.7

Our stay at the HOTEL DORTHY was a very nice and comfortable. The location was perfect because it was a little out of all the busy and someone's loud tourist. Walking distance from the grocery and bars and cafes. The room was large and comfy for my 2 grandsons, son and myself. We has a very quiet room. The bathroom could have been a little cleaner and the sink pipes came loose a couple of times. The staff at pleasant and informative. We stayed 2 nights and I would recommend HOTEL DORTHY. Mkj

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.