X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hotel Du Commerce Reviews

14 rue de la montagne sainte genevieve, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1058 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

atleast you shouldnt charge for shower- its bad enough that the toliets are putside the room, and the shower is on the ground floor!


51%

1. You had to leave your key at the reception when you left the hostel, while all your luggage and belonings were in there. 2. only 2 showers for all rooms with a shared bathroom, which were located near the reception; you needed to queue in the reception hall while other guests were arriving or leaving. 3. Kitchen facilities were extremely poor - you were even charged extra for a cup of tea or coffee. 4. unhelpful staff. 5. our room and bathroom were dirty and in need of maintenance


91%

Amazing location, minutes away from underground and Notre dame. Warm friendly welcome. Very clean room. Showers away from room but clean, hot and powerful. Would definitely stay again.... We loved it.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Just the best location! Near Notre Dame (it was the first what we saw when came up from metro), near Latin quarter's gift shops and restaurants, near Pantheon and Sorbonne. Many metro and bus stations around. Clean rooms, very helpful staff, free wifi. You have to pay extra 2 euros for showers but it was clean and well working. Good and convenient place to stay for a young couple or a group who came to see >> Paris's attractions (not to stay in hotel). Stairs would be a problem for old people.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great stay here, fantastic location, safe, staff were all amazingly friendly and welcoming and had some great recommendations too. Been to paris several times and stayed in a few places and none have been as positive and relaxed as this place. Will be staying here again on my next trip.


100%

Firstly this hotel has amazing value for money, it was very clean, don't let the price fool you, the quality was superb and yet the price so low. I have just come back to London after a marvellous stay in Paris with my girlfriend. I must say choosing this Hotel Du Commerce was the main factor our holidays was such a success. The location is EXCELLENT. WE WALKED EVERYWHERE !! Only 5 minutes walking, from Notre Damn. The staff were very friendly, can speak many languages, FREE WIFI and VERY CLEAN

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the black dude with glasses is a bit rude

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Amazing location. Walking distance from everything. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby. Just next to Notre Dam. The room wasn't great, but fine for a short stay. Had to pay for showers. Overall good value for money. Helpful staff.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoyed my stay in Hotel Du Commerce. I felt like a monsieur in the 1920's. The lady at reception had a nice smile, was friendly and went out of her way to ensure my stay was pleasant and comfortable. I had upgraded to a room with an ensuite for only a few extra euros. The location is two minutes to Notre Dame and excellent restaurants, markets and shops. I will certainly return go here again.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Excellent location, just by Boulevard Saint Germain and real close to a Subway station. The hotel is OK and the rooms have only what's necessary for a brief stay. Do yourself a favour and book a room with shower inside. The only real problem of this hotel is the room: they don't smell real nice and equipments are old and out-of-date. Good for a brief stay.


71%

Too much street noise the bar next door (singing in the street at 2:00, 3:00, 4:00AM). Hotel du Commerce would only accept CASH, no Credit Cards! If I had known that, I would have brought more Euros, rather than pay the exorbitant rates at the machines.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

They offer a shuttle service that is not realliable. It was late and the driver tried to charge what we've already paid to the hotel.


77%

Excellent location! Nice staff. Only problem is the heater is not working well


74%

It was OK, not the type of place you will always remember about, but clean enough, safe enough and rather cosy. The location is very good. Good value for money.


34%

Disgusting room , quality like a hostel not a hotel, very poor service


80%

It was a little hot at night because the heating could not be turned off and there works in progress in the next building behind the wall.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Our shower was at the end of our bed which was a little strange! Other then that it was beautiful, clean and modern. Perfect location. A really great find.


74%

The good 1. Fabulous location 2. Fabulous price 3. Very clean The 'meh' 1. Very slow wifi. Don't expect to load a video. 2. Shared toilets 3. Showers cost an addition €2.00 per person, per shower. When travelling on a budget, this really sucks. 4. Cash only payment 5. You have to deposit your key at the front desk when you're out of the room. This might leave you feeling a bit uneasy if you're travelling with expensive kit (laptops, cameras, etc.)


74%

The hotel has a very well located, just a few minutes away from Notre Dame. It is very quiet. On the bad side, they charge you 2 extra euros per person per night to use the showers, which are located at the reception. It does not have an elevator.


91%

Very well located, It's possible to go to almost all the touristic places by foot; friendly staff and very good prices, totally worth.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Paris Hotels

Please give us your feedback