X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Du Commerce Reviews

14 rue de la montagne sainte genevieve, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1243 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very helpful and friendly staff. The room was generally clean but the hair in the bed was a bit unsettling. The location near the vibey streets of the Latin Quarter was excellent. would definitely stay here again.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great stay at this hostel. No breakfast included unfortunately, however there's crockery/cutlery you can use. Only downside was the construction work being done right outside our window which brought along noise and some very strong smells. Room was clean and plenty of room with a personal bathroom. Showerhead could not be attached to the wall which was a bit inconvenient, and the bed was a bit hard. But overall you get a good experience for your money. Can recommend to students/backpackers!


77%

Great location right by Notre Dame Cathedral and perfect for just sleeping. Helpful staff and printer in the lobby for printing boarding passes. Our only complaint was the weird smells that we think came from the bathroom shower. We had to keep the door to the room closed.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The location is very good, but the rooms have no air conditioning or ventilators. The street is very crowded and loud, so we couldn't sleep before 1:00, because of the heat. The showers are paid separately and you have to go downstairs to take the shower. Not very interesting. We asked the staff for a ventilator or a room change and nothing was done.


57%

The hotel is on a perfect location to visit Paris, it has a metro station on a 3-minute walk and also the St michel RER on a 7-minute walk so on terms on location is very good, accesible and easy to move around. The rooms were quite small and they were not very nice, the lobby is the only nice thing on this hotel, they don't clean your room unless you are staying for more than 7 days, the room also smell like moisture all the time. The lady at the fro t desk is nice and helpful.


77%

Definitely, fantastic location! For sure, if you are staying on the 4th floor, as i did, walking up and down with luggage will be a bit special :) But its a nice place with affordable prices. However, I wish the staff could be a bit more friendly and client-orientated. The only exception was an man in glasses who worked at night - he told us about the day of music. However this place is highly recommeded.


43%

good location but the hotel's staff was impolite, asking to call the taxi but got refuse, told us walk to the taxi station. The room was small and dirty.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Commerce! It was a very quint, lovely place to stay in a great location! The staff was always very nice and accomodating; we definitely intend on returning!


51%

Staff is somewhat serious and dont seem happy at talking to guests and guiding them where to go. When you come back to the hotel, all you have to say is the room number and they will give you key without any identification that it is in fact your room. This hotel is good if there is absolutley nothing else around and for short stays. Our room was on "fifth" floor (it was actually 6, they dont count lobby as first floor) with no elevator. Not a problem for us, just a heads up for people who can't


60%

The hotel is ok, but if you don't have a private bathroom there are only 2 showers for the entire hotel in the ground floor, there are no elevators, the black receptionist is not very kind (at all), they don't accept credit card, but overall the location is good.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing location and very clean. The beds are not very comfortable but for the price and location it is a great place to pass out after a long day touring around Paris.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This place is very average. The floor sloped in our room and had a weird plastic shower cubicle in our room. The ceiling had a lot of spotty mould but the bed sheets felt surprisingly clean. Great location but otherwise, it smelt like paint downstairs, wifi is so slow and the guy at the front desk appears to know little or care very little. We also had to leave the key at the desk every time we left and I heard other people being asked if they wanted to shower as they had to pay to shower.


74%

Excellent location, it's only a 5 minute walk to Notra Dame! The staff were nice and the building itself is clean! The only complaint I have is regarding the broken taps in the shower, the cold tap didn't work so we had to deal with scolding hot water! There's also a lot of construction in the building next door so sleeping past half 6 wasn't an option.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent locationin one of the most beautiful parts of Paris, 3 minutes from Nôtre Dame and from Panthéon. It is comparatively cheap when compared to similar places in the city. There is a fridge and a kitchen to have your own breakfast, lunch or whatever. There is no elevator and the bathrooms are always outside the room. They are not crowded at all. You can have a room with shower if you pay a bit more, which is definitely worth because otherwise you have to pay 2€/shower.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Need to pay 2euros for use the shower ! Staff isn't good


77%

The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us recommendations and also a discounted rate on a River Seine boat tour. They all spoke English, and the free internet/printing was great for checking into our flights and printing our boarding passes. Only having two showers and having to pay 2 euro for each shower was annoying but renovations were nice. Also, it made me nervous to leave the keys at the reception desk each day but our belongings were safe and everything was left untouched.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Paris Hotels

Please give us your feedback