X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Du Commerce Reviews

14 rue de la montagne sainte genevieve, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1235 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The location is very good, but the rooms have no air conditioning or ventilators. The street is very crowded and loud, so we couldn't sleep before 1:00, because of the heat. The showers are paid separately and you have to go downstairs to take the shower. Not very interesting. We asked the staff for a ventilator or a room change and nothing was done.


77%

Definitely, fantastic location! For sure, if you are staying on the 4th floor, as i did, walking up and down with luggage will be a bit special :) But its a nice place with affordable prices. However, I wish the staff could be a bit more friendly and client-orientated. The only exception was an man in glasses who worked at night - he told us about the day of music. However this place is highly recommeded.


43%

good location but the hotel's staff was impolite, asking to call the taxi but got refuse, told us walk to the taxi station. The room was small and dirty.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Commerce! It was a very quint, lovely place to stay in a great location! The staff was always very nice and accomodating; we definitely intend on returning!


51%

Staff is somewhat serious and dont seem happy at talking to guests and guiding them where to go. When you come back to the hotel, all you have to say is the room number and they will give you key without any identification that it is in fact your room. This hotel is good if there is absolutley nothing else around and for short stays. Our room was on "fifth" floor (it was actually 6, they dont count lobby as first floor) with no elevator. Not a problem for us, just a heads up for people who can't


60%

The hotel is ok, but if you don't have a private bathroom there are only 2 showers for the entire hotel in the ground floor, there are no elevators, the black receptionist is not very kind (at all), they don't accept credit card, but overall the location is good.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing location and very clean. The beds are not very comfortable but for the price and location it is a great place to pass out after a long day touring around Paris.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This place is very average. The floor sloped in our room and had a weird plastic shower cubicle in our room. The ceiling had a lot of spotty mould but the bed sheets felt surprisingly clean. Great location but otherwise, it smelt like paint downstairs, wifi is so slow and the guy at the front desk appears to know little or care very little. We also had to leave the key at the desk every time we left and I heard other people being asked if they wanted to shower as they had to pay to shower.


74%

Excellent location, it's only a 5 minute walk to Notra Dame! The staff were nice and the building itself is clean! The only complaint I have is regarding the broken taps in the shower, the cold tap didn't work so we had to deal with scolding hot water! There's also a lot of construction in the building next door so sleeping past half 6 wasn't an option.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent locationin one of the most beautiful parts of Paris, 3 minutes from Nôtre Dame and from Panthéon. It is comparatively cheap when compared to similar places in the city. There is a fridge and a kitchen to have your own breakfast, lunch or whatever. There is no elevator and the bathrooms are always outside the room. They are not crowded at all. You can have a room with shower if you pay a bit more, which is definitely worth because otherwise you have to pay 2€/shower.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Need to pay 2euros for use the shower ! Staff isn't good


77%

The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us recommendations and also a discounted rate on a River Seine boat tour. They all spoke English, and the free internet/printing was great for checking into our flights and printing our boarding passes. Only having two showers and having to pay 2 euro for each shower was annoying but renovations were nice. Also, it made me nervous to leave the keys at the reception desk each day but our belongings were safe and everything was left untouched.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

U hv to pay 2 eur for showering every time,i dont want to pay that when the shower is located at the ground floor and in the lobby. Funny to find out the pantry was quite pointless, you are not allow to microwave nor to eat in there, they say it would stink up the area, n they hv never placed any sign show up the rules. wifi you will need to ask for a log in slip at the desk every 72 hrs Last but not lease. if you traveling with big luggages, the narrow stairs will be troublesome


86%

It is a pretty good hotel. The worst part is the fee for shower, two euro per time per person. But the shower itself is very good.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The responsable for the Hotel was really friendly and helpful.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Paris Hotels

Please give us your feedback