X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Francois Reviews

Rue Borgval, 15, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
509 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Staff weren't very helpful but the location was fantastic and you get what you pay for.


71%

There were no toilet paper at all in all toilets for several days.


20%

The hostel is terrible!! 😣


51%

using a vacuum cleaner would be nice. dirt all over the carpeting... mold in the shower, ridiculously small basin, unusable sockets, very noisy at night, no toilets in the rooms - only two on the floor used by every guest (dirty at night - cleaned in the morning)... all in all - should not be more expensive. not sure if i we would come again.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It doesn't make sense to have a bedroom without shower. We have booked this one and only realize that it didn't had shower in the confirmation of booking. The room is too small.


74%

The hotel has an excellent location. As the advertisment says, it does not have access to a shower, but it does have a sink in the room so if you're only there for a day or two you can manage with ease. The bed in our room (1) was incredible. I have been travelling for 3 months and every other place I've been to it was awful.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It would be better if there is shower place.


54%

not really clean, we had to wait a lot for the check in, bathroom was also not clean and was running out of paper.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The woman who works at hotel Francois was very kind, allowing us to leave our luggage locked in our checked-out room for the day while exploring Brussels since out flight was later that night, and calling cabs for us past the 24 hour in advance rule. However, 2 out of 3 rooms rented by my group had bed bugs which is cardinally unacceptable in any hotel or hostel.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The installations were terrible, we encountered so many problems such as : -incredibly dirty -the piping system was all blocked: shower and sink -BEDBUGS! the bed was full of them and me and companions ended up all bitten and with allergies. During one night we found 3 insects in the bed. -promised toilet included in bedroom and we had to share, so dirty, disgusting and stinky.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Could use a door in the bathroom. Also a shower curtain and a holder for the shower head would be nice as well.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really enjoyed staying here just a few words if you get one of the rooms on the top floor they have recently been refurbished so everything looks brand new great shower as well especially the rainfall showerhead. I was up very early each day for the trips i was doing so it didnt bother me but there are building noise going on next door.The location is excellent and the staff very helpful. Next time i go back to brussels will definitely book again.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The shower was okay however it was very easy to wet the floor. There were a few bars close to the hostel that had loud music on until at least midnight, there was no air conditioning so we had to keep the windows open all night as it was very hot, the noise was very disruptive. We had a comfy bed and the hostel is only a 10min walk away from the grand place. There was not a common room and the wifi signal in the bedroom was not very strong. Overall, we had a good stay.


37%

it is the place to be avoided, as wel as the whole Brussels

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Our room was at the last floor and internet didn't work there. There wasn't any room facilities (no hairdryer, no soap, just two towels!). The hotel is located in a very noisy street so if you want to relax at night is not possible until 3:00 a.m. The only good thing of the hotel is its position.


66%

Booked a Standard room for two but room included a third single bed! Stayed for one night in a nice spacious room. Bed was very uncomfortable, and the bathroom did not have a door, but instead a curtain. Best part about this Hotel is its location! Hotel is right off a lively road filled with restaurants. McDonalds and Pizza Hut also nearby. Very close to city centre. We (two females) were able to walk back from the city centre to the Hotel at 1 am on a Friday night without any problem.


60%

Nice big room with two windows. Good shower. Room needed freshening up and a thorough cleaning as did the communal toilets. Plenty of furniture in the room. Only a small handtowel each no bath towels and no change of towel or cleaning service. Narrow staircase for getting bags up and down. Staff not particularly helpful. You have to walk up a flight of steps to an office to check in and there's no clear entrance and sign. A few improvements could make it from a decent place to a very good place.


49%

The location was great for site seeing in the square and for beer lovers, however the facility was not very clean. The floors are stained and the bed sheets made us itch constantly. The toilet area was shared between floors, it was really small and dirty. Beds were uncomfortable.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Location is really good and double room was a big. Hotel is tiny and quiet so u can sleep well. Staff was poor and the room a little shabby. Still its ok!


54%

Most part of the time the hotel was unattended. We had to wait more than two hours in the street to check in. There were bags from another gusts in the stairs (the staff were suppose to watch them, but there wasn't anybody there). I booked a room without shower, thinking that I would share a shower in the corridor... but no! My bedroom didn't have a shower neither I could use another one. ¬¬ Toilets without paper... At least the hotel was well located.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Brussels Hotels

Please give us your feedback