X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Francois Reviews

Rue Borgval, 15, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
523 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good to stay 2 or 3 nights. Small room. Good bed. Nice staff.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Firstly, we booked a room with toilet inside. The toilet was on the stairs, and was dirty. Secondly, receptionist was not at the place. He moved his working hours to 18 o'clock. Checkin at 18 - it is too late. The receptionist's English was very poor. For some reason he checked our visas for 10 minutes. Thirdly, the room hasn't normal illumination, only bedside lamps. There are no soap or shower gel. The floor and one of the beds were dirty. Scary place, but very good location.


77%

near to everywhere, small rooms, but you just sleep there so it fits. just the smell in the room was growse. it smelt like a wet dog, we bought a room freshener. toilets are okay.


66%

The location of this hotel is excellent as it is very near to local attraction. Staffs are considerable and helpful. However, the room is back to basic without any facilities and too small.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

TV doesn't work, wi-fi doesn't work, the noise with the window closed is like if it was open, very noisy at night, no shower, the floor was dirty...

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff weren't very helpful but the location was fantastic and you get what you pay for.


71%

There were no toilet paper at all in all toilets for several days.


20%

The hostel is terrible!! 😣


51%

using a vacuum cleaner would be nice. dirt all over the carpeting... mold in the shower, ridiculously small basin, unusable sockets, very noisy at night, no toilets in the rooms - only two on the floor used by every guest (dirty at night - cleaned in the morning)... all in all - should not be more expensive. not sure if i we would come again.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It doesn't make sense to have a bedroom without shower. We have booked this one and only realize that it didn't had shower in the confirmation of booking. The room is too small.


74%

The hotel has an excellent location. As the advertisment says, it does not have access to a shower, but it does have a sink in the room so if you're only there for a day or two you can manage with ease. The bed in our room (1) was incredible. I have been travelling for 3 months and every other place I've been to it was awful.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It would be better if there is shower place.


54%

not really clean, we had to wait a lot for the check in, bathroom was also not clean and was running out of paper.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The woman who works at hotel Francois was very kind, allowing us to leave our luggage locked in our checked-out room for the day while exploring Brussels since out flight was later that night, and calling cabs for us past the 24 hour in advance rule. However, 2 out of 3 rooms rented by my group had bed bugs which is cardinally unacceptable in any hotel or hostel.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The installations were terrible, we encountered so many problems such as : -incredibly dirty -the piping system was all blocked: shower and sink -BEDBUGS! the bed was full of them and me and companions ended up all bitten and with allergies. During one night we found 3 insects in the bed. -promised toilet included in bedroom and we had to share, so dirty, disgusting and stinky.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Could use a door in the bathroom. Also a shower curtain and a holder for the shower head would be nice as well.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really enjoyed staying here just a few words if you get one of the rooms on the top floor they have recently been refurbished so everything looks brand new great shower as well especially the rainfall showerhead. I was up very early each day for the trips i was doing so it didnt bother me but there are building noise going on next door.The location is excellent and the staff very helpful. Next time i go back to brussels will definitely book again.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The shower was okay however it was very easy to wet the floor. There were a few bars close to the hostel that had loud music on until at least midnight, there was no air conditioning so we had to keep the windows open all night as it was very hot, the noise was very disruptive. We had a comfy bed and the hostel is only a 10min walk away from the grand place. There was not a common room and the wifi signal in the bedroom was not very strong. Overall, we had a good stay.


37%

it is the place to be avoided, as wel as the whole Brussels

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Our room was at the last floor and internet didn't work there. There wasn't any room facilities (no hairdryer, no soap, just two towels!). The hotel is located in a very noisy street so if you want to relax at night is not possible until 3:00 a.m. The only good thing of the hotel is its position.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Brussels Hotels

Please give us your feedback