X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Kamal Reviews

South Gate of Taj Mahal, Tajganj, Agra, India

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
134 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Nice staff, close to the Taj and amazing view on Taj from the rooftop.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

If you go to visit Taj Mahal, do it on a day trip from Delhi or look for accommodation in eg Fatehpur Sikri. Agra is so polluted, full of garbage and the people in the street incredibly aggressive selling souvenirs and rikscha rides. Our room hat windows to a hallway and not to the outside. It took us our last breath. We left Agra without visiting the Taj Mahal, we just wanted to get out of this town.


83%

Awesome hotel! With an amazing view! Nice staff.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean, awesome location.


77%

The hostel is OK, but the view from the rooftop is fabulous.


74%

The hotel by itself is quite average, but its proximity to the Taj Mahal and the extraordinary view of it from the roof-deck restaurant is unparalleled. Very decently priced, considering this. The restaurant was just 'ok', and service was rather slow considering how few guests there were. But again, the view makes it difficult to complain...

  • 5th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We arrived very late at night and the staff were very helpful. The view from the rooftop is fantastic but the location around the hostel is not very nice to say the least but it is within walking distance to Taj so is worth it.

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location for the early morning start of seeing the Taj Mahal. In addition to this there is a nice roof top cafe, extremely helpful staff, rooms are very clean. Cannot say enough good about this hotel. Best place I stayed at in India and also the cheapest.


69%

The situation is perfect 5 minutes walk to the Taj,the room was nice but did only have a window out to a corridor.

  • 11th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

I think that there are alternatives to this hotel that are better and cheaper in terms of room quality however I don't think there will be many with a view as good as this. I am not sure if you can use the roof top restaurant if you do not stay there. It is also worth noting that at sunset it can be difficult to get a table with a good view.Its in a good location, close to the taj with many budget restaurants in the vicinity.


77%

Good Budget Hotel, excellent view of the Taj Mahal.. poor hotel water facilities. But on the whole will come again and stay at your hotel.

  • 26th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

This is a cheap basic hotel. We stayed one night to visit Taj Mahal. It is a couple of minutes walk to the East Gate. OK for what we wanted but would not have wanted to stay longer. Worst thing was the bedding. Clean sheet on bed but cover had a fixed cover and had been sleot under by many ioeople before me! Unfortunately we hit an unusually cold spell so had to use it. It is what it is so you have to decide if it's for you.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Rooftop restaurant: good value and very nice view onto the taj mahal. wifi almost everywhere, staff: very nice and welcoming. room: filthy and i've problem to stand it even if obviously the cleanness standard in Agra is lower than anywhere else, not speaking about the blanket which had blood strains...bring your travel sheets, it's a requirement. bathroom: ok, not exceptional but ok, hot shower works for 5 to 10 minutes so hurry when your are 2 people:-)


86%

Good hotel in an excellent location, very close to south gate. Has a fantastic roof top and the food is nice - watch out for the monkeys! Definitely recommend.


57%

Dark dirty rooms. Bedspread and bathroom very dirty. No windows in the room. Great rooftop restaurant and location.

  • 12th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Not recommendable ... TOO dirty - reception not competent ... But what saved our stay was the friendly cook (new years eve buffet on the top terrace) and the waiter!

Owner Comment (Hide)
This Room was reserved for 1st Jan,2013 and guests arrived on 31st Dec. 2012 by there own mistake and on 31st we were fully reserved so what reception can do?Still we manage an room but still complaint :(...

63%

I stayed for one night and booked the cheaper room. After my arrival I changed to a more expensive room, because I didnt want to stay in the cheaper room. In my opinion the hotel is a little overpriced, it has a very nice rooftop and the food is okay, but they need to buy new towels and do a little bit more cleaning. The manager and owner are really nice.

  • 16th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Booked this hostel in November originally for one night but due to train delays we only managed to stay a day. This didn't bother the manager who was very happy and welcoming to us anyway. He let us have our room for the day so we could shower and rest, leave our bags and head to the Taj which was only a short walk. Clean and great rooms!


83%

We really enjoyed our stay at your hotel and thought it was good value for money. However, you could make much more of your rooftop & the amazing view you have of the Taj Mahal. Some plants and subtle lighting would make it a much nicer place to hang out.

  • 23rd Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
many thanks for your kind suggestion.We have done that now.

71%

As most travellers visit Agra for the Taj Mahal the position of the hotel is perfect. Great views of the Taj from the roof terrace. Basic accommodation with free wifi.


(103 results)


View all Agra Hotels

Please give us your feedback