X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel L Kamata Reviews

7-30-5 Nishi-Kamata, Oda-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
139 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Lovely authentic style Japanese guest house/hostel

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

With a little stressful journey to get across tokyo, it was really nice to be greeted by friendly and welcoming staff. Very close to both Kamata and Keiyu Kamata stations, it was an ideal place to get to airport next day (15 min walk to Keiyu Kamata). Room was super clean, bit bigger than your average sized room in Japan with kettle (free tea and coffee) fridge and a very good massage chair. Would def recommend

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was extremly responsive, friendly and supportive. There is a young lady and she spoke a very good English. She helped me and my friend to find our way in this totally different and nice Country and City. Japan is rather far away but we would come back and can recommend this Hotel. Thank you and hope you have enyoyed the "Gummibärchen".

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Sweetest friendliest staff. Can't complain

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very cute hotel! Hidden in a tiny laneway surrounded by bars and restaurants. The area has a great cultural feel and really easy to get the train anywhere in Tokyo (1 min walk to station). Small rooms of course but very comfortable with lots of free stuff! We stayed in 2 different rooms which both smelled of cigarette smoke. Didn't bother us but might some people. Lovely staff who really looked after us. Would definitely stay here again.


97%

+ Hotel was just opposite the Kamata Station. A mall and many shop just nearby the station. Room is clean and wide. The staff is so nice even they not understand english, they are still trying helping you as they can. They also have some 居酒屋 the hotel. - Check in time set was abit late compare with others hotel. But anyway we can keep our luggage in their storeroom before check in.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Kamata is not the nicest part of town, but the Hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. Good value for money: Clean bed, en suite bathroom, and close to the JR Kamata train station.


97%

very very very nice and helpful staff! big rooms, comfy beds, shower is awesome and everything u really need in ur room (microwave, freezer, hair dryer, shampoo, phone, tv, radio, adjustable light). didn't smell smoke, rooms were very clean. location is very exciting to explore, nearby restaurants and shops. they even have a massage chair in the room :) would definetly book again!!


94%

Huge rooms by Japanese standards. The room we stayed in was larger and nicer than one of the hotels I stayed at in Canada. Very friendly staff. The hotel is super close to Kamata station but it takes about 20 minutes on a direct JR train to get to downtown Tokyo.


100%

Excellent stay, the staff were very nice and so helpful. The room was very clean and had all the facilities you could want plus more! Great location 2 minutes walk from the station. Would highly recommend this place!!!! Thank you so much!!


94%

We were very pleased with our experience. Our arrival was delayed, and Hotel L staff were great at communicating by email and modifying our reservation without penalty. Our first room smelled of smoke and the staff immediately changed us to a higher-end nonsmoking room (at no charge). Be sure to request a non-smoking room. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The free wifi was fast and convenient. The rooms were very clean. Hotel L is very easy to access, especially from Haneda.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Not the nicest neighborhood, but the hotel is clean and modern, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very economic nice option though a bit far away from Tokyo central area and the hotel is a little bit difficult to locate (not on the main street)


100%

The staff is helpful and soooo friendly: they have a waiting room with TV, bathroom and origami paper and guidebooks available to help guests to kill time before check-in or after check-out. An elder gentleman even provided me and my family a light snack so we wouldn't be hungry on our way to the airport. Make sure to try the Yamata Udon (set menu for ¥500) for lunch/dinner and the discounted deals at the takeaway sushi joint (both on the Sunrise Kamata gallery) after 8:30 PM. Loved the place!


100%

Very close to JR Kamata station and a 12-minute walk to Keikyu-Kamata and the Keikyu Airport Line, so it's very convenient if you have a Japan Rail Pass or you're arriving or leaving at Haneda Airport. The neighborhood is lively but never too busy, with a great shopping arcade, restaurants and supermarkets nearby. The bars can be noisy during the night and there's some low-key prostitution going on in front of the hotel, but it never bothered me. The rooms are spotless but not smoke-free.


94%

Very nice, comfortable, with good facilities. Lovely beds, some rooms are smoking rooms so can retain a smell, we just opened the window for a bit and it was fine. Strangely, we booked a "Japanese style" room but didn't receive it, our rooms were Western. Big step up to the ensuite, but fine if you don't have knee issues. Location was great, about 12 minutes out by train from Shinigawa station, and super close to the Kamata train station. Staff were lovely!


86%

Great little hotel. After staying at other places in Japan we learned that the rooms definitely are bigger than your average room. Adorable staff. We were surprised with chocolates on Valentine's day. Very clean. Great place for a couple to stay. No communal room for meeting fellow travellers. Would stay here again.


74%

The hotel is not big and when you came out from the elevator first time, the alley was too dark for me actually I stayed on 3rd floor so I was little bit concern about the lamp, I think they have to change the lamp to make it brighter and also little advise, they should change the bathroom atmosphere, because too oldies for the simple room that I got. But overall I liked this hotel, clean and near with the station.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Agree with the other reviews - a tad hard to find but once you realise how close it actually is, it's super easy. No atmosphere whatsoever, it's a hotel, but super clean and has all the trimmings like in the bathroom face moisturiser packets, toothbrushes, hair brushes, etc. Bed was super comfy and security is top notch (you leave the key with the 24 hour reception when you go out so they have to know you). Staff were very friendly and so helpful. Perfect for layover to or from the airport.


100%

Our stay was for a 2 night stop over between long-haul flights. The Hotel L Kamata was easy to find once we'd got our bearings, and was a 5 minute walk from the local tube stop and shopping mall. There was a variety of restaurants and cafes in the locality. The staff at the Hotel were really friendly and helpful and our room was clean and tidy. We'd happily stay here in the future.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Tokyo Hotels

Please give us your feedback