X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Medea Reviews

Via Carlo Goldoni 84, Milan, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
105 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

+ Hostel is quite close to the city center. It's quite location. Room and bathroom were clean. Hairdryer in bathroom. - There is no kettle, if you want to boil the water, you can only use a microwave, but you can take their cup. We came in the morning to leave our luggage, but the guy at the reception (the only one person in the hostel) didnt speak english and we had to use google translator. There was no lockers - we had to leave our luggage just in the hall.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hotel is not very close to the metro, you have to walk a bit. The guy at the reception did not speak much English, but don't need to if you have routine checking-in into hostels. About 30 minutes walk to the center, which isn't bad. The place is nice and clean, they don't have air-con in the rooms but if you keep the window open, it is OK.


60%

Stayed here for 4 nights. It was clean, close to the central station and city centre and it was easy to get to by bus. There was only locks for the dorms, so no private space to keep your luggage or valuables. The whole atmosphere wasn't very hostel-like, felt more like a shared hotel. Not ideal if you want to meet new people. You'll have to pay a 3€ city tax/night, and also 5€ every time you want to turn on the AC. If you're just looking for somewhere to sleep, this is fine.


100%

Wonderful to stay. Very clean great staff.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

In fact I do not sleep in this hostel. I had a problem with my booking because when I got did not have a reservation. However, they sent me to a hotel near the Medea hostel, where I paid the same. The staff was friendly and resolved the situation without much waiting.


54%

Price was increased because of Expo in Milan but was not worth it. Had to pay extra 5 euros to turn on air conditioning and then it shut off anyway. Not enough room between beds and dressers to walk. Four beds were squished on top of each other. Not close to center of town or a main metro line. Bathroom not the best and gave pretty confusing directions to hostel that did not help us find it.


46%

Our room is terrible. It was so hot that we had to watch on air conditioner if it is working or staff closes it. When we had a shower, water got out of the room, staff cleaned it but we had to pay attention plumbing system you know. No water, no kettle no cups. Although location is close to station.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Clean and comfortable, definitely worth paying for air conditioning in summer. Easy to get into centre from hostel and near a supermarket. You get what you pay for.


37%

The room was very small for four single beds. The bathroom didn't have any proper dividers for the shower, and the shower drain was very small. If you want to use the AC, you have to pay 5 euros, and there is no fan in the room. You have to leave your room key to the receptionist whenever you leave the hotel - you can't carry your room key with you outside of the hotel. I ended up getting bug bites on my right arm and my back, so I can't rate much about the cleanliness.


71%

The bathroom was a bit small and one of workers didn't speak English so that was a bit difficult. Everything else was good.


77%

The rooms were clean. Comfortable beds but many beds in a small room. The staff was nice. No closets with locks.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Hostel was great, very clean quiet and secure. Is isn't very close to the metro as claimed, it's a little far from all the main attractions. There is a train station close by but as it turns out you might need to catch a few trains to get in the right line that stops close to the hostel, by the time you figure that out, you might as well just walk you way around, bus stop it's around the corner but once again, it's overwhelming to fingernail stops out if you are not familiar with the place

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

No fans in the rooms so it was scorching at night in the summer


54%

This place was ok. We found it last minute and booked it. Well within the price range but the location was not ideal.


80%

Great if you're traveling on a budget, & ok with no sights -It's a far walk from the metro & if you don't know the bus route, even though it's pretty easy to find a stop, it might overwhelm you a bit trying to find the place- my advice is to look up & you'll find a very small sign with Hotel Medea in blue- the staff was great- gave me a map and made sure I got to where I needed to go. It was surprisingly quiet with small rooms & 3 beds each - but the room did have its own bathroom wich was nice.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

good value for a short stay. Remember to bring locks. there are no lockers. I left my bag with the staff which had a 24 hour reception. Not all beds were clean but all facilities were usable. shouldn't ask for too much for a 20 euro room.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The value for money is great. It's small, warm and comfortable. There is only one key per room so the last person to leave locks up and leaves the key with reception. It's a little while out of the city but the metro is only 15 minute walk away and there are buses only a block of way that take you into the city so it's not too inconvenient. The girls in my room were really nice, the beds were remade daily and the bathrooms were clean. Would recommend if you need something cheap.


83%

We stayed in the private room for 4 persons with bathroom. Room is small but clean. You can use free wifi. There you can find tv and ac. But I think you need to pay to take remote controls. There is no kitchen and lobby where you can talk with other visitors. Only machine with water and coffee. Staff is very friendly. He gave us map and recommended some good places. We went to the central by bus n54. It is very comfortable, bus stop is near, 2 mn on foot. It is good offer for this money.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Olga :) Sergio



View all Milan Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback