Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Mevlana

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2017
6.6

This place is very central but our room was absolutely tiny. It is not shown in any pictures on the website but there is barely any room to walk in between some of the bunk beds (8 person room). The shower also has no curtain so the entire bathroom gets wet when people's use it. The staff was nice, the room was clean enough, and if you want something central without paying a lot this is what you have to expect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
7.4

Nice hostel, except our room was on the 4th floor which was only accessible by very steep stairs that wind up - not grand when you're in Amsta. Also, the showers and toilets weren't very clean, definitely bring flip flops for the shower. Our room was very small but quite a nice view. Location is great, right in the city centre, a walk away from everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
2.9

Staying in Hotel Mevlana was the worst mistake I could have made as it was the most expensive hostel and without a questioning of doubt the worst! I check in, a member of staff explained everything but that there would be 5% extra for paying by card and a €20 key deposit - this was not highlighted online and so therefore I refused to pay. You could essentially sit on the loo whilst you were in the shower in this miserable annexation off of the room-Stairs weren't the best for a large bags either

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear guest; thank you for your review. back to your review, plz open the website hostelworld.com and read carefully with a magnifying glass. there is a clear description about the 5% card surcharge, and the 20 euros key deposit is a deposit which you get it back by check out. in addition, we are a small hostel and doing our best to make our property more comfortable and enjoyable!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
4.9

Do not to. Not really what was advertised, wifi doesn't work, no towels, 5 beds squeezed into a four bedroom room and just not nice. I don't know how they get away with charging what they do. Wouldn't recommended...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.6

friendy stuff , the location is perfect, next to dam square and bikes for rent also next to the hostel. only drawback i can think of is the endless stairs because we stayed on the 4th floor, but overall our experience was good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • giogio36
  • Georgia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.6

Really good hostel with nice staff and perfect location. Will certainly book again for my next trip to Amsterdam

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KAFisher
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jul 2017
6.6

Expensive but hard to find cheap accommodation in Amsterdam. Lockers were small and not that sturdy but definetely better than nothing. Bathroom was relatively clean, athough I'd say any dirtiness is down to the people staying there and not the staff as it appears that is cleaned daily. Beds were relatively comfy but rooms were cramped and hot. No faciliites beyond wifi and the expected bed and bathroom and the small lockers. Don't really need but else though as lots to do in Amsterdam.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
5.1

They put an extra bed in our 4 person dorm room. Meant we couldn't move about or even open the window. The room was boiling hot. Very expensive and they didn't even compensate us for having an extra person in the room despite paying for a 4 bed room! One shower and bathroom per floor- my friend had to wait over 20 mins to get a shower due to this. Very expensive hostel for what it is. The location is great but that's it really.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear guest; we apologize for your bad experiences with us. on your second night we had a overbooking at our hotel, you only had one night 5 persons in your room. in addition,. each floor there is a bathroom and toilet available and there is no limitation to go up or go down for taking a shower.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
8.0

Amazing location! Bathroom could be a little cleaner but are staff were friendly and and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Jul 2017
6.0

This was one of the most expensive hostels we had stayed in throughout our travels, is wasn't worth the price we paid. It was clean and tidy but the fact they crammed so many beds into the room we were in there was limited space to walk and even get change. Plus sharing one bathroom with 8 people was proven difficult. It was very well located right in the middle of the city centre. A good hostel but was expensive for what it was.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.