Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Mevlana

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.6
Hotel Mevlana Located at N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, , Amsterdam.
Hotel Mevlana
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 SJ N.Z.Voorburgwal 160
68% 498
52.3744054 4.8912361
Hotel Mevlana
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.1

The bedroom was panic attack inducingly small. 5 beds in a single room is beyond claustrophobic. The bathroom stank of urine all the time. The location was perfect and the staff were super kind and very helpful. If you need a place to JUST crash, for a couple of nights, then this is it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.7

EXCELLENT EXCELLENT LOCATION. Staff not overly friendly, but I would definitely stay there again for location! Everywhere within walking distance

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • imogenrees
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.9

Awesome for the night I was there. It rained so it wasn't hot at all on the top bunk. Good position. probably depends on who you're bunking with but I was alone and out most of the time and thought it was fine! Good value for money, probably not the best as a solo traveller if you're trying to meet people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear guest, thank you for your review and best wishes!

30th Jul 2016
6.6

This hostel packs as many beds as they can in the tiniest room I have ever stayed in. There were five beds in a room that should have had MAX two. Not a good place for meeting people as there is no real lobby. 24 hour reception was nice. Location was amazing. Toilet made me feel dirtier and shower was meh. Also, there was a BABY next door who was nonstop crying. It really wasn't a bad stay because it was very short and I ended up liking the people in my room, but you pay for location, thats it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2016
3.7

I would not recommend staying here unless you are desperate. The location was good but that's about it. The facilities are poor as there is only one shower and one toilet per floor which had to be shared between 4 dorm rooms. When I arrived at night the showers stunk of urine and there was never any hand soap in the toliets. There is little atmosphere as there is no common room or area to socialise. You are only paying for a bed when staying here and a ridiculously expensive one too!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear guest(s); thank you for your review. we understood the feeling you had, however the higher price depended on the high demand of the summer tourist market. we are sure when you were searching for a hotel in Amsterdam, our price was one of the most competitive one, which is also the reason you booked with us. you checked in in the night time, the hygiene level could be lower than you expected since the shower and toilet was shared. we might not be one of the best hostel in amsterdam area, but we are still improving to be it. regards

22nd Jul 2016
7.1

The location is great. Not so great: Internet never worked in my room. Very cramped rooms, one bathroom and one shower per floor. Break-your-neck stairs. Most hostel goers were young/partiers. It's definitely a hostel--NOT a hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.7

Very central location so easy to walk to places. The rooms were very warm and quite small, there wasn't much room to walk between the beds. WiFi was excellent in the lobby but poor in the rooms. Steps to get to the rooms were quite steep. However the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.0

It worked great as a base of operation. It's a really odd building that helps add to the charm of the whole experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. If you have any suggestions, please do let us know.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
6.9

Very well located... Staircase are way too steep... One has to be carefull everytime either stoned or sane ... Staff is good and helpful... Rooms are quite small and so are lockers... But overall good place if u dont get any other option so near to dam square

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your reply.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
6.9

It was a pretty good place to live in. I live on the highest floor and had a great view of the city center. I had a 5 mixed bed but the other four happened to be 4 London girls on vacation, so it was a little awk , but I survived. One thing I must complain is the lack of wifi signal at the highest floor. Each floor has a wifi router, but only the 4th floor (highest) doesn't, and connecting to the 3rd floor wifi is slow and useless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your reply.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.