X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Mevlana Reviews

N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
288 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

extremly overpriced. the staff was trying hard to make my stay ok, but the room was dirty, and the infrastructure not worth the price.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I was greeted my first day and was given my key to the 5th floor dorm. Stairs are a trek to the top, very annoying forgetting something up there. The staff isn't helpful at all. Didn't recommend anything and couldn't really answer questions. Rooms were extremely tiny. No space to move around. No common area, just a really bad Chinese restaurant. Wifi on works in the restaurant. I didn't really have any complaints for them, but EVERYONE else walked in a voiced a problem. Value for money not worth


66%

I can't remember much but the heat. We died a little every morning.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Rude and unhelpful staff coupled with a flight of stairs that make it feel like a mountain climb everytime you head to your rooms makes this a must avoid place. There are much better options available in the vicinity


80%

Nothing flash but good clean and simple hostel for sleeping, great spot

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Too hot and too many stairs. But good hostel.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Enjoyed our stay here, although almost didn't get to as the staff were about to give our booking away because we were late to arrive and they were unable to debit the remainder of the payment on the day of arrival. I used a debit card to make the booking, and don't have money always loaded onto the card so they were unable to debit the remainder. Just a heads up for unsuspecting patrons.. otherwise friendly and enjoyable


80%

Nice location, friendly staff and really clean hostel!


46%

I will definitely not choose to stay there next time. They claim that this is a hotel but actually it doesn't. It is even not a hostel because its facilities are extremely poor. I just feel I was slepping in a kennel or pigsty. The room is extremely small, old, smelly, and does not have enough lockers or even NO locker in the room. There is some bed bugs in my bed. The one and only one good thing of this "hotel" is close to the main attractions like Dam Square and Red Light District.


83%

Arriving in Amsterdam for business, I had left my accom booking until last minute. I selected this hotel and was pleasantly surprised to find it clean ...very clean. I would definitely come back again.. tip..i booked a room for 4 - c140 euro- still a million miles cheaper than a hotel room in this area and extremely central 10 mins from Amsterdam central. would stay here agai

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice small and clean hotel with a bar downstairs (they also some some pastries). Two outlets for every bed was a plus, and the location is perfect - just a 10 minute walk from the central station. Definitely worth checking out if you're looking for a cheap clean place.


77%

No common room to cook and hang out but I would still stay there again.


71%

Perfect location, just some minutes walking from the Central Station, and just one block behind the Dam Square. The double room is quite small, but there's a lavatory inside, that helps a lot. The wc is shared and in front of the room, and it was most of the time available. Just watch out the stairs, very very small and "tiny".


57%

I stayed there for 5 nights and i was on the 2nd floor, I DIDN'T HAVE SLEEP very poor old wooden doors for the rooms and the shared bathrooms that slams everytime you close it or make noise every time you open it, So that was plenty of noise at the hall way, The shower room the hot water not working, u getting only a warm water which was cold for me, You have to know its only a one star so there is NOTHING in your tiny room but noisy door every time its open or close WAKE the whole floor up.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Except for the narrow stairs, I thing it is a good hostel. The location is good. Smells really strong cigar in the corridor thou.


51%

Location is good but bathroom is awful and you have to take stairs to get your luggage upstairs. Beds are not comfortable.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Probably the could make sure how the room looks before given the keys to a customer

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Amsterdam Hotels

Please give us your feedback