Hostelworld.com

Hotel Mikado

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
Hotel Mikado Located at 1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka.
Hotel Mikado
Japan
Osaka 557-0002 1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku
82% 1024
34.6481034 135.5046442
Hotel Mikado
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd May 2016
7.1

So the main nock on this place is location. In truth, it's a solid spot as it's close to major subway and JR stations, but the area immediately surrounding the hostel is really rough. It honestly doesn't look like Japan with so much poverty in the area. Additionally, it's a few blocks from the red light district of Osaka, so it's a bit of a weird scene. You get great value for the price though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aziswp4212
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
9.4

I love to stay at Mikado Hotel, nearest station is Dobutsenmae, 8-10 minutes walk from the nearest station. Overall this hotel is recommended for budget traveler like me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shinglewood7827
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th May 2016
6.0

If youre looking for a good night rest i advise somewhere else on weekends. The walls are almost literally paper thin, you can hear everything that goes on in the next room. If you stay during weekdays, ask for a room away from the front wall as you can hear ALL street noise, and away from any double/shared rooms. Its just not worth it. My first night i couldnt sleep because i was nextdoor to a shared room on the front wall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.9

Looks a bit grungy, but quite comfortable. You can have your own small room, which is nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is good. About 5 mins by subway to Namba.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

Its near dobuetson mae station, just a row behind the street when came out of exit 2. But the staff is very rough and like not welcome of my arrival. She said she is about to cancel my reservation when I arrived at around 7 or 8pm. S/he is even already emailing me asking my arrival time and reminding me my check out time is 12. How weird.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

It had a fairly convenient location, and a price that allowed you to really enjoy the food, nightlife and shopping that Osaka has to offer. It was also fun to come back and play Streetfighter on the PS2 in the common area. If you are looking for bright new and shiny ultra modern timesqure feel you only need to catch the train one or two stations to be in Namba.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
7.4

It is a not really a hostel but more of a hotel not sure why it is on hostel world... But regardless it was in a swell location in Osaka and the staff was polite. Bonus for the onsen in the hotel not a very social place for travelers but very cheap!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2016
8.3

Definitely worth it for the ridiculously low price you pay. However the location can be a little shady to get to, late at night. Facilities provided are clean, however there are only 2 shower rooms in the whole hotel and they are located on the ground floor so be prepared to wait during the morning rush. Furthermore, there aren't many restaurants around the place, but dotonbori is 3 mins away by subway! Overall, I would come back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
9.1

A great combination of a hostel and a hotel. Free sauna and bath are awesome. They also give you a bag that includes slippers, a towel, a toothbrush and more. Location is great (although not in the downtown area)-- by the subway and a JR Line (great if you have the rail pass).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
8.3

Feels more like a hotel than a hostel. A big plus is that they have a spa which is free for the guests to use. The dorms are average, but everything else makes up for that. The staff were very understanding and helpful when we had to make a last minute change to our booking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.