X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Monopole Reviews

Via Fabio Filzi 43, Milan, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
444 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everything was ok.


60%

The facilities could use a major overhaul, the rooms are bare and old, no character. Also, the receptionist was not particularly friendly, and also said the city tax is 4 euro per person per night, which should be included on their hostelworld description.


89%

Actually it's very close to the train station and easy to find it, I lost my passport in the hostel by accident when I checked-out in the early morning, but once I called the reception she was really kind to find it and kept it till I backed. Highly recommend!!!

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very thin walls, one could feel like living with the next door visitors. So noisy bathroom. Plus, windows are also not good to filter the outdoor sounds (trains etc) enough. The hotel location and the stuff is friendly but the hotel needs to be renovated to serve better. Otherwise I wouldnt go there again.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything worked. More a hotel atmosphere than a hostel. Location amazing close to Milano Central.


80%

very nice and comfortable when staying there.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Its near to milano centrale but little bit far from city center also not many store, food store in that area only inside the station there is some store and sell food like mcd, burger king etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sirs, thank you very much for your positive rating! We would like to inform you and all the future guests that the area where the hotel is (Central Station) is near the historical centre of Milan (3 stops away with the metro and about 15 min. walk) and it is full of restaurants, shops etc... ask our reception desk and you will get all the information you need. Regards. The Management

89%

Great location 5min walk to our train platform. Nice large room. $6 breakfast with espresso was good and convenient.


100%

Wonderful experience. Friendly staff, nice and clean room, close to the station and to the metro, and really good price.


80%

First i was given dirty room, but the receptionist immediately change it ad upgraded it to me which was really great. Not to mention it was before 2pm so i cant complain about it. Really close to cebtral station and the price for a private room is absolutely amazing. The only thing is perhaps could give a good and clear direction of hotel on the website. The current direction is unclear and more like the question is how far the property is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your rating - best regards

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

The best part about this hotel is the location. It is steps away from the train station. The place itself wasn't anything special, but it served its purpose-a place to keep our stuff and sleep at. The wifi kept booting us out and we had to log back in every 10 minutes, but it was free. The rooms were kind of dingy, but not dirty.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your positive ratin anyway rating - we are sorry you found our rooms 'kind of dingy' despite the fact you paid such a low fare (€ 19,55 net per person, which is 'kind of ultracheap') for a private room with private facilities with services of a three star hotel in the commercial centre of town and in high season too, as the day you were here trade fairs and congresses were on and rates in Milan were up to stars generally: We hope to see you again and make your stay more enjoyable.

54%

This hostel has gone downhill since last I stayed there two years ago. They now charge exorbitant prices for amenities they used to offer for free- for example 6 euros for the take away breakfast that was once included. The night clerk could not give me directions to the hostel and was generally unfriendly (for example when I asked where I could get food). There were dirty towels on the bathroom floor. And the general environment was just sad.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam, we are sorry you were disappointed with your accommodation but we must point out that a 'low budget private room' was booked and despite the very poor fare you paid the room has private facilities, television, free wifi and internet services, plus the hygiene section is very strict in the hotel and all linen - the 'exorbitant' buffet breakfast rate (only € 6) has never changed since 2005!!!and it has never been included in the rate (Hostelkworld buudies also con confirm this.

86%

good hotel, easy to find, clear and comfortable. The only thing is during the night, we can still hear the train, a little bit annoying. not a big deal since it is quite close to the train station.


60%

Toilet leaked the entire time. Extremely noisy as the blackout shutter did not work. Good location.


91%

Very helpful staff; made my trip in Milan to have such friendly assistance.


49%

In our room was terrible smell and it came from toilet. We comlained of it and we suggested that we would get a compensation (breakfast or so), but nothing happened. 4 nights in that smell, not nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the guests disapp. but occasionally when the weather changes there might be stronger smells coming from the general city pipes ( it does not have to do with our pipes) - plus the level of hygiene in our hotel is double checked every day - sorry again but when you reserve low budget rooms like the one these guests had booked (they paid about 35 € per person through a very busy period due to commercial fairs on and the Monza Car Race) there is unfortunately no space for compensation

49%

Receptionist was extremely unhelpful and unpleasant. Wifi was terrible (which is vital for those of us travelling around Europe and need to make plans). Room wouldn't lock from the inside which left it open while we slept. Toilet seat broken and shower flooded the bathroom. 2 star accommodation at best.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sirs,sorry for your disappointment but through many other reviews and our controls we can accomplish that our staff tends to be very helpful with all our guests and that the room given to you was above average and above the very low budget rate you paid (not even the cheapest Youth Hostel would charge you around 26€ pp for a private room with private facilities for 3 people, AC etc..). Plus we have three perfectly working wi fi lines some appliances . Sorry again for your disappointment.

69%

Nice place. Frienly stuff. But nott a 3 star hotel. So it feals a bit irritating to pay the 3star turist tax.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

You get what you pay for. It's central, it's cheap. Don't expect anything other than the basics. Stick with that attitude and you won't be disappointed.


83%

For a layover near the train station the location is excellent but I wouldn't walk around after dark. Very friendly staff. Only concern was that the carpet in my room was wet; I can only assume it was from a previous tenant and had. It been noticed.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(336 results)


View all Milan Hotels

Please give us your feedback