X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Monopole Reviews

Via Fabio Filzi 43, Milan, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
469 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The hotel is nice, close to the central station. The staff is nice and helpful. We had a 3 beds room, quite clean. One of the bed was kind of a camping bed, not really comfortable for the price paid. The bathroom was OK. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. Be careful to the extremely high city taxes (we paid 4€/person/night!) which are not inclueded in hostelworld's prices!


69%

The hotel is very close to the train station, but it says 100 metres away. We assumed we would be able to see the hostel from the train station, but had to spend a half hour walking around. Other than this the place was just fine. I suggest some better directions and this would be good (if also a bit cheaper).


100%

The staff is friendly and the hotel is very near the main train station.


57%

Room smelled, my guess is it came from the ventilation. The lady in the reception didn't seem to know what she was doing, the younger woman seemed more in control when she worked. Only stayed one night, and by that it was an ok stay. But I wouldn't stay there for more than that.


69%

We stayed for one night as a stopover, the location right next to the railway station was great. Quick metro trip into the centre of the city. Room was average but what we expected. Luggage storage facilities for the day after our stay were useful.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Pillow cases seemed dirty, shower curtain was only fabric that either stuck to your body in the shower or got the entire bathroom floor wet, and towels smelt bad and we're possibly not that clean.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Place is pretty noise, thin walls and you can hear people walking around up stairs. The hotel is close to the train station.


71%

Good place


71%

The shower was cold and the staff knew it. She asked me how the shower was the next day and acknowledged that it was cold but didn't seem to have a desire to do anything about it. The room smelled funny when we entered it. The location was great though, right next to the train/metro station.


100%

Everything was ok.


60%

The facilities could use a major overhaul, the rooms are bare and old, no character. Also, the receptionist was not particularly friendly, and also said the city tax is 4 euro per person per night, which should be included on their hostelworld description.


89%

Actually it's very close to the train station and easy to find it, I lost my passport in the hostel by accident when I checked-out in the early morning, but once I called the reception she was really kind to find it and kept it till I backed. Highly recommend!!!

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very thin walls, one could feel like living with the next door visitors. So noisy bathroom. Plus, windows are also not good to filter the outdoor sounds (trains etc) enough. The hotel location and the stuff is friendly but the hotel needs to be renovated to serve better. Otherwise I wouldnt go there again.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything worked. More a hotel atmosphere than a hostel. Location amazing close to Milano Central.


80%

very nice and comfortable when staying there.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Its near to milano centrale but little bit far from city center also not many store, food store in that area only inside the station there is some store and sell food like mcd, burger king etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sirs, thank you very much for your positive rating! We would like to inform you and all the future guests that the area where the hotel is (Central Station) is near the historical centre of Milan (3 stops away with the metro and about 15 min. walk) and it is full of restaurants, shops etc... ask our reception desk and you will get all the information you need. Regards. The Management

89%

Great location 5min walk to our train platform. Nice large room. $6 breakfast with espresso was good and convenient.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Wonderful experience. Friendly staff, nice and clean room, close to the station and to the metro, and really good price.


80%

First i was given dirty room, but the receptionist immediately change it ad upgraded it to me which was really great. Not to mention it was before 2pm so i cant complain about it. Really close to cebtral station and the price for a private room is absolutely amazing. The only thing is perhaps could give a good and clear direction of hotel on the website. The current direction is unclear and more like the question is how far the property is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your rating - best regards

77%

The best part about this hotel is the location. It is steps away from the train station. The place itself wasn't anything special, but it served its purpose-a place to keep our stuff and sleep at. The wifi kept booting us out and we had to log back in every 10 minutes, but it was free. The rooms were kind of dingy, but not dirty.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your positive ratin anyway rating - we are sorry you found our rooms 'kind of dingy' despite the fact you paid such a low fare (€ 19,55 net per person, which is 'kind of ultracheap') for a private room with private facilities with services of a three star hotel in the commercial centre of town and in high season too, as the day you were here trade fairs and congresses were on and rates in Milan were up to stars generally: We hope to see you again and make your stay more enjoyable.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(345 results)


View all Milan Hotels

Please give us your feedback