X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Payal Reviews

1182, Main Bazzar , Pahar Ganj, New Delhi, India

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
125 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The only good thing is the location located at central main bazaar road but otherwise still a walking distance to the Metro station and to other main attractions.


86%

This place has hot water, and the wifi fast. Bed comfortable. On Main Bazaar Rd, it's noisy in the day, but from midnight to sunrise the streets are quieter, for sleeping. The Main Bazaar also has plenty of eating spots, & other stores for backpackers. The metro is walking distance, e.g. Ramakrishna Ashram Marg stn went everywhere I needed. Vicky was helpful giving advice to visit Delhi, and also willing to help plan my travels beyond. He's very knowledgeable of places and can price accurately.


31%

This was a terrible place to stay. We are pretty sure we got scammed by the staff here. I do not recommend this place to anyone.


54%

This was the rough end of hostelling. I stayed in a private room at the front with its own little bathroom. Not recommended by me despite the price and excellent location for the metro, bazzar and station. Good vibe out on the street.


91%

I like this hotel first because of the very nice and helpful staff, as in Delhi, frauds are everywhere, they have precious virtues. Location is good, though it is overcrowded outside In Diwali Festival eve. Room is big enough, we had a triple room, facilities are a little old but still work. The room was not very clean as we arrived, but you can ask the staff to clean it. I think it is a good choice for budget travelling.

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The location was great, and some of the staff were great, but one of the main owners was creepy and inappropriate (especially if you're a female) and irritating (wanting to organize everything for you in a pushy manner). If not for this one owner?, it would be pretty good value for your money in a very central location.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Hotel Payal is right in the bustle of the Main Bazaar and is surrounded by shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is very dirty, with noisy rooms that have stained bed sheets and a filthy bathroom. Speaking to other guests during our stay, their rooms were in a similar condition. The staff are very friendly and sociable, arranging bottled water etc on request. They try to helpfully assist in planning your onward travel around India, although we felt there was an underlying agenda.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly hostel very close to many Delhi highlights. Convenient as it is close enough to the train station to walk (great if taking super early morning train rides). Many shops, restaurants close by. Bring your own lock for the lockers (or purchase at the store across the street for 30 rupees).

  • 11th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hotel is right on the Main Bazar. It is a great location if you want to experience the 'real Delhi '. It is clean and safe The staff are very professional and can provide advice on travel beyond Delhi .


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

You'll have plenty of chances to rough it on India; take advantage of this haven in crazy Delhi for as long as you can. Spotlessly clean, bright and functional rooms, small but very efficient and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Free wifi, hot showers, good tv and very accessible location.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

he hotel is located within a very busy bazaar which is excellent for all your shopping and souvenir needs! It is a 5 minute walk from New Delhi Railway Station and 15 minutes from Connaught Place. It is a ideal base for visiting all Delhi has to offer.As for the hotel itself it is very basic but excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and quiet during the evening. Staff are very helpful and will attempt to cater for your every need. The airport pick up is also recommended and very reliabl

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

You get what you paid ! i have no complain staying hotel payal at all . wifi and hot shower works well airport pick up service too ! very near from all the activity like subway ,new Delhi train station and central delhi ! highly recommend for whose are on short budget ..

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

The shower was not hot at all in winter. There is only one blanket which is not warm enough to sleep.


43%

Very very cold at night this hostel do not cost this money...


40%

I don't know where the previous reviewers stayed...but I'm guessing not on the top (3rd) floor, cause it was a dump. Not at all like pictures or reviews would leave you to believe. No tv. Dirty sheets/blankets. Leaking toilet that flooded floor with each flush. Wifi doesn't reach room...And it's LOUD! Take my word for it-- opt for another place (off an alleyway!). For 400 rs I was able to get everything and more than I did at Payal (540/night) and I was able to sleep past 8am!


89%

On arrival of guests, it would be nice to provide, in the room, with things like a glass (tumbler), towels.


89%

Neat little hotel located right near a market. Staff were extremely helpful in helping us organise activities / transport. Rooms were nice and clean. Masala Chai was so good. Would recommend =)

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Well located, but that was it. Not very clean, not very secure, not very comfortable. Hit on by staff.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

not the best not the worst, its india. hope that helps lol


100%

Had a great stay at payal! Firstly we had a pick up booked through the hotel after reading how busy and full of touts Delhi train stations can be, however our train was delayed by about 1.5hours therefore we missed our driver who had waited an hour. We later learnt that the hotel had to pay the driver 100 rupees,however they would not accept us reimbursing them which was extremely generous. The rooms are clean with good wifi connection!!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all New Delhi Hostels

Please give us your feedback