Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers Located at 1 Bunny St, , Wellington.
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 1 Bunny St
75% 528
-41.2802736 174.7799062
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Nov 2016
9.1

This is in a great locations. (Right across the street from the bus and train station -)Here you can catch a shuttle bus to ferry terminal. I was able to walk to most places for sight seeing. The rooms were clean and staff on duty 24 hrs so there was always someone to answer my questions. I would certainly stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Nov 2016
7.1

Kitchen was quite dirty. Bathrooms were clean but we didn't have pillowcases on our beds and the sheets seemed dirty. Location was good though. Good for a one night stay if you are catching the ferry next morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
7.1

Always a good place to stay, great location. Was unfortunate on my last stay no Wi Fi due to recent earth quakes, also a charming lady working in the bar short changed me .. hey these things happen ..can't help the quakes or honesty of some staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
14th Nov 2016
7.7

Stayed here the day after the earthquake so it was a little worse for wear and the lifts weren't working, but that wasn't really the hostels fault. The rooms were clean and there was a huge kitchen and common room area for cooking/chilling in the evening. The hostel felt a little dated in general and the location is great if you need to get a bus or train, but not ideal for exploring the rest of Wellington as there are plenty of other hostels closer to the centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Nov 2016
6.0

Quite an old building..although the room is clean but the laundry area is old and creepy are. And the location is very far from the main street unless you have an early ferry to catch otherwise not a very good location to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.7

Really close to the ferries. Not far from the rest of town. Room was quite cold but other than that was pretty good. Laundry was good. Had to pay $2 for 6 hrs of locker use and no lockers in the room so that was a bummer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
8.9

A good place to stay, despite its age. Reception staff always helpful and pleasant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.0

Clean backpackers place within a hotel building. Was very quiet and the lounge and kitchen are huge but the atmosphere wasn't great. Nice ensuite bathroom. Good walk into town along the waterfront

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.0

great hostel to stay for the night before heading down to interislander for the ferry. the fish and chips was good too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
8.9

Great location and perfect for our needs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.