Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2017
9.7

Perfect location to tour Wellington and get to the trains/buses. Great bar and breakfast options, also a huge industrial kitchen if you want to cook. The rooms were very nice and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2017
7.4

Overall a good stay, beds sagged quite a bit though and on our 3rd day we got back to find a ride note telling us we had to move rooms, apparently we should have been told on check in but that never happened. 2nd room was much nice but a little cramped. Kitchen huge but a little dirty at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
28th Apr 2017
5.4

Noisy and uncomfortable beds and both room and toilet were not the cleanest. Not very friendly stuff and things a bit disorganised: not a clear idea about when check in can be done, where things can be stored, wrong beds were cleaned in the room... plus an odd smell everywhere around. Shared kitchen well equiped but dining room shared with a restaurant/bar so no drinks allowed - quite unusual for a backpackers. No backpackers atmosphere AT ALL. Quite disapponting, wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
7.7

Great location, facilities were clean and functional, good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.4

I stayed in 4 bed mixed dorm with shared bath. It also had a desk and chair in the room and more space than I have experienced at Base or Nomads. Cons: No lockers in rooms and only one hour of free internet per day. Pros: Big kitchen, dining space, cafe with reasonable food options, historic building only a block away from bluebridge ferry, train and bus station, grocer, 15 minute walk to Te Papa. Mixed use building with regular hotel rooms, hostel, and long term stays.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
6.9

Staff wasn't really friendly and they have no lockers so you always have to take the most important things with you. Good location and it's not far to the bus or into the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
8.9

Very pleasant stay. The price for a private room in Wellington can't be beat. The bathroom was shared with only one other room and was cleaned daily. The wifi was very fast and reliable as well. Location is about a 20-minute walk from the city centre but there is plenty to do nearby. Staff and atmosphere were lacking but otherwise a very good place to stay with no one bothering you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location right by the railway station. Airy, spacious rooms. Great facilities. Could maybe do with the toilet and shower being in 2 separate rooms in the 8 bed room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
9.1

We loved being central in a well priced and friendly facility

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
6.6

Purely functional, not much atmosphere, just stayed one night to catch the ferry because it's only a 5 min walk to the ferry shuttle (and bus stop).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.