Hostelworld.com

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers Located at 1 Bunny St, , Wellington.
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 1 Bunny St
74% 493
-41.2802736 174.7799062
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Mar 2016
5.4

The location is good if you're getting off the ferry/getting a bus in the morning but the hostel itself isn't great. Wifi doesn't work and the computers in the cafe barely work and take your money either way. I would advise to use the library 10/15 minutes away. So i'd only recommend to stay 1 night if you're travelling onward.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.4

The bar is a great spot to meet people. 2 pool tables, darts, even a giant connect five. Always a good time. Had a queen bed room which I quite enjoyed, location is close to the harbour but a bit of a hike to the nightlife

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
7.1

This is run more like a hotel which is nice in some ways. But you are just a number, and the people behind the desk do not care. They offer nothing, no information, no help unless you specifically ask. The kitchen is amazing! Used to be a hotel I guess. They charge extra for every single tiny little thing including using your credit/debit car.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
6.3

Filthy stained mattress! Ugh! A lovely old building but feeling shabby and tired. All this could be forgiven if it were not for the mattress.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Mar 2016
7.4

Excellent location if you are looking for easy access to the bluebridge ferry - it is across the road. Train station also close by. A bit of a walk to museums and the city centre. Still doing renovation work - I was here in Nov 2014 and they were doing it then - so no hope of a lie in beyond 8am. 1 hour free wifi per 24 hours - time your usage right if staying more than 1 night. Staff on reception could be more welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
9.7

A fine hotel/hostel option. My second stay at this place and again, the front desk staff are excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
6.9

They have facilities, but I couldn't find them - they need better signage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2016
7.4

Great location, good value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel, definitely a lot more lively then others. Friendly, helpful and cheap eats if you put your order in ahead of time. They're licensed for alcohol and cheapest in town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
6.0

A few issues here. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in at 3:30 pm so we had to wait an hour before we got the go ahead from staff. Then when we got into the room the first thing we saw was a heavily yellow-stained pillowcase. Hairs on the towels and in the sheets. On the positive side the bathroom was spacious and not unclean, the room was a reasonable side and the bed itself was comfortable. Staff were a bit noncommittal and not overly friendly. Location super.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.