Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 597 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 597 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.7

Very pleased with the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.4

The beds were clean and comfortable. The room was warm. Some extra hooks or a rail would have been handy for the towels. The washroom was very basic but adequate. The toilet seat was very loosely attached to the pan needing care when opening/closing. I was unable to tighten the nuts. The toilet is between rooms 314 and 315. The restaurant food, what we ordered was very good. We will quite likely stay at the hotel again when we next need accommodation in Wellington.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
9.4

Good cheap basic accomadation. Warm and clean. Staff helpful. Handy to ferries, railway station and buses, and within easy walking distance of shops, cafes, galleries and Te Papa. Would definately stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
9.7

Great location. Walking distance to basically everything. Cafe and bar in the hostel and right across from train station with grocery story. Rooms clean and all seem to have en-suite bathrooms. Only thing is they made me (and everyone else I met in the hostel) change bedrooms every morning or every other morning if you extend your stay past your initial booking. Not sure why they couldn't arrange it so we could just stay in one room for the extent of our stays. All in all though, good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
9.7

Perfect location to tour Wellington and get to the trains/buses. Great bar and breakfast options, also a huge industrial kitchen if you want to cook. The rooms were very nice and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2017
7.4

Overall a good stay, beds sagged quite a bit though and on our 3rd day we got back to find a ride note telling us we had to move rooms, apparently we should have been told on check in but that never happened. 2nd room was much nice but a little cramped. Kitchen huge but a little dirty at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
28th Apr 2017
5.4

Noisy and uncomfortable beds and both room and toilet were not the cleanest. Not very friendly stuff and things a bit disorganised: not a clear idea about when check in can be done, where things can be stored, wrong beds were cleaned in the room... plus an odd smell everywhere around. Shared kitchen well equiped but dining room shared with a restaurant/bar so no drinks allowed - quite unusual for a backpackers. No backpackers atmosphere AT ALL. Quite disapponting, wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
7.7

Great location, facilities were clean and functional, good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.4

I stayed in 4 bed mixed dorm with shared bath. It also had a desk and chair in the room and more space than I have experienced at Base or Nomads. Cons: No lockers in rooms and only one hour of free internet per day. Pros: Big kitchen, dining space, cafe with reasonable food options, historic building only a block away from bluebridge ferry, train and bus station, grocer, 15 minute walk to Te Papa. Mixed use building with regular hotel rooms, hostel, and long term stays.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
6.9

Staff wasn't really friendly and they have no lockers so you always have to take the most important things with you. Good location and it's not far to the bus or into the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.