Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.1
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers Located at 1 Bunny St, , Wellington.
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 1 Bunny St
77% 542
-41.2802736 174.7799062
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jan 2017
7.1

Look very old, bed was too soft, might still have my shape

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.7

Love this hostel, we always stay here when we visit Wellington and are never disappointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.7

Handy location for train, naked bus, and the shuttle to interislander ferries. The atmosphere is a bit odd, lots of long termers it seemed, but good kitchen, lounge etc. Shame you can't drink your own beer though. Building needs a bit of tlc, but it's interesting architecture. Beds a bit saggy. Staff were very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
6.9

Has a very "good enough" feel. Things are kind of outdated. Not enough cookware to go around in the kitchen. 2 of 3 washers worked. 2 of 5 dryers worked. Room was clean. Bathrooms small but functional. There's a cafe, but it really isn't that much cheaper than other places around town, so I never used it. There's a bar, but the same story applies. Lots of long term stays, and not a lot of atmosphere. But it was quiet. WiFi is paid for and timed, which is inconvenient. So basically, good enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Dec 2016
6.3

Stayed one night - good for one night as opposite train station and basic amenities. But outdated and 1 bathroom between 2 rooms was a bit annoying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
7.1

Stained pillow case and bedding isn't a great start. Squeaky bunks. Security is mediocre- swipe card access only for the dorm rooms. My card stopped working- apparently a common occurrence if it gets to close to a cell phone which you'd think they would mention given the prevalence of phone cases with card slots. No lockers in the dorms with lockers available off the lobby at a cost of $2 per 6 hours. Location is perfect for trains/buses- not great for Courtney Place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
9.1

This is in a great locations. (Right across the street from the bus and train station -)Here you can catch a shuttle bus to ferry terminal. I was able to walk to most places for sight seeing. The rooms were clean and staff on duty 24 hrs so there was always someone to answer my questions. I would certainly stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Nov 2016
7.1

Kitchen was quite dirty. Bathrooms were clean but we didn't have pillowcases on our beds and the sheets seemed dirty. Location was good though. Good for a one night stay if you are catching the ferry next morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
7.1

Always a good place to stay, great location. Was unfortunate on my last stay no Wi Fi due to recent earth quakes, also a charming lady working in the bar short changed me .. hey these things happen ..can't help the quakes or honesty of some staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
14th Nov 2016
7.7

Stayed here the day after the earthquake so it was a little worse for wear and the lifts weren't working, but that wasn't really the hostels fault. The rooms were clean and there was a huge kitchen and common room area for cooking/chilling in the evening. The hostel felt a little dated in general and the location is great if you need to get a bus or train, but not ideal for exploring the rest of Wellington as there are plenty of other hostels closer to the centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.