Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 574 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 574 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Apr 2017
9.4

I stayed in 4 bed mixed dorm with shared bath. It also had a desk and chair in the room and more space than I have experienced at Base or Nomads. Cons: No lockers in rooms and only one hour of free internet per day. Pros: Big kitchen, dining space, cafe with reasonable food options, historic building only a block away from bluebridge ferry, train and bus station, grocer, 15 minute walk to Te Papa. Mixed use building with regular hotel rooms, hostel, and long term stays.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
6.9

Staff wasn't really friendly and they have no lockers so you always have to take the most important things with you. Good location and it's not far to the bus or into the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
8.9

Very pleasant stay. The price for a private room in Wellington can't be beat. The bathroom was shared with only one other room and was cleaned daily. The wifi was very fast and reliable as well. Location is about a 20-minute walk from the city centre but there is plenty to do nearby. Staff and atmosphere were lacking but otherwise a very good place to stay with no one bothering you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location right by the railway station. Airy, spacious rooms. Great facilities. Could maybe do with the toilet and shower being in 2 separate rooms in the 8 bed room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
9.1

We loved being central in a well priced and friendly facility

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
6.6

Purely functional, not much atmosphere, just stayed one night to catch the ferry because it's only a 5 min walk to the ferry shuttle (and bus stop).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.4

They have random lockers so most rooms don't have them. There is a valuable locker you can use at reception, but everyone can store their stuff there and access yours. You get 1hr of free internet a day and the location is a 25 min walk to bars and the most popular area of Wellington. The kitchen is great and most of the time empty. The ensuite is awesome. This is good hostel except there are better deals for the same price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.1

Good location, right by the main bus/train station. I only stayed here one night so i couldn't say much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
6.0

Basically an awful hostel. Impersonal place where people are just shuffling in and out - the kind of place where you stay out of necessity and that's it. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable - and for me the only thing I really care about is a good bed especially when you're paying $30 a night to sleep there. Staff are nice enough though. For how much money this place is making it shouldn't be a big deal to at least make it comfortable to be in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • awendt13
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
6.0

Dirtiest kitchen I've seen yet. Dodgy crowd of people. The location is close to the bus stop and train station though. And the vintage building is pretty neat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.