X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Houseboat Hostel Alternatief Reviews

Dijksgracht 8b, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
40 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We are a family of four and really enjoyed our stay. It was comfy, homely and had everything we needed including an array of bikes. Joanna was lovely, really helpful with tips and maps. The train line was near but didn't really bother us and it was otherwise a nice quiet spot with easy access ( on bikes or foot) to interesting places.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome stay! Thanks again :)

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

What an awesome place to stay if you have a group of 4 or 5. Joanne is amazing! She's probably one of the nicest ladies I've ever met. She's incredibly accommodating and will make your stay so much better. The boat is a wonderful experience to switch up the routine. It's close to the train station and taxi's can find it without issue. We used Uber to get around and had no issues. The bikes made for some great times too. It was great to have your own spot and do something different than most.


71%

The stay was fine, however the landlady can be quite rude at times, especially towards the end of the stay. Best to hand over the money at the end of the stay because that's all she cares about

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

5 of us stayed for a friend's birthday on 28th to 31st March. We had a lovely friendly welcome from Joanne who welcomed us by making tea and telling us a little about Amsterdam, happy to answer out questions. The boat is lovely, excellent value for money and so close to the centre!! Would definitely choose to stay again next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had such a fantastic stay, we would recommend Houseboat Alternateif as the only place to stay when visiting Amsterdam! Joanne was fantastic and made us feel so welcome!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Joanne is the best! Thanks for everythink!


100%

A great place to stay in Amsterdam!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

We had a perfect time, deffenetliy the best choice if you are enough people. For sure we will come back. There was simply nothing to complain, great location, most friendly stuff, perfect boat!!

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really fantastic place to stay. The owner was really helpful, relaxed and the booking and payment was uncomplicated. The boat is very large and spacious and well-equipped. Location is also great as it's just 10 mins from the central station. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

awesome experience!


100%

The houseboat was lovely - like a apartment! As was our host, Joanne. The local area is also very nice - I highly recommend the pub on the end of the row of barges.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very comfortable and spacious. Wifi access was handy. Our 15 months old enjoyed running around and we could make his breakfasts every morning. Will highly recommend.


86%

This is, hands down, the best hostel we've ever stayed at. You get the full length of a converted cargo barge to yourself, and it's full of skylights, portholes, and places to sleep. The owner lives next door, and is most helpful in orienting you to the area. It's a short walk to central Amsterdam from the Houseboat.


83%

The host was very nice and was even happy to pick us up when we got lost when we got off the tram to the city.


97%

Amazing Experience, great stay.


97%

Perfekt place in Amsterdam!!

  • 16th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Our family loved our stay here. Lots of room for a family of 5. My husband and I had no difficulty sleeping in the double bed in the little room. (And my husband is not a small man, although under 6 feet). The houseboat is so clean and bright. The bikes were useful although you need to bring your own bungee for groceries and lights for night riding. One thing I noticed throughout my holiday in Europe, homes there do not have smoke detectors although Blokker will sell them. Great place.


100%

The houseboat was very clean and had all the amenities needed for traveler. Excellent place to stay for a small family. It is15 minutes from Amsterdam Centraal--an easy walk. Almost everything within walking distance. The owner provided snacks and breakfast foods and this was very welcome.


91%

Great atmosphere on the boat, with everything there you might ever need. And what a great host! Joanne even baked a cake for us, "Vitamine for bad weather"!!! Would never want to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback