X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Houseboat Hostel Alternatief Reviews

Dijksgracht 8b, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
43 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Propriétaire a l'écoute et entièrement disponible et sympathique. Péniche plus qu agréable et très fonctionnelle. Emplacement pratique. Vélos en prime est un plus. Nous reviendrons avec plaisir l'année prochaine et surtout avec le soleil ;-)

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed here for my friends Hen party and had a brilliant time. Joanne was so welcoming and helpful and the free bikes were a great touch! The price was similar to that of most hostels and although it was a short walk out of town, you have the whole boat to yourself which was great for a hen party. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Lauross
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is by far one of the best value for money accommodation experiences in Amsterdam and a fantastic accommodation option for families. It is central without being busy, easy walking distance from the central station, there is loads of space and bikes, children's scooters, games and toys are thrown in. We would like to thank Joanna for her friendliness, generosity and helpfulness during our stay. We have already recommended Alternatief to several friends both in the UK and Australia.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

We are a family of four and really enjoyed our stay. It was comfy, homely and had everything we needed including an array of bikes. Joanna was lovely, really helpful with tips and maps. The train line was near but didn't really bother us and it was otherwise a nice quiet spot with easy access ( on bikes or foot) to interesting places.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome stay! Thanks again :)

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

What an awesome place to stay if you have a group of 4 or 5. Joanne is amazing! She's probably one of the nicest ladies I've ever met. She's incredibly accommodating and will make your stay so much better. The boat is a wonderful experience to switch up the routine. It's close to the train station and taxi's can find it without issue. We used Uber to get around and had no issues. The bikes made for some great times too. It was great to have your own spot and do something different than most.


86%

Aunque un poco alejado del centro, disponen de servicios de bici gratuitas y estas en el centro en un plis plas, personal amable y ambiente del barco inmejorable.


71%

The stay was fine, however the landlady can be quite rude at times, especially towards the end of the stay. Best to hand over the money at the end of the stay because that's all she cares about

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

E' stata veramente una bella esperienza da raccomandare e ripetere sicuramente !

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

5 of us stayed for a friend's birthday on 28th to 31st March. We had a lovely friendly welcome from Joanne who welcomed us by making tea and telling us a little about Amsterdam, happy to answer out questions. The boat is lovely, excellent value for money and so close to the centre!! Would definitely choose to stay again next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had such a fantastic stay, we would recommend Houseboat Alternateif as the only place to stay when visiting Amsterdam! Joanne was fantastic and made us feel so welcome!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Joanne is the best! Thanks for everythink!




View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback