X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Houseboat Hostel Alternatief Reviews

Dijksgracht 8b, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
39 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Awesome stay! Thanks again :)

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

What an awesome place to stay if you have a group of 4 or 5. Joanne is amazing! She's probably one of the nicest ladies I've ever met. She's incredibly accommodating and will make your stay so much better. The boat is a wonderful experience to switch up the routine. It's close to the train station and taxi's can find it without issue. We used Uber to get around and had no issues. The bikes made for some great times too. It was great to have your own spot and do something different than most.


86%

Aunque un poco alejado del centro, disponen de servicios de bici gratuitas y estas en el centro en un plis plas, personal amable y ambiente del barco inmejorable.


71%

The stay was fine, however the landlady can be quite rude at times, especially towards the end of the stay. Best to hand over the money at the end of the stay because that's all she cares about

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

E' stata veramente una bella esperienza da raccomandare e ripetere sicuramente !

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

5 of us stayed for a friend's birthday on 28th to 31st March. We had a lovely friendly welcome from Joanne who welcomed us by making tea and telling us a little about Amsterdam, happy to answer out questions. The boat is lovely, excellent value for money and so close to the centre!! Would definitely choose to stay again next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had such a fantastic stay, we would recommend Houseboat Alternateif as the only place to stay when visiting Amsterdam! Joanne was fantastic and made us feel so welcome!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Joanne is the best! Thanks for everythink!


100%

Ce logement est très très agréable. Nous étions 5 (2 adultes et 3 enfants). Idéal ! La propriétaire est chaleureuse. Le lieu est propre, spacieux, très bien équipé, bien chauffé. On s'y sent très bien. C'est très calme. Malgré la voix ferrée qui passe juste à côté, on se fait au bruit des trains (seul petit désagrément !). Très bien situé, tout proche de la gare , avec toutes les commodités de transport. On revient enchanté de cette expérience.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay in Amsterdam!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

We had a perfect time, deffenetliy the best choice if you are enough people. For sure we will come back. There was simply nothing to complain, great location, most friendly stuff, perfect boat!!

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really fantastic place to stay. The owner was really helpful, relaxed and the booking and payment was uncomplicated. The boat is very large and spacious and well-equipped. Location is also great as it's just 10 mins from the central station. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We really enjoyed our vacation and we will come back soon!

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

awesome experience!


91%

Merci vraiment pour ce séjour à bord de Alternatief Houseboat ! très bien placée ( 6 mn à vélo du vieux centre ), atmosphère très chaleureuse, très propre ! Super.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The houseboat was lovely - like a apartment! As was our host, Joanne. The local area is also very nice - I highly recommend the pub on the end of the row of barges.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Sehr nette und freundliche Vermieterin, gute Lage und mit den Fahrrädern, die im Preis inbegriffen sind, kommt man sehr schnell in die Innenstadt.

  • 4th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very comfortable and spacious. Wifi access was handy. Our 15 months old enjoyed running around and we could make his breakfasts every morning. Will highly recommend.


86%

This is, hands down, the best hostel we've ever stayed at. You get the full length of a converted cargo barge to yourself, and it's full of skylights, portholes, and places to sleep. The owner lives next door, and is most helpful in orienting you to the area. It's a short walk to central Amsterdam from the Houseboat.


83%

The host was very nice and was even happy to pick us up when we got lost when we got off the tram to the city.


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback