X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Houseboat Hostel Alternatief Reviews

Dijksgracht 8b, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

97%

Rating
31 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 98%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We had such a fantastic stay, we would recommend Houseboat Alternateif as the only place to stay when visiting Amsterdam! Joanne was fantastic and made us feel so welcome!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Joanne is the best! Thanks for everythink!


100%

Ce logement est très très agréable. Nous étions 5 (2 adultes et 3 enfants). Idéal ! La propriétaire est chaleureuse. Le lieu est propre, spacieux, très bien équipé, bien chauffé. On s'y sent très bien. C'est très calme. Malgré la voix ferrée qui passe juste à côté, on se fait au bruit des trains (seul petit désagrément !). Très bien situé, tout proche de la gare , avec toutes les commodités de transport. On revient enchanté de cette expérience.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay in Amsterdam!


100%

We had a perfect time, deffenetliy the best choice if you are enough people. For sure we will come back. There was simply nothing to complain, great location, most friendly stuff, perfect boat!!

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really fantastic place to stay. The owner was really helpful, relaxed and the booking and payment was uncomplicated. The boat is very large and spacious and well-equipped. Location is also great as it's just 10 mins from the central station. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We really enjoyed our vacation and we will come back soon!

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

awesome experience!


91%

Merci vraiment pour ce séjour à bord de Alternatief Houseboat ! très bien placée ( 6 mn à vélo du vieux centre ), atmosphère très chaleureuse, très propre ! Super.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

The houseboat was lovely - like a apartment! As was our host, Joanne. The local area is also very nice - I highly recommend the pub on the end of the row of barges.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Sehr nette und freundliche Vermieterin, gute Lage und mit den Fahrrädern, die im Preis inbegriffen sind, kommt man sehr schnell in die Innenstadt.

  • 4th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very comfortable and spacious. Wifi access was handy. Our 15 months old enjoyed running around and we could make his breakfasts every morning. Will highly recommend.


86%

This is, hands down, the best hostel we've ever stayed at. You get the full length of a converted cargo barge to yourself, and it's full of skylights, portholes, and places to sleep. The owner lives next door, and is most helpful in orienting you to the area. It's a short walk to central Amsterdam from the Houseboat.


83%

The host was very nice and was even happy to pick us up when we got lost when we got off the tram to the city.


89%

Een superlocatie met een fijne gastvrouw die het je zo veel mogelijk naar de zin wil maken! We hebben Amsterdam weer eens op een hele andere manier beleefd zo vanaf het water op een gemoedelijke plek. Deze plek kunnen we een ieder aanraden en vergeet niet een lekker drankje (met bitterballen) te nemen bij "Hannekes", het gezellige cafeetje onder aan de brug.

  • 5th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

wir verbrachten mit unseren kinder (9+11J.) 4 tolle tage auf dem houseboat alternatief. die gastgeberin hat uns sehr freundlich und offen empfangen und uns sogar noch 4 velos zu verfügung gestellt, die wir sehr gut nutzen konnten. die räumlichkeiten sind sehr sauber, paktisch, gepflegt. die lage ist ruhig und doch nahe dem bahnhof. wir fühlten uns rundherum sehr wohl. haben auch das nicht so touristische amsterdam erkundet und sehr offen, freundlich erlebt.

  • 13th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing Experience, great stay.


97%

Perfekt place in Amsterdam!!

  • 16th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Our family loved our stay here. Lots of room for a family of 5. My husband and I had no difficulty sleeping in the double bed in the little room. (And my husband is not a small man, although under 6 feet). The houseboat is so clean and bright. The bikes were useful although you need to bring your own bungee for groceries and lights for night riding. One thing I noticed throughout my holiday in Europe, homes there do not have smoke detectors although Blokker will sell them. Great place.


100%

The houseboat was very clean and had all the amenities needed for traveler. Excellent place to stay for a small family. It is15 minutes from Amsterdam Centraal--an easy walk. Almost everything within walking distance. The owner provided snacks and breakfast foods and this was very welcome.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback