X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

How Flowers Hostel Reviews

No.90,Pantao Road, Yangshuo, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
37 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

it was nice staying here...english speaking staff...suggest traveler to arrive after 7 AM since i had to wait for 1 hour outside the hostel...Aon(stuff girl) very helpful..smiling face..can help you in planing the yangshuo travel...overall happy to be here :) value for money....


66%

The cleanliness is poor due to town humidity.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
60%

Well, it's cheap so maybe that's why there's not much service. But we won't go back. Room and bathroom are dirty, even for Chinese standards. No towels. No toiletpaper and if you ask about it they don't understand you. No room cleaning. (We stayed for 5 nights, not because it was so nice.) Staff is average, boy don't speaks much English but it looks like he don't really want to help you to. Doors slamming in late evening.


40%

The staff at the counter when we first walked in were unorganised and rude. It wasn't a language problem. The young lady came good when we asked for help in booking some local trips. It was 37 degrees in Yangshou and the airconditioning didn't work properly. Also, there was some question about cleaning of the rooms daily. As one isn't allowed to put toilet paper into the toilets we were a little concerned about hygiene. We only stayed one night and then moved to a hotel nearby.

  • 19th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Overall, the hostel was pretty good. The location was pretty efficient (not that you can really have all that bad of one in Yangshuo), definitely the cheapest I could find as well, a bit of a backalley, so hard to find at first, but once I got there, it was fine. The staff were generally helpful, the lounge was pretty chill. I stayed in the dorms, which were decent enough, particularly for how cheap they were. No real complaints I can think of on the hostel's part. ^__^

  • 19th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

We stayed at How Flowers three nights. In the morning of the second day we found bugs in our bed and they changed our sheets. However, that night we found it they were bedbugs, crawling all over. When we went to the reception they proposed to light an anti-bug-candle, which is obviously not the way to go. This hotel has bedbugs and does not understand the seriousness of it. In the end we decided to leave the same night to prevent the bugs from settling in our stuff.

  • 2nd Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

When comparing it to their sister hostel in Guilin, its kind of a let down, but only because the Guilin one is Awesome! This is a place to lay down at night, but not much else happens here. West St. is a 5-10 min walk away, which is a bonus because you wont have to deal with the loud music. The staff are helpful, but won't go out of their way. This hostel does have a few redeeming qualities though. Its got clean rooms! It rents sturdy bikes for the same price as in town. They have a 4week kitty


29%

You should pay more attention to the cleanliness of your hostel, The hall was dirty and there were mices and cockroaches and nobody likes to see those walking on the floor while you are in the hall surfing on the net. It is disgusting and it means that the staff doesn't care at all of the cleanliness of the place. I will never ever be a guest of how flower hostel again.

  • 6th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

staff were great, so freindly and helpful! thanks guys!


66%

No room available despite booking, staff not helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
We've apologized for the mistake we've made. It happens sometimes in every hostel, but it was just unfortunately happened to you. I know it is kind of mean to say that, but it is true. We gave you the money back and let you stayed a free night and we did everything we can do to make it up. Then why you didn't complain at the reception, but stab our backs after you left? If you think you are God, then you are wrong! We don't want posers to come to Yangshuo.

100%

Great hostel and friendly staff. The place was very clean. The staff was very helpful in helping me plan activities. The hostel is situated just a few blocks away from a McDonalds and the clubs.


100%

Great place with friendly and helpful staff.

  • 12th Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Damien! Thanks very much for your nice comment. We also had a good time with you. Enjoy the rest of your trip! Kira

63%

The hostel lobby was nicely decorated though cleanliness could be improve. The many 'resident' staffs there could have done more to upkeep rather then while their time away. But they were still friendly.


89%

We had an amazing stay in the how flowers hostel, nice to meet people that are always willing to help and share their joyfull experiences with you to enrich your trip! Thumbs up!

  • 17th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rose, thank you so much for this nice comment. We all miss you guys being here. Hope you both will enjoy the rest of your trip. Cheers! (⊙o⊙)…

86%

This was a great hostel, a short walk away from the busy bar street so no noisy night's. The staff were great very helpful, friendly and informative about the area and thing's you can do in the area. Would reccomend to anyone travelling here. The dorms were kept clean and you had more than enough space with secure lockers available. Really!!


100%

All around this was a really great hostel to stay in, had no problems finding out information as the staff were so friendly and very helpful. I stayed in a dorm room and they were cleaned regulary, the dorms are very spacious and the beds are comfy. The location is good because your only a short walk away from the busy west street, so staying here you dont get the noise travelling through your windows through the night. Overall a great stay and I would definatly recommend to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much Neil for your high evaluation of How Flower hostel! The movies you recommended are really good. Wish you enjoy your work in Austrilia. Take care my friend! (⊙o⊙)…

93%

Really good clean hostel, out the way of west street so you don't get the noise but you can still walk there in 5-10 mins for a night out. Staff are very friendly and the rooms are very clean. Dorms are big as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Also thank you Tom for recommending How Flowers Hostel! I've been keeping the little blue paper you gave me as my book mark. Thanks for that! Enjoy your vacation in Austrilia too! Take care my friend! (⊙o⊙)…

70%

Staff was very helpful and nice, location good since not on the main road, really nice decorations in the common area. Unfortunately, as in every old building, the bathroom was really dirty and stinky, they did not make up the room for 4 days... we were there not during high season so even the hostels near by the western street maybe could be a better option since they always have a bar to have nice breakfasts...


97%

A very good and clean hostel. Staff was really nice, and helped me plan all my trips around Yangshuo. Will stay there again next time I come to Yangshuo!


73%

Small double room with extra-small bathroom! Moreover, the room we had was very noisy as located just above the reception desk; we asked for a change and the day after we got a room at the 5th floor (no elevator, no wifi working). The best point of the hostel is the nice and very helpful staff.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Yangshuo Hostels

Please give us your feedback