Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Howards Mountain Lodge Reviews

43 - 45 Carroll Street, National Park Village, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


23 Total Reviews
  • 53%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 53%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Overall our stay was comfortable and the facilities were clean however, I was unsure of how the owner came to balance owing when we left...firstly, it was not made clear to us the cost of our transfer to Tongariro and the deposit I paid online was not deducted from the balance he said that online deposits/booking had nothing to do with him even though when I booked online it showed the deduction from the final balance! For this reason only I probably wouldn't stay there again :(

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The amount you pay to Hostel world - their fee - has ALREADY been deducted from the price. What you are asking for is for it to be taken out a second time. You complained to Hostelworld and they explained this to you and now so have I multiple times. I'm not ripping you off ! Glad you otherwise enjoyed your tay.


My stay at Howards was fine, but it certainly doesn't make the list of top hostels at which I've stayed. The best thing is the location; it's quite close to the spot where you begin the Tongariro Crossing so getting there is easy. My dorm room was a little cramped and there are no lockers or locks on any of the doors though I imagine theft is not an issue. The bus ride to/from the Crossing is a bit pricey (NZD 30), and they charge for internet. A fine hostel at a mediocre price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It has never been necessary to have locks on the dorm doors, you are right that theft has never been an issue. $30 for the bus to and from the crossing is probably the lowest price you can find and has no changed in 5 years despite fuel increases, it just costs money to run a bus I'm afraid. Yes we charge for the internet, no such thing as free internet, if it is offered for 'free' then the price is just been hidden in your room price. Charging separately is more fair and honest.

View all Tongariro National Park Hostels

Please give us your feedback