Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Huacachina Backpackers house

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Aug 2017
2.0

Just don't go. We had an awful experience.no running water at night and around 3 AM they stormed into our room to settle down a male guest in a female dorm?! Besides that, they were very rude when we complained and didn't listen to us. Sadly that it had to go like this

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.1

You pay for what you get. The showers didnt have much pressure at all and were not hot. Rooms were ok. There are lockers in the room which is good. Staff are nice also. The food at the restaurant is average. The prices of the drinks aren't too bad either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
5.7

I was here during the holiday weekend so maybe it was just too busy and that is why I had not so great of a time. This hostel has seen better days, and there are better hostels in the area for about the same price. The staff was rude and impersonal. The restaurant was right outside my room so it was loud and I felt like anyone could come walk in. The beds were thin, and the bathroom was dirty (there is only one bathroom for the whole hostel and restaurant I think). Stay somewhere else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
4.6

Beds are not stable at all, if you move the person below or above feel everything. Not clean. Showers were really bad, there was neither hot water nor was there any water pressure. Staff was not really friendly. Some of us had to share one bed but pay for 2 persons because the hostel was "fully booked", but e.g. In our room there were two spare beds.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
6.3

the staff were difficult to communicate with and the rooms were very average. the restaurant was nice which is attached to the hostel and you get discounts at some of the surrounding restaurants also.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.3

Great value for money, obviously a good location. Tasty food and cocktails, and the staff were very helpful with all our questions. Especially trying to get buses out of Ica (earthquake meant all roads to Arequipa blocked so limited buses). Also have good storage and wifi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.1

A good, cheap option for Huacachina. The food is expensive here but they are big servings. The beds are comfortable but the facilities overall were lacking. The biggest thing here was that the staff didn't seem to know much of what was going on or weren't very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Jul 2017
7.1

The wifi was poor and there was virtually no pressure in the showers which were cold most of the time. Asked for female dorm but a few guys checked in after us. Not a problem for me but don't advertise it if it's not possible. Also we arrived back from our tour to find a pile of sand in the middle of the floor and a very strange smell. None of us were brave enough to investigate. Apart from that it was close to everything (hard not to be in huacachina) and had cheap eats in the restaurant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

Place was great. They're restaurant out front had amazing food. The hostel gives you free access to an amazing resort-like pool with a bar that is located just around the corner. Wifi was fast. Showers were hot. Beds were comfortable. They had bag storage and lockers in every room. I only marked down on security because it was very easy to walk in and out the back door without any staff around. Would go there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.6

Great staff, really enjoyed my stay there. Fantastic value too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×