Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Huacachina Backpackers house

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2017
6.9

Cheap hostel, you get what you pay for! Breakfast is not included and you can get nicer than elsewhere. There are lockers and you are given a key to your room so security is good Staff were not the most helpful but were also not rude, just not the best I've met. Hard to keep a clean hostel when there's sand everywhere but it wasn't bad! Not bad value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Overall everything you want in a hostel. Hot water, good wifi, friendly staff. Staff showed nothing but respect to guests, and super helpful booking bus tix, tours etc. Ruben's bar on the terrace has a fantastic view of the city and volcanoes. Great place to crush a few beers and play foosball. Terrace is a super open and social area Location is top notch- right next to main square with bars, supermarket & ATM close by. Highly recommended hostal Cheers guys - hope to see you soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location, cheap rate, decent food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
8.0

Got to hang out at a pool area for free when staying at this hostel! Dorms were Ok, not the best

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Good location, good wifi, breakfast was not included, rooms are really hot at night, hostel is fine for one night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
6.9

Good hostel right on the lagoon in Huacachina. Each person gets own key for room which is a plus, but the rooms were very hot (despite the small fans) and the big skylight let sunlight it at very early hours of the morning. Staff were friendly but not too keen giving advice or seeming to want to please guests at all. Not the greatest service, but a cheap hostel in the centre of the very touristy Huacachina

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.6

Cutting straight to the point, Desert is a great choice of accommodation in Huacachina. The beds were adequete and the lockers were spacious enough to fit all of your valuables and a small backpack. Was very good value for money, also considering you get a free breakfast with your booking each morning, which often costs half the price of the room. It was right on the edge of the lake and close to stalls and restaurants. My only criticism is that the water in the bathrooms turned ceptic one night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
6.6

It was fine, a standard dorm, but Huacachina itself was a boring, characterless tourist trap. I wouldn't recommend it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.1

Good location and they do tours from there. However no one informed that my wristband got me a food discount that the staff neglected to point out which I only found out later in paracas where someone else had stayed there and had to request this discount as they tried to cheat him out of it too. Unimpressed. Restaurant is expensive for what it is too. Clean although the bathroom has a revolting smell that is their air freshener that made me actually sick one time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.