X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Huangshan Cozy International Youth Hostel Reviews

No. 13 Qiyun Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
507 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The location of the hostel is inconvenient for anything other than walking to the bus station. It's a 25 minute walk to old street (or you can take a bus, but that stops at 5pm) or an hour to the TongKou bus transfer station (where you head up to the mountain). The main lobby is cold because the doors don't shut, but the rooms are nice and warm. The bathrooms don't have soap or toilet paper, so bring your own. If you plan on leaving early, tell them two days in advance. Also, the food is good!

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It's the best hostel I've ever stayed. The staff was very friendly with everything I want to know and the food there was really good and reasonable. I really appreciate their help and I will recommend it to my friends.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A down-to-earth hostel, and yet one of the best I've had in China so far. The staff is awesome and go out of their way to help you get to Huangshan or the villages, plan your route, book cheap accommodation on the top of the mountain, get bus tickets to other cities, and in general make your stay go smoothly. They even upgraded our room for free. Rooms and toilets clean and ACd. Walking distance to both bus station and Old Street. To top it off, it's the cheapest hostel around. I'll be back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us a comment, we really appreciate it. We are happy to have you staying in our hostel and sincerely welcome you to Huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

100%

Booking the bus to Huangshan but no seat next morning. A little trouble on car pool arangement. Except for this, others are great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thanks for your comments, we really appreciate it. We are terribly sorry for the trouble you had on the bus. Actually the bus belongs to the bus station, we just arrange the first bus for you in case that it is too full that some of you can't take it. We've already talked to the manager and blamed for that. And we are sure that next time you come to our hostel, everything will be better. Welcome to Huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

89%

I really liked the Hostel, the only problem is that it is a little far away from 老街. And there is no market or restaurant near. If you want to drink beer is quite expensive too. Overall i really like the hostel, i recommend for anyone who is going to climb 黄山, the staff was really nice and the rooms really big and clean. I will come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a lot for the good comments. we are really happy for your appreciation, and welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

80%

The hotel is close to the station for the longterm busses, so if you arrive with the bus the hostel is a good choice. The staff is helpfully and can tell you anything about Mount Huangshan. We also liked the bar, it was just a little to cold there. But good food some nice drinks. The rooms have a good size, there are just to less bathrooms for the people, so maybe better rent a room with bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a lot for giving us a comment. we really appreciate it. there is one thing that i need to tell you, there are 1 bathroom just near the room you stayed, and there are another 2 bathrooms opposite your room, maybe you didn't notice it. anyway, thanks again for your comment, and welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

89%

Location is good : the hostel is close to Huangshan Bus station and not far from old street. The room is clean and the staff is very helful. Nice experience for me.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a lot for giving us a good comment. welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

46%

They were refurnish and modernize the whole hostel and did not say a word. It was very cold, and even If we were very few clients, they gave us a room with broken air conditioner (in august should be OK but not in december!). The staff btw was nice and gave us another room (but too close to the street side). The location is not so good because you have to cross a very dangerous street and there is NOTHING around, just office and another hotel. I would not recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we really didn't welcome the guests like you,as you are so mean.we supplied you the room in which there is a new air-conditioner,but you would not accept it.In fact when we went into your room it was warm instead of being cold.You knew the room price is less than $10 for one person in low seasons!It is a fact that there are few guests in winter.When we decided that we would refurnish our rooms,we closed all e-bookings on the web sites after yr booking,so there were few clients staying here.

86%

I stayed at the hostel the night before I climbed the mountain and the night after in an 8 bed dorm. Staying at this hostel helped me make the most of my time in the Huang shan area. The staff were excellent and helped me plan my trip and answered all of my questions. It is a bit far to the old street but it is a nice walk along the river and there are a lot of taxis waiting if you don't want to walk back. It is nice and close to the bus station. Room was nice with lockers, reading light, kettle

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good comments, welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

86%

A nice and simple accommodation for a night. What was great, was the very kind girl in the reception who gave us great tips and helped us book tickets. We booked tickets to tangkou (from here you easily take a shuttle bus to the mountain) and as well bus tickets from tangkou back to Shanghai through the hostel, they only took around ten yuan per person sun commission, which I figured is more than reasonable. Got a good and simple map over the Mountain too that held us through our trip

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good comments, we really appreciate it. About the tickets, there is one thing i think i forgot to tell you, the bus tickets from tangkou to shanghai is higher than that from shanghai to huangshan, which means we did not take anything through booking it. Anyway, we enjoyed your stay with us and welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

77%

The hostel has borrowed half of the hotel next door, which makes the rooms and amenities spiffy, new, and clean. There was one staff who was very helpful, a short woman, completely fluent. Unfortunately, there were 3 other male staff who were rude, never helped, and slept all day. One of the staff got mad at us in the middle of the afternoon because he was sleeping on a couch in the common area, and we interrupted his nap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
first of all, thanks for giving us a comment. we are really sorry that the staff made you feel uncomfortable, we've already hold a meeting and figured the problem that you told us and fined the staff you mentioned above. we feel so ashamed about that. we sincerely welcome you to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

74%

Very good location since most of the people come to Tunxi for neighbouring areas so staying close to bus station is more convenient than staying at laojie. The rooms are clean, bathroom is so so but... come on, I don't expect any luxury for the price but the most basic hygiene supplies - toilet paper and soap - should definitely be provided! And as for the shower gel/shampoo dispensers mentioned in the review above, why don't just remove them if you aren't planning to fill them?

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for giving us such a good suggestion, we will remove the dispensers and make the bathroom looks more comfortable. thanks again.

80%

this is a really nice hostel right by the bus station which was perfect for us as we wernt interested in tunxi town itself. It is a little like a hotel so no backpacker atmosphere if thats what youre looking for, but its super clean, the dorms were fairly spacious and airy, there was a nice dining/common area with decent food served. The staff were very helpful and spoke good english. they booked our bus to huangshan for us the night before and advised us on where to go etc. overall decent place

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your good comments for us. we really appreciate it. and welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

66%

It is an hour bus ride that costs 20RMB each way to get from this hostel to Tangkou. First bus is at 6:30am, arrives at 7:30am so you can join the line of nearly 1000 Chinese people waiting to get in if you go on a weekend. You may be better off staying near Tangkou (scenic area). It costs 17RMB each way from Tangkou to the mountain. Huangshan student price 115rmb. Batrooms subpar. Bring TP


97%

Excellent hostel, highly recommended. Very helpful stuff! If you travel to Huangshan mountain, ask the stuff of Cozy hostel to book a hotel at the top of the mountain for you (and do so ~2 weeks in advance).

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your good comments. welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

94%

Great hostel with really helpful staff. We were a very large group and they sat us down and did a presentation the mountain routes. Food was great as Tunxi is pretty much an empty town otherwise. Nice style and clean dorms, bring your own padlock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
first of all, thanks for your comments of our hostel. actually we do have padlock to rent, it's free. welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

94%

Very helpful and friendly staff. All cred to you guys!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your good comments. welcome to huangshan again and have another stay in our hostel.

77%

Hi guys, the hostel is more like a hotel at least the rooms. We spent one night in a double room. The room was huge, with TV and own bathroom. Its was clean, but it could have been better! When you leave the big bus station go left for 5 minutes. Its hard to find because the entrance is very small. The receptionist was not really good in English, but somehow we could communicate. We didnt eat there because there is Chinese street food around the corner. For the price we would come back for sure!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We really enjoy our stay in Huangshan Cozy International Youth Hostel. Very convenient for your trip it is located only 5min by car from the railway station of Huangshan. Furthermore the staff is more than helpful they help us to organize our trip in yellow mountain they book the bus for s and provide us lunch bags. You can eat great meal at the hostel for a good price and enjoy a drink. There is a very good atmosphère on this hostel thank you again I definitely get back if I could !!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Pretty clean and comfy. No funny surprises. Very solid quality and great value for money. Close to bus station so good base to get to Huangshan Mountain. It has more of a hotel feeling, however. But that was fine for us!


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Huangshan Hostels

Please give us your feedback