Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hump Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Hump Backpackers Located at 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Hump Backpackers
Australia
Sydney NSW 2011 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross
79% 328
-33.8735979 151.2238039
Hump Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
10.0

Arriving super jet lagged, the hostel manager ET was immediately accommodating and got us checked into our beds early. ET, Tom and the rest of the staff like to get everyone involved in the hostel's nightly activities or outings. The hostel is always being cleaned, and is definitely one of the cleanest I've stayed in. Knowing that we would for sure be back at Hump, ET allowed us to store some of our bigger luggage there as we continued travelling. Overall great hostel with a comfortable vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
6.6

Very small and cramped. The bathroom was so tiny. Luckily the rooms have a sink so you can just brush your teeth in your room. Very cheap hostel s can't expect the beat. But for what you paid I guess it wasn't too bad. The free breakfast was a huge plus and it was more than just cereal and coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Very friendly and welcoming staff on arrival. Lots of communal areas and group activities you could get involved with. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. Very easy to find from kings cross station. Good breakfast spread served next door. Only problem was the WiFi which took a while to connect to at peak time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
2.9

Cockroaches everywhere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
8.0

Great breakfast of hot and cold items, best to go early before things run out (opens at 8 unlike what sign/website says). Internet and lockers also included which is not the case everywhere else in the country! Bathrooms got dirty/wet quickly, vacuuming was done between 7-8 am and woke me up, street noise (and guest noise) from outside was very loud until late. Beds and blankets were clean and comfortable. No real common room/seating area. Reception hours limited. Location is really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • djs_sayer9134
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th May 2016
8.0

Pretty good overall. I was on the top floor so I was away from most of the noise, and I was with other travellers. I can imagine it being less pleasant closer to the streets, though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
7.4

ET was cool. The bathrooms were kind of gross and everybody was super cliquey. It's also located in a very noisy bar/strip club area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2016
6.0

Probably a great place to stay if you are looking for work and more permanent residence. Not great for a flying visit. Lots of long term tenants who were very cliquey and weren't interested in socialising. Wifi was virtually non-existent. But the free breakfast is very very good and it's an easy walk to the city centre/main attractions. TV room is good too, a nice place to relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2016
8.0

I stayed 4 nights at Hump and I would recommend it if you just want to stay a short while. The room was clean; the bathrooms, kitchen and corridors not always.. I think it's difficult to keep everything clean when so many people use the facilities.. But I think the staff tried their best.. I didn't see any vermin except 2 dead cockroaches. My bed was really good and I also liked the big locker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
5.4

Close to Sydney centre and the train station is literally on your doorstep. But it's in the red light district of Sydney so the area itself is not the best. Facilities are good, but most backpackers live there and are very cliquey and not very sociable with new tenants! Room we stayed in was a mess with people's belongings everywhere. Had to search the place every morning for a free toilet or shower! We were keen to get out there asap! Wifi is horrendous!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.