Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hump Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jun 2017
7.1

Everyone is a long term stay. Decent hostel but hard to make friends if you are backpacking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel with great atmosphere!!! The location is ideal for getting around the city, with plenty of pubs, markets and transport available. The hostel is clean, it has a great party room and a tv room if you prefer to chill. There is also a courtyard with a bbq. Breakfast is really good, and the hostel has activities everyday, sometimes is something like a family dinner and sometimes is going out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would totally come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel in a perfect location. 10 mins walk to town and a 30 second walk to Kings Cross station. Staff very friendly and helpful, help make it feel like a home away from home. Always extremely​ clean and has private bathrooms, which is pretty rare for a hostel! Free buffet breakfast is awesome, great value for money all round. All in all very happy, 5 stars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
9.1

Comfortable and clean beds, very good breakfast, close to the train. The toilet is good but you don't always have warm water in the shower. Overall good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Clean, friendly and in a great location. Very easy to meet people, it has a courtyard a tv room and a social room to hang out. Very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Apr 2017
10.0

This place is awesome.. if you are travelling alone or with mates, this place is super friendly. A lot of long termers but you'll find that in any hostel in Sydney but everyone is nice! Just get yourself down to the common rooms and join in on the activities! Nice and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
7.7

Although the hostel wasn't the cleanest, it was definitely worth the stay, especially considering the price. The hostel offers you a lot of free food like barbecue, pizza, tacos etc. Best free breakfast in Sydney! (pancakes, baked beans, eggs, fruits etc.) Unfortunately, the language that is mostly spoken in there isnt English, but Spanish, because most of them are South Americans but maybe it was the more notable for me as a German...'cause...Germans are everywhere around here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

I've tried about 10 different hostels in Sydney and Hump is easily the best of them all. The location is great since it's right next to the train station. AWESOME breakfast served every morning from 8 till 11 including fruits, eggs, baked beans and pancakes. Free BBQ every week. Atmosphere is the best thing in here, it's like one big family and everyone is able to become part of it. People who leave this hostel just always end up coming back in here. Would call this place a home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Mar 2017
4.3

kitchen was cleaned every morning but the way it was used during the day left it very dirty and messy by the evening. The majority of the people living in this hostel are long term residents that were very inconsiderate and rude, resulting in us eating in our cramped dorm every night. Rooms were hot, smelt gross and wifi was poor only hostel we've felt we had to shower in our flip flops. bright side was the breakfast included. Located in a dodgy area but only 25 minute walk to centre.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
9.4

I loved my stay here, mainly because of the atmosphere, very homely with really nice staff. I stayed a week and would stay longer. Lots of longtermers but I found them to be really friendly and inclusive. The TV room is such a nice place to snuggle up on a rainy day and its quite big. Great location just across from the station and cleanliness was pretty good. I would recommend it to anyone who stays in Sydney!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.