Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hump Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Hump Backpackers Located at 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Hump Backpackers
Australia
Sydney NSW 2011 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross
82% 341
-33.8735979 151.2238039
Hump Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Sep 2016
7.1

A decent hostel that has a lot of long termers, making it not so great for those passing through. I suppose that's an issue with Sydney more than the hostel though, as it was generally a nice place. The atmosphere suffers and the kitchen is super super busy, but cleanliness is decent, the facilities are good (apart from dreadful wifi) and the breakfast is out of this world good. A decent location for sightseeing as well, right next to a train station and 15 minute walk from botanical gardens

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
8.0

Guy who worked on reception was very helpful, and gave good recommendations of things to do and see. Large lockers to store all your things in. Rooms slightly messy and free wifi tended to not work at peak times. Free breakfast was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
8.6

I liked my stay here. I have tried others in the area, but this is my favorite one so far. The staff and other people are nice and there is always good events during the week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.3

the staff were very helpful. decent place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
6.0

Cheap and nice location. Bathroom appeared reasonably clean but I'm pretty sure I saw a cockroach. The rooms are a bit dirty, the residents aren't that friendly, although the staff are. In the yard round the back there was a massive rat.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.0

Great hospitality and facilities! The blue room is a great place to hang out with friends! The breakfast provided is indeed delicious! Just that it is located in the streets full of night clubs, so it's quite dangerous for single female travelers to hangout alone at late night. but other than that, everything was just fine!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.4

Having a fantastic time here. Staff are friendly and the hostel is lovely and social. Great for backpackers who are working too. Free brekkie everyday with pancakes. Yum :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Ostensibly, Hump enthralled my every whim. Amidst the bizarre, yet endearing entourage of whimsical nightspots, this wonderful hostel sits proudly in the heart of Sydney. The interminable presence of staff adhere to an immaculate habitat, paralleled with a vivacious atmosphere; where having fun is always encouraged, but never forced. Hump provides a striking balance of exuberant spontaneity coupled with a fundamental sense of community, security and well being.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
10.0

Arriving super jet lagged, the hostel manager ET was immediately accommodating and got us checked into our beds early. ET, Tom and the rest of the staff like to get everyone involved in the hostel's nightly activities or outings. The hostel is always being cleaned, and is definitely one of the cleanest I've stayed in. Knowing that we would for sure be back at Hump, ET allowed us to store some of our bigger luggage there as we continued travelling. Overall great hostel with a comfortable vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
6.6

Very small and cramped. The bathroom was so tiny. Luckily the rooms have a sink so you can just brush your teeth in your room. Very cheap hostel s can't expect the beat. But for what you paid I guess it wasn't too bad. The free breakfast was a huge plus and it was more than just cereal and coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.