Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hump Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.4
Hump Backpackers Located at 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Hump Backpackers
Australia
Sydney NSW 2011 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross
79% 404
-33.8735979 151.2238039
Hump Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel iv stayed in I Australia. I was return to the hostel if I am in sydney. Atmosphere and staff are excellent and there is a really family atmosphere about the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
6.0

Not very clean and extremely hot inside. The location isn't the best as all the restaurants and bars close early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice hostel compared to a few I stayed in in Sydney. Staff were the best, breakfast was great, wifi was really slow! Kitchen is too hot!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
8.0

overall great hostel, I paid 30 Aud per night, and luckily was upgraded from 12 bed room to 4 bed dorm! Room is clean, has fan, enough room, although it is a bit warm inside. Location right next to kings cross station, so easy to get anywhere in Sydney for a few dollars. Plenty of places to eat around here. Has an outside area, a room to chill, and a great tv room with bean bags. Overall a great hostel for a great price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jan 2017
5.7

A good hostel with a nice atmosphere. However, the area is awful unless you like red light districts and drug addicts. The hostel isn't very clean but people and staff are nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Dec 2016
6.9

The staff are very friendly here, the location is good and the breakfast offers a good selection. The wifi is ok and there are two sockets for each bed. There are also large lockers. The social itinerary over New Year was great too. However, the hostel wasn't clean and the bedrooms were unbearably hot. I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
6.6

Breakfast is fanatic! The courtyard is way too small for the amount of people at the hostel. Massive click of people that have obivsouly been there for a while, they were rude and made no effort to socialise with anyone else. This ruined the atmosphere. Staff were very helpful! Good location, although the area is a little bit odd.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
9.4

I've stayed in hostels all over the world but none beat Hump where I've had some of my best travelling memories. I've stayed here a number of times now and it's my go-to hostel in Sydney. It's very social and I've made some friends for life there. Don't be afraid to get involved in the daily social events and you'll soon be part of the amazing atmosphere. The rooms can be a bit hot but there are great social areas and it's well positioned to explore the city. Also ET who runs the place is 10/10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
6.3

Really good location near lots of bars and other hostels - 20 min drive from Bondi and a 15 min walk into the City. The hostel is a tad 'edgy' and needs some TLC. Good value for money though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
7.7

Staff were friendly. Location 30 minute walk from city centre but kings cross train station is a 2 minute walk away. Nice chilled out tv room and free breakfast in the happy travels next door was really good. Only problems were a lot of non speaking english residents and the kitchen was always busy so hard to make lunch and dinner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.