Hostelworld.com

Hump Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.3
Hump Backpackers Located at 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Hump Backpackers
Australia
Sydney NSW 2011 40 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross
78% 314
-33.8735979 151.2238039
Hump Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2016
8.0

Great breakfast of hot and cold items, best to go early before things run out (opens at 8 unlike what sign/website says). Internet and lockers also included which is not the case everywhere else in the country! Bathrooms got dirty/wet quickly, vacuuming was done between 7-8 am and woke me up, street noise (and guest noise) from outside was very loud until late. Beds and blankets were clean and comfortable. No real common room/seating area. Reception hours limited. Location is really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
7.4

ET was cool. The bathrooms were kind of gross and everybody was super cliquey. It's also located in a very noisy bar/strip club area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2016
6.0

Probably a great place to stay if you are looking for work and more permanent residence. Not great for a flying visit. Lots of long term tenants who were very cliquey and weren't interested in socialising. Wifi was virtually non-existent. But the free breakfast is very very good and it's an easy walk to the city centre/main attractions. TV room is good too, a nice place to relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2016
8.0

I stayed 4 nights at Hump and I would recommend it if you just want to stay a short while. The room was clean; the bathrooms, kitchen and corridors not always.. I think it's difficult to keep everything clean when so many people use the facilities.. But I think the staff tried their best.. I didn't see any vermin except 2 dead cockroaches. My bed was really good and I also liked the big locker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
5.4

Close to Sydney centre and the train station is literally on your doorstep. But it's in the red light district of Sydney so the area itself is not the best. Facilities are good, but most backpackers live there and are very cliquey and not very sociable with new tenants! Room we stayed in was a mess with people's belongings everywhere. Had to search the place every morning for a free toilet or shower! We were keen to get out there asap! Wifi is horrendous!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
8.3

I did like my stay at Hump, the staff were really helpful and nice (especially the guy with dreadlocks - super nice and friendly!) but I think it was a bit too much of a party hostel for my liking. It definitely caters to a much younger crowd and as such is not quiet at all much of the time, and especially on the weekends. It is extremely close to the Kings Cross metro station which was really helpful for getting around Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.3

Cockroaches everywhere. Very small kitchen space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
6.3

A little bit dirty. It seemed to me a normal hostel without anything particular. However, it is really close to Kings Cross subway station and this is convenient since Sydney has good (expensive!) public transport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
5.4

Full of long timers - makes the atmosphere rubbish and the place unclean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Hump is the place to be! Stayed here over Christmas and new year and I had to return! Love the blue room for partying, glad they have the TV room to chill in the next day!! ET is so friendly and amazing!! A must stay in Sydney!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.